Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another shining success for Darren Shan, 12 Mar 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse: 6 (Hardcover)
Barcode: 9780007231331

The Demonata series is fantastic, truly gripping and every novel is fascinating from start to end. Demon Apocalypse, the 6th book in the series is no exception - while i think i still prefer the previous one, Blood Beast, Demon Apocalypse is epic in it's scale and was immensely enjoyable. In essence it is a coming together of the three main characters - Grubbs, Kernel and Bec all meeting for the first time.

This is also one of the darkest of the series so far. Following staright on from where Blood Beast left off, we rejoin Grubbs in the plane, confronting Lord Loss. As things progress we meet Beranabus, a fascinating, immensely powerful character. His duty above all is to protect the human race, always making decisions for the greater good, something he often comes to odds with Grubbs with and the dynamics between the two are fantastic.

Beranabus in many ways takes over from Dervish as Grubbs tutor-esque character but represents a far stricter, serious approach and is determined for Grubbs to embrace his magical powers, something he is reluctant to do. Some of the themes dealt with and represented here are extremely powerful and moving in their depth and maturity - i'd recommend this book to someone of any age, as with all of Shan's work it is extremely inspiring in its vision.

Amidst all this, the demon threat becomes greater than ever before. I don't want to spoil things but what follows is a truly epic confrontation against seemingly impossible odds. It represents an extremely bleak scenario and the bravery and selflessness of the characters is admirable. Darren Shan has always been a master at allowing us to associate with his characters and Demon Apocalypse is no exception.

This is an amazing book and yet more proof to me that Darren Shan is one of the finest authors of modern times. Bring on book seven! I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demon Apocalypse, 1 Oct 2007
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse: 6 (Hardcover)
By far the best book I have ever read. Seriously. Unfortunately, you have to have read all the other five but, they are amazing too. This book especially, involves you. You feel like it is you fighting Demons, you with a wild rollercoaster of a life. At many points, it had me hungry to find out the rest. Trying to save reading it to later is the hardest thing you can do. You can't actually put it down, its that good. It says on the back, "Warning: Seriously Scary," its no lie. Not the sort of scary that you don't want the rest, the sort that makes you wonder how the 'heroes' and 'good guys' are going to get out of this trouble.
Darren Shan, the author certainly does make you get that feeling of caring for the characters, which I think is the best thing they can do. Demon Apocalypse is a mixture of genres, mainly violence and horror but it contains humour and, not as much in this book but in the others, some light, romance. I,personally wasn't really into scary, horror books before I read this one. It hasn't only made me interested in other horror (especially other Darren Shan) books but also others like classicals. Definately good for people who love reading, but find it hard to choose and get into other books.
You absolutely have to read the other five first or else you will not understand or enjoy it, which would be a shame because it is really a great book. If you have read all the others up to book five, buy this book as soon as possible because it will really explain a lot about all the previous books because it has relevance to all the others in the Demonata collection. My favourite book so far. I love it and hope there is another one about Grubitsch Grady because this is a book that really makes you care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Feb 2008
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse: 6 (Hardcover)
This book was amazing, probably the best in the series so far, and thats saying a lot considering how great all the other books were! I thought that "Bec" and "Blood Beast" were a little dissapointing after the brilliance of the first three books (although the ending of Blood Beast was excellent) but this was GREAT!

DEFFINATLY the goriest in the series so far, some of the more graphic scenes are sickeningly gory! And it FINALLY brings together Grubbs, Kernel and Bec (although this book is told entirely from Grubbs' viewpoint, continuing directly from the aeroplane scene at the end of the previous book).

Brilliant book and with a good ending that leaves you desperate to get your hands on Book 7, which will be published in May. A great read, highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another shining success for Darren Shan, 23 Sep 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Barcode: 9780007229819

The Demonata series is fantastic, truly gripping and every novel is fascinating from start to end. Demon Apocalypse, the 6th book in the series is no exception - while i think i still prefer the previous one, Blood Beast, Demon Apocalypse is epic in it's scale and was immensely enjoyable. In essence it is a coming together of the three main characters - Grubbs, Kernel and Bec all meeting for the first time.

This is also one of the darkest of the series so far. Following staright on from where Blood Beast left off, we rejoin Grubbs in the plane, confronting Lord Loss. As things progress we meet Beranabus, a fascinating, immensely powerful character. His duty above all is to protect the human race, always making decisions for the greater good, something he often comes to odds with Grubbs with and the dynamics between the two are fantastic.

Beranabus in many ways takes over from Dervish as Grubbs tutor-esque character but represents a far stricter, serious approach and is determined for Grubbs to embrace his magical powers, something he is reluctant to do. Some of the themes dealt with and represented here are extremely powerful and moving in their depth and maturity - i'd recommend this book to someone of any age, as with all of Shan's work it is extremely inspiring in its vision.

Amidst all this, the demon threat becomes greater than ever before. I don't want to spoil things but what follows is a truly epic confrontation against seemingly impossible odds. It represents an extremely bleak scenario and the bravery and selflessness of the characters is admirable. Darren Shan has always been a master at allowing us to associate with his characters and Demon Apocalypse is no exception.

This is an amazing book and yet more proof to me that Darren Shan is one of the finest authors of modern times. Now, i read this when the book first came out almost a year ago now. And so, hearing it in Audio CD format now just re-affirmed to me what a great story it is.

Rupert Degas reads, doing an admirable job of catching all the characters' voices. He captures Grubbs's youthful vigor and Beranabus's gruff leadership perfectly as well as pulling off a convincing Irish accent for Dervish and an eerie female voice in the form of Juni Swan.

The only mis-steps i would pick up on would be the over the top 'chav' sterotype accent of Bill-E, as well as Lord Loss, who's voice is so deep and layered with a weird effect that it is sometimes hard to understand what's being said by him though.

On the whole though, this audio version of the story is extremely well done, is unnabridged (which is always a good thing) and has lots of spooky music and sound effects to add to the tension of the story. It was an immensely enjoyable listen and well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Destruction, 3 Feb 2008
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse: 6 (Hardcover)
An amazing and incredible vivid story interlocking all the previous book into one amazing and thrilling book which encorporates everything of importance from Lord Loss to Bill-E to Bec to basically everything. The previous books were so subtle as to not give away too much information for the big finish and that's what makes Darren Shan such an excellent writer. If you have read the other books then this is the ultimate one in the collection.

The book is just simply packed with action starting from the cliffhanger at the end of Blood Beast (which is also brilliant is you haven't read it). The book's warning does not lie when it says 'seriously scary'. The book goes into to huge bloody details from being burnt to being sucked alive to have maggots eating your brain!!! The sheer horror that Darren writes is just simply amazing (or simply twisted).

The brilliant ending (not the very very ending...if you've read it you know what I mean) is so very sad (like all the other books) but this one inparticular really does make you care and feel really sorry for Grubbs Grady and also Dervish who also suffers a great deal. Darren also just puts salt in the raw wounds when he does what he always does... the idea of false hope.Although sickening it is also extremely effective.

A simply must read book that just perfectly finishes off the perfect series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darren Shan, Overview, 17 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse: 6 (Hardcover)
This book like all the others is one of the greatest books in this genre, i find for people who love this book that they must read the 12 books that Darren Shan previously wrote, of Darren the vampire. by doing this you can apreciate the true master of horror he is on a much grander scale, along with these books his new set starting with Lord Loss is yet another incredible collection of books that everyone should have. But ofcourse find out for yourself and by Darren Shan books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demon Apocalypse, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse: 6 (Hardcover)
The book came in perfect condition with very little scuff marks. There is hardly any shelf wear on the edges and the book looked like it had hardly been opened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, 15 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse (Paperback)
I have read all of The Demonata series(including all of the Cirque du Freak series and a few more by Darren Shan). I love the type of writing he uses. My favorite charactor is Grubs, then it would be Bec, then it would be Kernal. Darren Shan along with Marcus Sedgwick, Derek Landy and Christopher Pike is the best author ever!(And I have read a LOT of books!!!)I would recommend to everyone who reads Darren Shan to look up the other authors I have mentioned. Derek Landy writes Skulldugery Pleasent, Christopher Pike writes The Last Vampire and Marcus Sedgwick writes White crow, The dark Hores, The Foreshadowing and a few more.

I LOVE The Demonata series and the Cirque du Freak series!!! I hope Darren Shan writes more books!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Angela Newton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse (Paperback)
Bought this series for my 13 year old son to help with his English at school (Harry Potter got "boring"). He has flown through the series and his English teacher is impressed with the improvement in his creative writing. Would recommend this series for children who like something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darren Shan at his bloody best, 15 Oct 2007
By 
D Wells "BusyD" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon Apocalypse: 6 (Hardcover)
I've been a fan of Darren Shan since I bought Lord Loss for my son and couldn't put it down, from then on I was hooked.

This is book 6 in a series of Demonata Books, I think there are to be 10 in all and you do need to read the previous 5 to fully appreciate this one but do not let that put you off, they are all fantastic books.

The Demonata has 3 lead characters, Grubbs, Kernal and Bec, so far each book has been told from the perspective of one lead character and tells not only of their battles with the Demonata but also life in general, so as well as horrifying and blood filled, they can be funny and even quite moving, Darren Shan has a real talent for helping the reader empathise with his characters.

Grubbs is by far my favorite character and he takes the lead in this book which is like a second part to Blood Beast. This for me is one of the best books in the Demonata series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demon Apocalypse
Demon Apocalypse by Darren Shan (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews