Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent Design isn't a patch on this
This book is the result of an open letter to the Kansas School Board which was written by Bobby Henderson. There was to be a hearing about whether Intelligent Design should be taught as an alternative theory to Evolution. Bobby Henderson proposed that there were many other viable theories of Intelligent Design which were just as worthy of being taught. This is his...
Published on 18 May 2007 by JA Foxton

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite funny spoof on creationism and intelligent design
A few gems. Fortunately this doesn't seem as a big an issue to us as it must to reasonably educated Americans, but some of the chapters on proofs of the FSM's existence are good - especially the ones that come closest to the form of a scientific argument. Worth a read, and a nice present for any Pastafarians (followers of the FSM) that you know.
Published on 10 May 2008 by Jezza


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent Design isn't a patch on this, 18 May 2007
By 
JA Foxton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
This book is the result of an open letter to the Kansas School Board which was written by Bobby Henderson. There was to be a hearing about whether Intelligent Design should be taught as an alternative theory to Evolution. Bobby Henderson proposed that there were many other viable theories of Intelligent Design which were just as worthy of being taught. This is his version - Pastafarianism - the fastest growing (carbohydrate-based) religion.

If any smartarse atheist has ever asked you, 'But who made God?' we now have the answer - the Flying Spaghetti Monster - together with a rock solid account of how complexity can arise from simplicity. String theory to DNA - it all gets covered and with a thoroughness which never becomes stodgy.

Since it is clearly unacceptable to suggest that we evolved from apes, Pastafarianism puts forward the hypothesis that we actually evolved from pirates. Since we share 99.9% of our DNA with pirates, the evidence appears overwhelming.

Also established is the inverse relationship between global average temperatures and pirate numbers. This conclusively shows the link between global warming and declining pirate numbers. There is even a graph.

The collected papers from the Enlightenment Institute, which are included in the latter part of this book, are required reading. I shall just briefly mention the updating of the argument from design, 'Evidence of the Baker' which is an inspiring account of stumbling across a chocolate cake on a beach and using this to infer that there must be a divine baker standing behind the universe.

If you want something with greater mathematical rigour then you may wish to study the section on Theologebra. This synthesises formal Boolean logic, algebra and theology. A significant contribution to both mathematical logic and theology. It may confuse even the best mathematicians and will add further confusion to theologians.

Reading this book can result in philosophical insights for even the most ignorant and uneducated. Here's mine :-

1) God is by definition a being with all perfections
2) Tastiness is a perfection
3) God has the perfection of tastiness (from 1 and 2)
4) The Flying Spaghetti Monster is the epitome of tastiness and must constitute what has previously been understood as 'God'

If you have the mentality of a teenager (a scientist?) then you will enjoy this book. It is not always particularly politically correct but it is very amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pastafarianism is The Way., 15 Dec 2008
By 
Zinc Alloy (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
This is laugh out loud funny and a very nice little book.
I don't understand how anyone can find it offensive. It basically has a good laugh and tells you to be nice at the same time.
It's more fun and more sense than the old and new testaments.
May His Noodly Appendages touch us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was touched but now I see, 7 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
Praise be to The Flying Spaghetti Monster and his prophet Bobby Henderson. I was touched but now I see. In only 220 pages the greatest problems of humanity have now all been solved. We no longer have to worry about that pesky problem of induction, work on any Grand Unified Theory or perhaps more importantly, ponder that mystery mysteries, why we have to work on Fridays. It's all in The Gospel of the FSM. And just try to disprove it. I bet you can't. And really, why bother trying. What with that beer volcano and all waiting for true believers when He one day takes us back into His meat-balled bosoms.

This book should be compulsive reading in not just school science classes but ALL classes. All the time*. Everywhere.

Awesome.

Aarrrgh!

*Except on Friday's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 4 Jan 2007
By 
A. Byrne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
I loved the whole FSM thing when it was started as a companion to the Intelligent Design debate and so was eagerly awaiting the release of this book. It is even better than expected.

It could very easily go all nerdy or geeky or start talking down about ID, creationism or other religions but it doesn't at all. It very nicely joins in the debate using the same arguments as the Creationists do to prove the existance of the FSM.

All the classic points of His presence - from Pirates to Meatballs - are covered including the 8 "I'd really rather you didn'ts" and instructions on how to make your own effigy of him. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, with Good Gambits, but no coherence..., 2 Jan 2009
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having heard so many interesting things about the FSM (e.g. 'Unintelligent Design', Global warming is caused by a lack of pirates, etc) I got this book expecting more of the same - a witty and razor sharp skewering of Creationism & the more tawdry aspects of belief...

The good news is that this book has plenty more bits of material which are laugh-out-loud funny. The way the Great Prophet mimics faulty Creationist logic is hilarious (e.g. all the gr8 supporters of evolution (Carl Sagan etc) are dead - i.e. invalid!). Furthermore, the Photoshopped History, the questions section and the Holy Noodle (creation of the world) are all genuinely amusing and useful for the budding Pastafarian.

Unfortunately, the bad news is that there is no coherence or discipline to the thoughts but, rather, it is a random patchwork of ideas and material fudged together. OK, all comedy needs to free-flow and leap from one great joke to the next, but this book seems to lose its muse halfway through and then just becomes like wading through appendices... Structure would also be useful for reference as I found the jokes I really liked were hard to find again without structure, or 'signpost' titles for each section.

Overall, this book is hilarious and I read it in a day owing to the lucid writing and the way its language makes you want to go eat a big bowl of pasta! However, given that it is a gospel, it suffers from its lack of structure and rather over-bakes its premise (e.g. the boring 'Enlightenment Institute' section). So - buy it, but don't expect an authoritative tome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite funny spoof on creationism and intelligent design, 10 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
A few gems. Fortunately this doesn't seem as a big an issue to us as it must to reasonably educated Americans, but some of the chapters on proofs of the FSM's existence are good - especially the ones that come closest to the form of a scientific argument. Worth a read, and a nice present for any Pastafarians (followers of the FSM) that you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise Him and His Noodly Appendage!, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
Excellent book, well written, arrived on time. Very little else to say, if you're looking at this book you're either a Pastafarian sympathiser, in which case you'll love it, or you're a born-again Christian looking to troll, in which case you'll hate it but that have to forgive Bobby Henderson for writing it, which'll probably only make you even angrier. Maybe a nice plate of spaghetti to calm down?

Only negative thing I would put is that it'd be even better if it were more 'gospel-y' in appearance, i.e. an actual Bible-style leather cover, that thin sort of paper that the Gideons use to keep costs down, and then the parody aspect would really be complete. Ah well, you can't have everything, and it really is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 12 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
I love the idea of FSM and Pastafarianism. The website is hilarious. However I found this book pretty disappointing. I ordered it to give to my mum for Christmas but luckily had a quick read before I wrapped it and found some of the humor really childish and forced. It reads like a book based on a great idea, for which the author was given a huge advance to knock it out like a gimmicky product. It's a shame, because parts are really original and funny, but then you run into a large patch of toilet humor and start to wonder about the target audience.

After a few pages I stopped wanting to give it to my mum. Now it's hanging around my room at uni still in its packaging and I'm not sure what to do with it.

Without trying to be condescending, you should reconsider if you think you have a mature sense of humor. Try and get hold of a copy just to read a bit and then decide. You never know, you might love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea taken too far, 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (Hardcover)
I saw this book at a friends place, and had to borrow it.

The books starts off funny, but the problem is, there isn't enough material for a book. This would have been a funny blog or 2, but as a book, the jokes start wearing thin after the 1st 50 pages.

And when I talked to different people, it seemed hardly anyone had finished the book.

The problem with books like this is, most people have already made up their mind (believer or non believer), so there can be no debate or intelligent discussion. So all the books tries to do is cram in jokes. But like I said, only the 1st few chapters are funny.

So my advice: Borrow it from someone, if you just have to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science must end its mephitic rampage, 1 April 2006
By A Customer
Thank the Flying Spaghetti Monster that the Kansas school board decided to teach the theory of 'Intelligent Design' instead of evolution, or Pastafarians may have never revealed themselves to the world!
I just can't believe that some people refer to this gospel as a "satire". This is deeply offensive to someone like me - a new convert to Flying Spaghetti Monsterism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster
The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster by Bobby Henderson (Hardcover - 7 Aug 2006)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews