Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and funny continuation of the Chrestomanci Series, 26 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Pinhoe Egg (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 7) (Paperback)
This book continues on from the storyline in "Charmed Life" so it's probably best to have at least read that book before picking up this one (reading "Mixed Magics" would probably help too but it's not essential).

I can't really go into much detail about the plot here as it may spoil your enjoyment of the book, but the story basically follows Cat Chant from "Charmed Life" and a new character, Marianne Pinhoe, as various strange incidents occur in the villages surrounding Chrestomanci Castle. Of course, Chrestomanci and his family also feature in the story. Also, fans of Diana's "Wizard Derk" books will be pleased at the appearance of a certain magical creature in the story.

Like all of the other books in this series, this book is full of wit, original and unpredictable storylines and brilliantly imagined characters. I think that it has a slightly sweeter, cuter feel than the other books (don't worry though, it's not sickly or anything like that!).

There aren't really any negatives I can think of about this book, I loved it, maybe not quite as much as "Conrad's Fate" but definitely more than the rest of the series.

Basically, if you enjoyed the other Chrestomanci books I cannot think of any reason why you should not enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not her best, 13 May 2007
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pinhoe Egg (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 7) (Paperback)
A new Diana Wynne Jones novel is always a treat, especially when it continues the stories of some of her existing characters. This is no exception.

Set in the summer after 'Charmed Life', it combines the ongoing stories of Cat Chant, Chrestomanci, and the others at the Castle, with some new characters; Marianne and Joe Pinhoe. All of the characters are three dimensional, believeable and likeable, and those who have read Charmed Life will be glad to find out what happened next to Cat.

As usual, the writing is accessible and engaging, with the reader quickly drawn in and then gripped for the rest of the novel. There's a decent little plot, not terribly complex, but not overly predictable and with plenty to keep even adult readers interested. It's not one of her strongest, to be fair, but it's not bad either.

Although the story stands alone quite well, readers might enjoy it more if they have first read 'Charmed Life', which introduces some of the characters and concepts, and is generally a very good book. There are also some spoilers for 'Charmed Life' in 'The Pinhoe Egg'.

While this isn't Wynne Jones' best work, it is still an enjoyable piece of escapist writing - and is worth it for the very cute baby griffin alone. Cat and Marianne are both worthy principal characters, and are supported by a strong cast of secondary roles. The book would be suitable for children as young as 8, right through to adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-read for Chrestomanci and fantasy fans, 7 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Pinhoe Egg (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 7) (Paperback)
'The Pinhoe Egg' is the latest must-read book in the Chrestomanci series that blends the well-known and loved characters from 'Charmed Life' with a new colourful gallery of witches, enchanters and magical creatures.
Diana Wynne Jones gives her usual best to make the book a good read - there is of course magic, humour, lots of cats, some cheerful, and some wicked characters topped up with the inimitable big man - Chrestomanci himself. As usual, too, the story focuses rather on the children, with maturing Cat Chant and a new character Marianne Pinhoe among others, growing up to their gifts and building self-confidence to use their skills.
But there is also some new quality to it that was either not present or no so clear in the previous books. Here the magic is more connected at the grass roots, and more in the balance with the rest of the world, taking in the good with the bad, learning to tolerate and respect the other, invisible universe. This shift in the worldview reminds me strongly of Ursula Le Guin's 'The Other Wind', and as such may appeal also to an older audience.
Without spoiling the story, Wynne Jones is also quite critical of blind, unquestioning faith and might spark a controversy or a lively debate among some readers, making the series even more interesting.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really sweet and funny continuation of the Chrestomanci series, 21 Jan 2007
This book continues on from the storyline in "Charmed Life" so it's probably best to have at least read that book before picking up this one (reading "Mixed Magics" would probably help too but it's not essential).

I can't really go into much detail about the plot here as it may spoil your enjoyment of the book, but the story basically follows Cat Chant from "Charmed Life" and a new character, Marianne Pinhoe, as various strange incidents occur in the villages surrounding Chrestomanci Castle. Of course, Chrestomanci and his family also feature in the story.

Like all of the other books in this series, this book is full of wit, original and unpredictable storylines and brilliantly imagined characters. I think that it has a slightly sweeter, cuter feel than the other books (don't worry though, it's not sickly or anything like that!).

There aren't really any negatives I can think of about this book, I loved it, maybe not quite as much as "Conrad's Fate" but definitely more than the rest of the series.

Basically, if you enjoyed the other Chrestomanci books I cannot think of any reason why you should not enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoy the latest book, 10 Sep 2006
By 
susan (leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking forward to the latest Diana Wynne Jones since I finished her last book. I did not so much read it as devour it. I have to say its not her best, but then her best is so very good. It does have similarities to Merlin Consiracy and Magicians of Caprona, both excellent books. As with all Diana Wynne Jones books its no point telling you anything about the plot, that is marginally irrelavant, just enjoy the story and enjoy being in another world. Only Tolkein is better at creating another world. My only complaint about the book is it could have been longer...long enough to last me till the next is published!
since i first read this book in sept 2006, i have reread it more than once...every time i read it i enjoy it more Diana Wynne Jones is a brilliant author...read anything she writes!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Sarah D (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pinhoe Egg (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 7) (Paperback)
We all enjoyed reading this - kids aged 6 and 8. We'd read Charmed Life and The Lives of Christopher Chant (both brilliant) and this is a wonderful continuation of the characters. At the end of 'Charmed Life' we really wanted to know how Cat, Janet and co got on and you can't help falling in love with Chrestomanci and Millie after 'Christopher Chant'. This book had everything my daughter could wish for, animals, mythical creatures (all observed affectionately and acutely) and lucky magical children. The introduction of a new branch of magic, 'dwimmer' is inspired and gives the story a slight sense of realism. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming read by the mistress of fantasy, 30 Dec 2006
By 
Aria-May (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
A story by Diana Wynn Jones is always a treat, especially one that involves some of the characters that we've encountered before. The Pinhoe Egg is an excellent children's story set around Crestomanci Castle and follows a fairly predictable pattern of children causing havoc by fiddling with things they don't understand, but in doing so managing to set in to motion a chain of events that eventually makes everyone's life much better for it. My lips are sealed about the plot, though - one hint would ruin the pleasure of discovering it for yourself. I agree with the previous reviewer that this is not an example of Diana Wynn Jones' outstanding writing, but her merely excellent writing is perfectly good, and any child that enjoys fantasy will gobble this up! (And a good few adults too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 4 Aug 2014
One of my favourites in the series. This book follows Cat again but a little ahead in time when he is better at magic and a new Charctacter called Marianne whose family are fueding with a neighbouring family. In order to address this fued Marianne and cat need to find out what the secret of the families is which is met with certain barriers. Its really nice to see Cat developing with his magic and he get some cute pets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hatching magic, 23 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pinhoe Egg (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 7) (Paperback)
Diana Wynne-Jones created fantasy worlds for decades, but her most enduring creation is still Chrestomanci, the nine-lifed enchanter who regulates magic all over the worlds.

And she was still in fine form in "The Pinhoe Egg," the sixth entry in the series, which has her strange magic, wacky humor, and an England radically different from the one we know. And Cat -- the timid hero of her first Chrestomanci book -- finally gets to take center stage in his own conspiracy-laden story.

Marianne Pinhoe is there when her grandmother, the manipulative Gammer, goes completely insane. When Gammer's house is put on the market, young Cat Chant accompanies a friend to look at it -- and he and Marianne find a strange egglike thing in the attic. She lets Cat takes it home, and a shadowy creature visits him, asking him to take care of her child.

But strange things are happening around Chrestomanci Castle -- the "Big Man" is kidnapped briefly, and there are plagues of frogs, illness, and general bad luck among the Pinhoes. A silent feud is going on between two secret witch clans -- and Cat finds himself in the middle of a magical conspiracy that goes back centuries.

Diana Wynne Jones has always been great at creating magic conspiracies that never quite go the way you expect. "The Pinhoe Egg" dangles mysteries and hints in front of the reader, about why the witches stay secretive, and what their "sacred trust" is, and you won't guess until the final pages.

Jones spins up this elaborate fantasy with her usual attention to detail, solid dialogue, and insights into what make kids tick -- from adolescent crushes to frustration that nobody will listen. Shealso brings a new kind of magic -- dwimmer -- into the storyline, along with flying machinery and a baby griffin called Klartch, who provides a lot of the humor ("Weep! Weep! Weep!").

Technically Cat was the hero of Jones' first Chrestomanci book, but he really didn't do much. In "The Pinhoe Egg," he gets in on the magical action -- gunfights, spells, horseback riding, rescues and feeding milk to Klartch. Marianne is a solid counterpart, and as always, Chrestomanci is dapper, funny, and far more intelligent than the Pinhoes give him credit for.

"The Pinhoe Egg" is as enchanting as the main characters. Another highly enjoyable novel in the delightful magical series that came long, long before Harry Potter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 24 Nov 2013
By 
I absolutely loved this book because it is so well written. There weren't any issues with the kindle version so overall a worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pinhoe Egg (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 7)
The Pinhoe Egg (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 7) by Diana Wynne Jones (Paperback - 2 April 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews