Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Beast - not Darren Shan's strangest book yet
This book is stranger than the others in the Demonata series as there are NO demons until the last chapter and then it finishes on a cliffhanger. What the hell is coming next is what is advertised for book 6 as; that is exactly what I was thinking.The book is about Grubbs,not Bec or Kernel, and is based on Grubbs battle against his family curse. It also describes his...
Published on 9 Jun 2007 by Tom Horlock

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Massively irritating but a breath of fresh air
---MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS---

Dont take the rating as anything to go by, its impossible to rate. This book is so different to any other books in this brilliant series, as it focuses almost entirely on the character of Grubbs Grady, and no demons appear to the last chapter. It deals with Grubbs's descent into (apparent) wolfism and his desperate battle against his...
Published on 6 Jun 2007 by Mr. A. McKenzie-onah


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Beast - not Darren Shan's strangest book yet, 9 Jun 2007
This book is stranger than the others in the Demonata series as there are NO demons until the last chapter and then it finishes on a cliffhanger. What the hell is coming next is what is advertised for book 6 as; that is exactly what I was thinking.The book is about Grubbs,not Bec or Kernel, and is based on Grubbs battle against his family curse. It also describes his magic and a character from Slawter, book 3 , reappears. However different this book is from the others;It is still a very good book by an excellent author,however different it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its not as good as the others but its still quality!!, 6 Mar 2008
This review is from: Blood Beast (The Demonata, Book 5) (Paperback)
This book is another from the Demonata series (by none other than Darren Shan) and continues from Bec. With the re-introduction of a previous character into the book, the book becomes a tool of questions as you start to wonder why on earth the new character has arrived.

Apart from that the book progresses a litte slower than usual but still packed with violence and action. The one big down point is that the book ends on a very interesting cliffhanger, but believe me when I say this... this book is just a warm-up for the next :D (I have read the next by the way)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bloodbeast-o-rama, 16 Nov 2007
A great saga of gore and blood, and a unmissable cliffhanger at the end.
Its well good it is the best 1 i have read so far. I really need to get the next book!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 8 Jun 2007
Darren Shan can write! I think this book would be found captivating by those from age 4 to age 80. It held my interest and I've never been a big reader of this srt of book.

Although this was my first exposure to the author I certainly hope to view more of his stuff. Witty, clever, an excellent command of language, I think Shan is underrated as an author.

The book lagged a bit in the middle and is why I do not give it 5 stars. But the first third and final third were excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master of Horror strikes with a vengence, 5 Aug 2007
By 
Sam (South England) - See all my reviews
I am a massive fan of alll of Darren Shans Books and this fith installment of 'The Demonata' series certainly did not dissappoint. The story returns to Grubbs, the initial narrator at the start of of the series 'Lord Loss' and who returns again in'Slawter' and how he struggles with the possibility of becoming a werewolf. I have read reviews stating that they were a little dissappointed with this book but I would have to dissagree. This book, in my opinion focuses more on the inner struggle of the central character-which I find very effective. Overall, the book is well written and captivaring. Recommended to anyone who enjoys fantasy/horror books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BEAST OF A READ ............................, 26 Jun 2007
Blood Beast book review

Author Darren Shan

I make no secret of it I'm a Darren Shan fan ,I have read all of his 12 books in the Cirque Du freak, Darren Shan Vampire saga , and adored all of them .

You may find The Demonata to be very different in style to the vampire saga .

However although all of the books in the Demonata differ in style, and characters , Darren cleverly interlinks the stories, plots,demons and characters in surprising and unpredictable ways.

This book follows in the footsteps of the action packed Slawter ,then Bec which is more of a sad , dark and sombre book .

The book centres around the main character Grubbs Grady who we have already met in Lord loss, and Slawter .

After the brutal slaughter of Grubbs family by demons Grubbs is trying to move on with his life.

Grubbs is also growing up ,he experiences all the things that regular teenagers go through , being popular at school, friendships ,his first crush,his first kiss.

But Grubbs has much more to contend with than a normal teenage boy,nightmares, magical powers brewing inside him,sickness and his overwhelming fear of transforming into a werewolf due to a family curse that afflicts him and his unfortunate predecessors.

Grubbs is living with his charming uncle Dervish ,whilst going through a transitional stage in his life ,he realises he has powerful magic residing within him,and also fears that he may carry the family curse of lycanthropy.

Grubbs faces many inner conflicts in the book , can he confess his fears to his uncle Dervish,and risk being sacrificed by the Lambs?Who can he trust ,will the beast lurking inside Grubbs take possession over his mind ,body and soul? Read to find out ...............

I recommend the book to all readers because it has many elements that both young and older readers can relate too.

The storyline has many twists and turns that include a party ,a treasure hunt ,a cliff hanger ,love ,death and betrayal ,the book is scary ,humorous ,and insightful, it really leaves you gagging for more........

Characters:

Grubbs Grady, The troubled teenager with a gruesome past and not too promising future

Bill-E Spleen, Grubbs half brother not as popular as Grubbs but has some magical powers.

Dervish Grady, Grubbs and Bill-E's uncle, A charming biker with a colourful punk rock past with strong magic skills a heart of gold and loads of money

Juni Swan- The mind reading albino and magical psychologist who has a love interest with Dervish ,manipulative or just caring?

Lord Loss- The blood oozing misery guts of a Demon Master hell bent on destroying Grubs and all the other unfortunates ..................

Reviewed by Meera Flame 2007

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slow start with a killer cliff-hanger, 11 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. G. T. Redshaw "wolfblass" (Borehamwood) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found the first 1/3 a little slow (although some would say it's setting the scene) but after that it was gripping up to its `killer cliff-hanger'.

The limited storyline made for an intense plot and you really felt for Grubbs. My slight `niggle' is that I found it implausible that Grubb was so slow at talking to his uncle for something so important and why he kept forgetting to mention things like the disappearing blood in the cave.

I find his books hugely enjoyable even though they are supposed to be aimed at teenagers and I'm nearer 40. The only down side is that they are quick to read and the wait for the next book is frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph, 21 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. L. F. Smith (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Darren Shan weaves yet another enchanting yarn that pulls you into it carcass filled belly. This tale returns us to the characters that first introduced us to the Demonata, the likes of Dervish, Grubbs and Bill-E, but wait until you meet Reni.

The blood-curdling action starts from the very first page, throwing us straight into Grubbs' nightmare.

The trouble with the works of Darren Shan is that they draw you in so intensely that the outside world becomes a blur and before too long you have reached the end, yearning for just one more chapter to feed your addiction, but alas you must wait until the release of the next installment.."WHAT THE HELL'S COMING NEXT?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book yet again, 15 Oct 2007
By 
D. Page - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is great, it's gory, scary and has more twists and bends than ever. But there is a downside, after reading slawter, my fav book out of the series, you expect an even better story line but there isn't. Don't get me wrong but this is a great book. AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Blood Beast (The Demonata, Book 5) (Paperback)
Grandson said it was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Beast (The Demonata, Book 5)
Blood Beast (The Demonata, Book 5) by Darren Shan (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews