Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely blown away!!
Well, what can I say? Eloisa James has done it again. A beautifully written novel with a fantastic story line, the reader can't help but be swept away by this book.
Teresa (Tess) Essex and her three sisters (Anabelle, Imogen and Josie) are left to the care of their somewhat brandy loving guardian after their horse-mad father dies. They move from Scotland to England...
Published on 21 Jan 2005

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It has all the making's of a good Regency novel...but falls sadly short
This novel begins with so much potential... circumstances ripe for interesting storylines and a group of interesting characters to develop, but it all seems rather rushed and superficial. Characters are all introduced well but not developed above a superficial level, which is a shame because the reader expects more as the book progresses, but we don't get much! The...
Published on 2 Nov 2008 by Idrys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely blown away!!, 21 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Well, what can I say? Eloisa James has done it again. A beautifully written novel with a fantastic story line, the reader can't help but be swept away by this book.
Teresa (Tess) Essex and her three sisters (Anabelle, Imogen and Josie) are left to the care of their somewhat brandy loving guardian after their horse-mad father dies. They move from Scotland to England not knowing what to expect until they arrive at their guardian's (who happens to be a duke) beautiful estate.
However their peace is shattered after Imogen elopes with the young lord from the neighbouring estate and Tess is forced to marry to save the family from disgrace. Step in the Earl of Mayne. Many Eloisa James fans will have been dying to see this particular Earl get his own book but we are left in suspense a bit longer. Although he proposes to Tess and they become engaged this relationship is not to be and Tess quickly finds herself swapping fiances for Lucius Felton who appears in 'The One That Got Away'. They marry and what follows is a beautiful and passionate love story of how both Tess and Lucius come to terms with their feelings for eachother.
Supporting this story are a host of wonderful secondary characters, especially Tess' sisters who I presume will get their own books eventually.
This book is gripping from start to finish and is definately a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It has all the making's of a good Regency novel...but falls sadly short, 2 Nov 2008
This review is from: Much Ado About You (Paperback)
This novel begins with so much potential... circumstances ripe for interesting storylines and a group of interesting characters to develop, but it all seems rather rushed and superficial. Characters are all introduced well but not developed above a superficial level, which is a shame because the reader expects more as the book progresses, but we don't get much! The 'feelings' related are quite cliched at times, and the Americanisms in this novel are quite inexcusable - most probably enjoyable for those who enjoy 21st-century 'historical' fiction. Who ever compared this to Georgette Heyer probably didn't read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5+ star read, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: Much Ado About You (Paperback)
Taken from my Blog Post (#62) in December 2010, after borrowing the book from the library.

Right off the bat can I just say ................ WHAT A FANDABBIEDOOZIE .............. a 5+ Star Read. I enjoyed every second of it. Like an up to date Georgette Heyer on speed. It felt just like reading a story I would be involved in with my best girly girls.

Packed through from start to finish with the most fabulous humour and insight.

Run at a startling speed to the nearest purveyor of fine literature and pick this baby up.

Book 1 in the Essex Sister Series, the story of Tess Essex, eldest of four sisters suddenly faced with a shambolic and mostly drunken guardian (Rafe, Duke of Holbrook) following the death of their beloved, but horse mad Father.

The story kicks off with said Duke displaying to his friends four sets of rocking horses, dolls and other paraphernalia associated with young wards, only to find said wards being ushered into the Nursery .... ranging from 20 odd downwards and beautiful beyond belief. What can he do with them ........ find a chaperone p.d.q for a start. Then arrange to marry the oldest one off to one of his friends.

Just when it all looks to be turning out for the best, Tess;s finance gets cold feet and hies off, and she is left with the other friend, one of London's most notorious rakes.

To top it all off, one of the other sisters, Imogen, elopes with a reckless and horse mad young lord, just like their Papa.

I am tracking down the next in the series tomorrow, Kiss me Annabel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage love, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my first books by Elosie James and I quite liked the rhythm and pace of events! The characters are well entwined and built with great individuality !! But the in the end there were a couple events where the author did not throw light of closure and I was waiting to know eagerly what happened !! Maybe the following books in the series touch upon them, I am yet to read the following books in the series !! All in all a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this historical romance and heartbreak of a colourful family of beautiful sisters and their lives. It has everything you need and want from a strong storyline filled throughout with love lust romance and it made me laugh out loud until I couldn't breathe ! LOVED it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as with all EJ books, just fabulous! well rounded characters, good storyline. I have loved everthing so far EJ has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cr, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About You (Paperback)
This book was just as good as Eloisa's Fairy Tale Series. You will learn to love all the sisters. -The rest of this series is excellent too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, 12 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Much Ado About You (Paperback)
I absolutely love this series of four books about the Essex sisters. In just three months, I have read each of them twice and Much Ado About You three times! And I've never read a book more than once. I don't love all the characters all the time, Josie is extremely grating, but it is the same with my real friends, they piss me off too at times. The books are extremely well written and a joy to read. With each book I have raced to the end and then felt tremendous sadness at finishing them.
I have now ordered more books by Eloisa James and I cannot wait to read them, but I will miss the Essex sisters so much.
LOVE THEM, LOVE THEM, LOVE THEM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very peculiar read!, 30 Oct 2006
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Much Ado About You (Paperback)
I found this novel a very odd read indeed. I could not take any of the characters seriously - they seemed not to have any credibility at all... They were weak also; the four sisters had such vague personalities, one found it difficult to distinguish one from the other, but for their names... OK, so it is fiction after all, but we would like to think that something we read would be credible at least, but I doubt very much that because someone's groom does a 'runner' at a wedding, his friend would stand in for him and get 'hitched', for no other reason than to save the day... A noble but totally unbelievable act of anyone who was truly 'compos mentis', and hence the story is extremely amusing in parts. However, I have to admit to having finished the book, and did actually enjoy it despite all this, which is incredible in itself - but it is true! If you wish to be merely 'amused', and don't like your reads to be too serious, then this story is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to Start...But A Sweet Read!, 3 April 2006
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tess and her sisters have just moved to England after the death of their beloved papa. Their first glimpse of their new guardian is...a surprise. He and his friend are playing with toys. Toys the good Duke had purchased for his new wards...only his new wards are not little girls...they are women grown. Tess has hopes she will be able to quit worrying about their place in life...but although the Duke of Holbrook is generous and giving...he's not going to find them matches. That leaves Tess to take on the responsibility. She's willing to marry and has even decided that Garret Langham Earl of Mayne will make a good husband. But it's not his kisses that fire her blood. No the kisses of Lucius Fenton do that. Will she be able walk away from the feeling she has for this man and marry the Earl, or will she take a chance on love with Lucius?
This was a sweet read but slow to start. The sisters are not as easy to like in the beginning but again...it all works out if the reader sticks with the story. This is the first in the Essex sister's series and Ms. James took a great deal of time introducing all of the players. This is one of the reason's this story was slow to start. If you are looking for a sweet romance you will find it here...just be patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa294d08)

This product

Much Ado About You
Much Ado About You by Eloisa James (Paperback - 14 May 2010)
9.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews