Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel Slater does it again. Brilliant book.
A fantastic book. Will have you rushing out to the supermarket for bags of fruit. There are two very different reasons to buy Thirst.
Firstly - if you own a juicer this book is a must. Recipes are brilliant - practical, delicious, innovative. And the style is great.
Secondly - if you are a fan of Nigel Slater this book is equally a must. Be warned though, you'll...
Published on 1 July 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good for you...
Nigel Slater always pleases and juices are an excellent way to get your daily dose of goodness. But at the end of the day it's still only a juice book...but it's still one of the best.
Published 8 months ago by Chef Keene


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel Slater does it again. Brilliant book., 1 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
A fantastic book. Will have you rushing out to the supermarket for bags of fruit. There are two very different reasons to buy Thirst.
Firstly - if you own a juicer this book is a must. Recipes are brilliant - practical, delicious, innovative. And the style is great.
Secondly - if you are a fan of Nigel Slater this book is equally a must. Be warned though, you'll be rushing out to buy a juicer (or two) once he gets your mouth watering with the recipe ideas.
One thing not to expect from this book is any sort of prescriptive health plan involving juices. If you want to know which juice contains which vitamin or mineral, etc, you would be better off with a book like 'Power Juices'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Fav Juice Book, 14 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
I?ve used this book almost every day since I bought it last Xmas and I'm still discovering new treats, learning and becoming ever more passionate about fruit/juice. Almost everything about this book is great. Splash proof cover, Nigel's writing which is witty, informative and above all honest. Deign, photos and layout is cool. Proof of the pudding is in the recipes which are GREAT. My wife and family all enjoy the end results. Well done Nigel. If you buy just one juice book make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different to Nigel's usual presentation but most enjoyable, 7 Jun 2002
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
With its shiny, yellow plastic cover, printed in bold red letters, at first glance this book is reminiscent of the life jackets stored under the seats of aircraft for use in the event of landing on water. The introductions to each chapter are not only in very bold print but the type is tinted with a different hue for each page, which at first appears rather quaint but becomes more appealing as the reader progresses through the book.
The recipes themselves have clearly taken a great deal of thought and messing about on the author's part and on the whole are well presented and workable. He made me want to ressurrect my juicer and get cracking on a few of his drinks without delay.
His chapter on cleaning the juicer, which is a mammoth task and one which makes users tire easily of the machine's existence, whilst entertaining and head-noddingly correct, adds no secret tips to make cleaning easier. The author could be forgiven for this, as the job is boring and arduous.
My one real criticism is that the author does not suggest a use for the pulp left in the machine after juicing. Anyone who is serious about using the book would therefore be advised to prepare a large compost heap to accommodate the pulp wasted in the juicing exercise. A few recipes for cakes and biscuits made with the offending matter may have been a good idea. (Unless, of course, I have missed something and the recipes are there all the time.) Perhaps the publisher is hoping to have a spin-off on the subject!
Would I buy the book again? Yes, I think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 28 Dec 2006
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
i love love love this book and am amazed there's no reviews here! i bought this by chance and loved it so much i've now got every one of his other books.

it made me laugh out loud and the recipes are just amazing. i always end up with left over fruit/veg and the combinations in here i woud never have thought of!

if you like juices/smoothies/milkshakes this is the only book you'll need! much better than the innocent smoothie one in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No moaning and whinging from anonymous here!!, 2 Aug 2005
By 
Brian Woodward (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
Strange yet practical cover (Ahh!). I found the lay-out a little odd at first but once I'd worked out that if you leave a bookmark in the index then it's much better to use.
The recipes are quite eye-opening and the writing style as always is very, very approachable. I'd have never have thought that grapes and celery would work so well!!
Compared to the style of other juice type books this is something I'll continue to use for a long time, it's always in the kitchen where it's handy and always in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to drink? Nigel Slater will amaze you!, 15 Dec 2009
By 
E. J. Garrard "realreader" (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
Nigel Slater has done it again! This book will amaze you at his further abilities to create wonderful ideas, this time for smoothies. And if you think you know all about smoothies and what to put in them, think again! Nigel is like a much loved elder brother who gently encourages you to stretch your wings and try new experiences. This book opens up a whole new world of possibilities. I cannot recommend it too highly - I'm giving it as Christmas presents to only those people I really love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel does it again!, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
As ever Nigel gives us gorgeous recipes (if you can call juice combos recipes?) and presents it all in his wonderfully witty, enthusiastic and down to earth way. I have another juice book which is evangelical in the health benefits approach and great but sometimes a bit OTT - in contrast Nigel just reminds us that it's great to drink freshly extracted juice because it tastes fantastic and everything else is a bonus. The layout is handy giving you an easy reference of which fruits go well together. Great photographs and his usual fab prose. Don't really understand why some people dislike the presentation - perhaps I have a later reprint because there's no plastic feel and it's the usual glossy cover and normal glossy paper pages. A bit bigger than a standard paperback but not as big as a usual cookery book - a handy size. I think it's useful, enjoyable, well put together and well presented. What more do we want from a juice book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Juicer Book, 17 Dec 2014
By 
Basement Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
My favourite juice book. I have had mine since it first came out, but wanted to buy one for my brother for Christmas. Unfortunately, it's now out of print, so I bought a used copy. The photographs are bit grim, but the recipes are the best, and it's every bit as good as you would expect from Nigel Slater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's good for you..., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
Nigel Slater always pleases and juices are an excellent way to get your daily dose of goodness. But at the end of the day it's still only a juice book...but it's still one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird this book, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirst (Paperback)
This is a very odd little book with funny pictures of people drinking the last grainy dregs from various concoctions featured within these pages. There are however no pictures of what each drink should look like. Most 'recipes' (it's all just different juices mixed together) involve the use of a blender and/or juicer. If you don't have these two items, you'll be left frustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thirst
Thirst by Nigel Slater (Paperback - 4 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews