Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Darren Shan is at the top of his form in his latest masterpiece of gruesome demons and terror. This third book in the DEMONATA series picks up where THE DEMON THIEF left us. Dervish is almost back to normal. Grubitsch Grady, better known as Grubbs, and his half-brother, Bill-E, are trying to live a normal life without demons. A group called The Lambs want to take Bill-E...
Published on 10 Nov 2006 by TeensReadToo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ummm.... Ok i suppose?
This is the third instalment in the Demonata series and honestly it's not that great. I found that one of the biggest problems I had with the book was how boring and slow it was at the start( which is something every writer should avoid) In the book we are reunited with Grubbs Grady ( another problem I have with the book, all the names are stupid! but I would accept that...
Published on 3 Dec 2011 by BJE


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 10 Nov 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Demonata (3) - Slawter (Hardcover)
Darren Shan is at the top of his form in his latest masterpiece of gruesome demons and terror. This third book in the DEMONATA series picks up where THE DEMON THIEF left us. Dervish is almost back to normal. Grubitsch Grady, better known as Grubbs, and his half-brother, Bill-E, are trying to live a normal life without demons. A group called The Lambs want to take Bill-E to their lab and observe and test him to see if he is really cured of lycanthropy. Uncle Dervish and Grubbs are certainly not going to allow that. Then Dervish is approached by acclaimed horror movie producer, David A. Haym, or "Davida," who wants Dervish to be a consultant on her new film. She has resurrected a ghost town and renamed it Slawter. Her masterpiece will have a demon theme, and Dervish, of course, is a demon expert.

The demons that romp through SLAWTER seem all too real to Grubbs and he begins to wonder whether more than filming is afoot when strange happenings disrupt the set and the filming. He can't seem to convince Uncle Dervish that real demons are on the loose, and are not just ingenious costumes. People begin to disappear. Is Lord Loss back in business?

Darren Shan broke new ground with his bestselling CIRQUE DU FREAK series, and now his DEMONATA series promises to be as great a hit with the kids. Shan is a master at characterization and plotting, and the fear factor raises your goose-bumps to a new height. I would not recommend this series for children ages ten and under, but for older kids that love scary stories with lots of gruesome gore, this book fits that category. The reluctant readers will love this exciting, horrific story.

Reviewed by: Grandma Bev
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slawter review, 18 Jun 2008
By 
Joe "Joe" (Brighton & Hove, England, the UK.) - See all my reviews
The book takes off where Lord Loss ended, with Grubbs, Bill-E and Dervish Grady all try to live a normal life. Then a horror movie director invites them to come an join her as they film Slawter, the most realistic demon film ever.
But who is this director really working for?
Why are children going missing?
And why are the Demons on set looking realistic... too realistic?

Lord Loss is back, and wants revenge on Grubbs.

BUY THE BOOK! It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grubbs is back, 15 Oct 2007
By 
D Wells "BusyD" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 3rd book in the Demonata and we're back with my favorite characters Grubbs and Dervish.

To fully appreciate this book you need to read the Lord Loss and Demon Thief first, but I think you'd still enjoy this book even if you haven't read the previous 2.

I couldn't put this book down and was left hungry for more at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the amazing Demon Thief!, 30 July 2006
This review is from: The Demonata (3) - Slawter (Hardcover)
This book is the best out of the three bokks made in the Demonata series. I still think this even though I absoloutely loved the second book (Demon Thief). This contains the best contents of the first two books. The character Grubbs (who I preffered) and the extremely descriptive feelings from Lord Loss, and the gore and spookiness from Demon Thief. These things combined make this book chillingly descriptive on every topic included in the book. Once again, Darren Shan proves to be one of the best writers for teenagers today.

The book picks up where we left Dervish, Bill-E and Grubbs in Lord Loss.

Dervish is still shaken up after being in the Demonata universe. A famous horror film director wants to make a new movie on demons. He somehow knows that Dervish knows all about demons, and so, invites him to the town of Slawter to help with his film. Dervish, of couse, accepts the offer of the director hoping this will be a fun break. Drevish invites Grubbs and Bill-E to come with him. But, unknown to them, this mysterious director is working for Lord Loss, and is setting a trap for the new visitors!

All the characters have the same personalities, and so do the demons! The demons include the infamous Vein, Artery, Lord Loss, and, on the cover of the book, we see Cadaver. There are many twists and unexpected turns in the plot. The ending is very good, leaving Darren Shan a good opening into the next book about Grubbs. The battle at the end is really scary, it is a blood shed battle between the humans and the demons, explained in gory detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody brillent, 24 Jun 2006
By 
Mark Langhammer "vampre x" (n ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Demonata (3) - Slawter (Hardcover)
The third book in the demonata series where the narative reins are passed back to grubbs. It is several months after the events of Lord Loss and Dervish is going mad, attacking Grubbs in his sleep. Then a cult director Davida Hyme invites Dervish to help her with a new film that she is making about demons. But the demons aren't as fake as you'd believe

Easily the best book of the series where you get to see the growing of grubbs's magical abilitys and how Lord Loss fights.

It can easily be read as a stand alone novel even if you have never read the first (lord loss) I strongly recomend this to anyone (if you don't mind blood and gore as its probobly the gorest book ever)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slawter - the dividing piece, 21 Jun 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demonata (3) - Slawter (Hardcover)
This is a great book; it has everything you'd expect from the author of Lord Loss and Demon Thief, blood, guts, bit of fighting and a lot of intrigue. I read this in just a day, and enjoyed it immensely, I just have one problem with it, early on Darren did say all of the Demonata books where going to be able to be read as a single book, but over the course of the 10 books a full story would unfold and i can see what he means, which is my only gripe with this book... i got to the end, enjoyed it immensely, but it doesn't really contribute much to the overall story at all, its like the second book in a trilogy, where nothing of much importance happens, except a few mishaps. So id say this is a great individual book, but if your expecting it to unfold anything new about the Demonata, you might be a bit dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ready, Set, Slawter, 4 July 2006
This review is from: The Demonata (3) - Slawter (Hardcover)
I haven't gotten into darren shan's new series about the demonata until I read this book.

This is the best book in the series yet

Basically dervish is asked to help a famous horror director to make a movie about demons

Dervish knowing all about these demons accepts the offer but doesn't know that it is all a set up of lord loss's to kill Dervish, Grubbs and Bill-E

This really is a great story with a lot of unexpected events and terrifying events. It kept me reading until 2 in the mornin' and I'm sure it will do the same with.

Welcome to the town of Slawter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best horror book ever, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 11 year old son says these books are full of action and gruesome plots. He especially enjoyed the action set in Wolf Island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best One Yet, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After struggling with the second book in the series, this one really set the standard again. After the Zom-B series this is my favourite. That it was set on the set of a horror movie made it all the more fun and the gore and tension stayed constant throughout. While part of a series you could pick up this book and happily read it without reference to the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lights, Cameras, Demons!, 25 July 2013
We are back with Grubbs, a year has passed since his first encounter with Lord Loss, Dervish is having horrible nightmares and Grubbs is struggling to pull him back from that darkness. Until they are invited to be consultants on a new horror film. The Producer/Director has heard that Dervish is a master of information on demons and wants to use that knowledge to make a super realistic Demon film, the only problem it - things start to get a little bit too realistic when real Demons show up. But with actors and costumes everywhere, who will believe Grubbs when he tries to unearth them.

I liked Grubbs a lot more in this book, he's grown up a lot and is really coming into his own, he's stronger and plans ahead more.

I read this one really quickly again, I just couldn't seem to stop reading. It's so gripping I had to know what would happen, there are a lot of surprise twists and turns and loads of excitement. Again there was some gore and quite bloody scenes, but I've come to expect that from this series and it didn't seem as bad as the first book, for me that one was the most shocking and therefore had the biggest effect. I'd still caution anyone easily scared, squeamish or younger readers.

Very enjoyable and I look forward to reading the rest of the series. Got to wait for the next book to arrive though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Demonata (3) - Slawter
The Demonata (3) - Slawter by Darren Shan (Hardcover - 5 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews