Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars50
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
47
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 March 2008
Barcode: 9780007231331

The Demonata series is fantastic, truly gripping and every novel is fascinating from start to end. Demon Apocalypse, the 6th book in the series is no exception - while i think i still prefer the previous one, Blood Beast, Demon Apocalypse is epic in it's scale and was immensely enjoyable. In essence it is a coming together of the three main characters - Grubbs, Kernel and Bec all meeting for the first time.

This is also one of the darkest of the series so far. Following staright on from where Blood Beast left off, we rejoin Grubbs in the plane, confronting Lord Loss. As things progress we meet Beranabus, a fascinating, immensely powerful character. His duty above all is to protect the human race, always making decisions for the greater good, something he often comes to odds with Grubbs with and the dynamics between the two are fantastic.

Beranabus in many ways takes over from Dervish as Grubbs tutor-esque character but represents a far stricter, serious approach and is determined for Grubbs to embrace his magical powers, something he is reluctant to do. Some of the themes dealt with and represented here are extremely powerful and moving in their depth and maturity - i'd recommend this book to someone of any age, as with all of Shan's work it is extremely inspiring in its vision.

Amidst all this, the demon threat becomes greater than ever before. I don't want to spoil things but what follows is a truly epic confrontation against seemingly impossible odds. It represents an extremely bleak scenario and the bravery and selflessness of the characters is admirable. Darren Shan has always been a master at allowing us to associate with his characters and Demon Apocalypse is no exception.

This is an amazing book and yet more proof to me that Darren Shan is one of the finest authors of modern times. Bring on book seven! I can't wait!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2008
Barcode: 9780007229819

The Demonata series is fantastic, truly gripping and every novel is fascinating from start to end. Demon Apocalypse, the 6th book in the series is no exception - while i think i still prefer the previous one, Blood Beast, Demon Apocalypse is epic in it's scale and was immensely enjoyable. In essence it is a coming together of the three main characters - Grubbs, Kernel and Bec all meeting for the first time.

This is also one of the darkest of the series so far. Following staright on from where Blood Beast left off, we rejoin Grubbs in the plane, confronting Lord Loss. As things progress we meet Beranabus, a fascinating, immensely powerful character. His duty above all is to protect the human race, always making decisions for the greater good, something he often comes to odds with Grubbs with and the dynamics between the two are fantastic.

Beranabus in many ways takes over from Dervish as Grubbs tutor-esque character but represents a far stricter, serious approach and is determined for Grubbs to embrace his magical powers, something he is reluctant to do. Some of the themes dealt with and represented here are extremely powerful and moving in their depth and maturity - i'd recommend this book to someone of any age, as with all of Shan's work it is extremely inspiring in its vision.

Amidst all this, the demon threat becomes greater than ever before. I don't want to spoil things but what follows is a truly epic confrontation against seemingly impossible odds. It represents an extremely bleak scenario and the bravery and selflessness of the characters is admirable. Darren Shan has always been a master at allowing us to associate with his characters and Demon Apocalypse is no exception.

This is an amazing book and yet more proof to me that Darren Shan is one of the finest authors of modern times. Now, i read this when the book first came out almost a year ago now. And so, hearing it in Audio CD format now just re-affirmed to me what a great story it is.

Rupert Degas reads, doing an admirable job of catching all the characters' voices. He captures Grubbs's youthful vigor and Beranabus's gruff leadership perfectly as well as pulling off a convincing Irish accent for Dervish and an eerie female voice in the form of Juni Swan.

The only mis-steps i would pick up on would be the over the top 'chav' sterotype accent of Bill-E, as well as Lord Loss, who's voice is so deep and layered with a weird effect that it is sometimes hard to understand what's being said by him though.

On the whole though, this audio version of the story is extremely well done, is unnabridged (which is always a good thing) and has lots of spooky music and sound effects to add to the tension of the story. It was an immensely enjoyable listen and well worth getting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2008
This book was amazing, probably the best in the series so far, and thats saying a lot considering how great all the other books were! I thought that "Bec" and "Blood Beast" were a little dissapointing after the brilliance of the first three books (although the ending of Blood Beast was excellent) but this was GREAT!

DEFFINATLY the goriest in the series so far, some of the more graphic scenes are sickeningly gory! And it FINALLY brings together Grubbs, Kernel and Bec (although this book is told entirely from Grubbs' viewpoint, continuing directly from the aeroplane scene at the end of the previous book).

Brilliant book and with a good ending that leaves you desperate to get your hands on Book 7, which will be published in May. A great read, highly reccomended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2008
An amazing and incredible vivid story interlocking all the previous book into one amazing and thrilling book which encorporates everything of importance from Lord Loss to Bill-E to Bec to basically everything. The previous books were so subtle as to not give away too much information for the big finish and that's what makes Darren Shan such an excellent writer. If you have read the other books then this is the ultimate one in the collection.

The book is just simply packed with action starting from the cliffhanger at the end of Blood Beast (which is also brilliant is you haven't read it). The book's warning does not lie when it says 'seriously scary'. The book goes into to huge bloody details from being burnt to being sucked alive to have maggots eating your brain!!! The sheer horror that Darren writes is just simply amazing (or simply twisted).

The brilliant ending (not the very very ending...if you've read it you know what I mean) is so very sad (like all the other books) but this one inparticular really does make you care and feel really sorry for Grubbs Grady and also Dervish who also suffers a great deal. Darren also just puts salt in the raw wounds when he does what he always does... the idea of false hope.Although sickening it is also extremely effective.

A simply must read book that just perfectly finishes off the perfect series.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
By far the best book I have ever read. Seriously. Unfortunately, you have to have read all the other five but, they are amazing too. This book especially, involves you. You feel like it is you fighting Demons, you with a wild rollercoaster of a life. At many points, it had me hungry to find out the rest. Trying to save reading it to later is the hardest thing you can do. You can't actually put it down, its that good. It says on the back, "Warning: Seriously Scary," its no lie. Not the sort of scary that you don't want the rest, the sort that makes you wonder how the 'heroes' and 'good guys' are going to get out of this trouble.
Darren Shan, the author certainly does make you get that feeling of caring for the characters, which I think is the best thing they can do. Demon Apocalypse is a mixture of genres, mainly violence and horror but it contains humour and, not as much in this book but in the others, some light, romance. I,personally wasn't really into scary, horror books before I read this one. It hasn't only made me interested in other horror (especially other Darren Shan) books but also others like classicals. Definately good for people who love reading, but find it hard to choose and get into other books.
You absolutely have to read the other five first or else you will not understand or enjoy it, which would be a shame because it is really a great book. If you have read all the others up to book five, buy this book as soon as possible because it will really explain a lot about all the previous books because it has relevance to all the others in the Demonata collection. My favourite book so far. I love it and hope there is another one about Grubitsch Grady because this is a book that really makes you care.
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2007
This book like all the others is one of the greatest books in this genre, i find for people who love this book that they must read the 12 books that Darren Shan previously wrote, of Darren the vampire. by doing this you can apreciate the true master of horror he is on a much grander scale, along with these books his new set starting with Lord Loss is yet another incredible collection of books that everyone should have. But ofcourse find out for yourself and by Darren Shan books!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
I have read all of The Demonata series(including all of the Cirque du Freak series and a few more by Darren Shan). I love the type of writing he uses. My favorite charactor is Grubs, then it would be Bec, then it would be Kernal. Darren Shan along with Marcus Sedgwick, Derek Landy and Christopher Pike is the best author ever!(And I have read a LOT of books!!!)I would recommend to everyone who reads Darren Shan to look up the other authors I have mentioned. Derek Landy writes Skulldugery Pleasent, Christopher Pike writes The Last Vampire and Marcus Sedgwick writes White crow, The dark Hores, The Foreshadowing and a few more.

I LOVE The Demonata series and the Cirque du Freak series!!! I hope Darren Shan writes more books!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Grubbs Grady is back, and he wishes he wasn't.

There are two things that Grubbs regrets the most: letting his transformation take away the lives of the ones he loved, and trusting Juni. When we last left him, Grubbs was on a plane ride with Juni, who promised to take care of him and love him. But while on board, Juni's true colors appeared, and they weren't so pretty.

Turns out she had been working for Lord Loss and had used Grubbs' secrets and trust against him, lying to not only him but also to Dervish, who had fallen for her as well.

Now Grubbs is trying to fend for himself, which isn't looking so bright since Lord Loss' little helpers are happily feeding on the passengers on the plane, while Lord Loss himself is trying to take Grubbs into his realm. Of course, Grubbs would rather die than to have to go with Lord Loss. But there isn't much he can do since no one is there to help him fight off all of the demons.

Then an unlikely hero comes and saves Grubbs. Yet Grubbs knows that this isn't the end of Lord Loss, who is furious at him for ruining his game of chess. He knows that Lord Loss will not let anything stand in his way while trying to take revenge, but Grubbs isn't giving up without a fight. He survived more than once. He can surely survive again, right?

Edgy, intense, and more gruesome than the other novels in THE DEMONATA series, Darren Shan does it again with DEMON APOCALYPSE, creating a captivating novel that will leave you speechless. Darker than ever, we are just glad to see Grubbs be the one to save the world, because without him, who can?

Reviewed by: Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
And so the second review of the night. Already been confused by what happened in which book and had to change the review I just did.
This one carries on right where the last book took off. Grubbs is faced with a plane full of demons and little hope of escape, obviously the series is only half way through so he has to get out, but I didn't expect the person that rescues him - welcome back Beranabus and Kernel Fleck (again more events fall into place, and previous books make more sense)
Again this book is really building up to something huge, you can practically feel the pressure and excitement on the page.
Everything just builds and builds and all the characters we have met previously come back and everything makes sense. There are deaths, twists, shocks and revelations. Really exciting. There was a 'twist' at the end with one of the characters and their fate, but to be honest I saw it coming from the moment a certain event happens in the previous book (can't say more or it will give it away) maybe I'm too canny or it was just obvious but I certainly figured it out. Still enjoyed seeing how Shan would reveal it though.
This one again is gory and packed with battles and fights, but still so compelling, I have to know what happens to the characters and see who will make it out.
Bring on the rest of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
Bought this series for my 13 year old son to help with his English at school (Harry Potter got "boring"). He has flown through the series and his English teacher is impressed with the improvement in his creative writing. Would recommend this series for children who like something different.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.