Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book showed me the light!
Its like the slap in the face I needed!
I was so upset.
I was crying.
I was a dribbling mess.
Then I got this book..I am so happy I found it!
Your friends can give you all the advice you need. Your mum can tell you what she thinks you can do. But this book tells you the truth. It doesnt beat around the bush. At times it is brutal. But it lets you...
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by LittleMissCupcake :)

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars insightful
I saw the first book "He's just not that into you" thinking it would be a novel and later realised it was a self help book, I though I'd get this book as the last novel had certain parts which were very true and even cruelly true about either what has happened to me in the past or to a lot of friends in their "relationships".
This would be a brilliant book for...
Published on 19 Sep 2010 by nlucky7


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book showed me the light!, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy (Paperback)
Its like the slap in the face I needed!
I was so upset.
I was crying.
I was a dribbling mess.
Then I got this book..I am so happy I found it!
Your friends can give you all the advice you need. Your mum can tell you what she thinks you can do. But this book tells you the truth. It doesnt beat around the bush. At times it is brutal. But it lets you have it!
In this kind of situation you need total honesty. This book helps you to understand that the boy who has broken your heart might be beautiful and might have gorgeous hair and you might think that he is going to change his mind. But ultimately he is not. Ultimately he broke up with you because that is exactly what he wanted to do and there is absolutely nothing you can do about it!He broke up with you because he couldnt see how fabulous you are..and he will never see. So no amount of calling or texting or thinking about him or daydreaming is going to make a difference!
Before I read this book I thought I wanted reconciliation with my boy. I thought I wanted him to change his mind and call me and tell me everything was going to be ok. But now I know I don't want this to happen because I want someone better. Someone who isnt a coward or 'scared of commitment' or 'can't give me what I want'
My Mum always told me that you gotta kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince and I guess girls that he is just another frog.
If you want to get over your break up get this book..it cant do it for you. But it can help you a hell of a lot!I am so glad that I spotted it because I could have wasted even more of my precious time (and tears) on a total moron. Now I can move on..I have much bigger fish to fry :) xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for girls, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Ben Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy (Paperback)
Ok. So I'm a bloke but I bought a book that was written for girls.

But EVERYTHING in it is also applicable to the other gender; the one that's meant to shrug it off, be macho, and just get on with it. Trouble is, if you're a guy and you're really honest with yourself, you'll know that life doesn't always work like that.

This was recommended to me by a friend after I had been dumped by someone who had asked me to marry her, someone who I thought I would spend the rest of my life with, and someone who then promptly left me and went back to her ex...

I'd lost the love of their life and didn't know how to continue. It hurt a hell of a lot, more than any physical pain I'd ever experienced. Even ten months later I'm only just beginning to get over it. But I wish I'd read this book at the start. Not only does it set out in a very clear manner what the do's and don'ts are in such a situation (unfortunately I went through the majority of the don'ts and made it a lot worse), it's also really quirky, funny and uplifting. If you're a bloke, simply replace the `him' that's dumped you to the `her', and you're there.

I often think that `if she can get back with her ex, then she can get back with me'. It hasn't happened. It won't happen.

It's called a Breakup because it's Broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I needed it - so do you, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy (Paperback)
Harsh but fair - have recommended to friends and family since. I read this about a month after separating from my partner after nearly 8 years. The book TOTALLY changed how i felt about the situation - yes, it's american and a bit 'you go girlfriend' and i usually vomit at the mere thought of that sort of bulls*it! But this was different, it seemed sensible - like the sort of 'common sense' therapy that all of your friends are too afraid to give you.

It helps to know other people have beent here too, and when you are feeling like nothing in the world will ever make you feel better, this will pick you up and make you say 'actually - it's happened, i need to get the hell on with my life not keep punishing myself'.

Honestly - i spouted so much CR&p after reading this book, but my friends and family noticed the change in me - with a few weeks i had got myself my own flat, and a whole new out look on life.

It's still in my bedside drawer, hidden away for those down times that inevitably surface, but it totally changed my healing process for the better.

Honestly if you feel worse than you ever have, what harm will getting this book do you? You can't feel any worse right?
I really really would strongly recommend it. Short relationship, long relationship, marriage - even if you are just constantly pining after someone it was over with years ago. This book will show you how to get past that.

Failing that, just eat ice cream and feel sorry for yourself the rest of your life and let him/her win.. your choice. You have to help yourself, and if you can't do that off your own back then buy this book and get the kick up the a%$e you really need!!

:D good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, every girl should have this book, 3 Mar 2006
By A Customer
I have just finished reading this book and quite honestly found it hard to put down! I am normally quite a slow reader but this only took me a couple of evenings to read.
Having experienced a couple of really hard breakups I bought this book to try and make me feel better about it all and it worked. My only regret is that I didnt have this book 4 years ago when I went through my first and probably hardest breakup.
Every girl should have this on her bookshelf or should buy it for those friends that have been through hell trying to work out why and how their relationship didnt work.
The anecdotes that they have in it are uncanny and I found myself nodding at every once that was posed - I have just about experienced all the Ifs and Buts that they come up with.
Fantastically well written by 2 authors that have been there, done that and bought the T-Shirt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 16 July 2007
By 
M. E. Pike "starfishuk" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
About 2 years ago I split from my boyfriend of 7 years. When I say split I mean he walked out on me to move in with a girl 11 years younger than me. Despite the fact he'd been a pretty horrid boyfriend I desperately wanted him back. On the advice of someone who was as she put it "on the outside looking in" I decided to buy this book and I am so glad I did. I'm not saying that without this book things would have turned out differently but I am saying that this book kept me strong, made me realise I did deserve better and never to accept anything less that that.

The book is split up into chapters and there's something in there for everyone, no matter what the circumstances of the relationship/break up are. The authors are straight talking and don't pull any punches with their advice - but this is what's so brilliant because you can't get offended by their advice like you would had a close friend just said it. At the end of each chapter is a `true life' account of different women and how they handled their break ups... in the worst possible way. These little stories are designed to and did indeed have me laughing out loud (something I desperately needed to do) and made me see what others are capable of when the red mist comes down. Personally this book helped me not to become `that crazy ex' and leave with dignity.

I would recommend this book to anyone who's just had their heart broken and even those who had their heart broken months, years ago but still find themselves holding on. It may look cheesy, it may be written by Americans but it helps. Take a chance and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those going through the bitterness of being heartbroken, 30 Jan 2008
I really cannot recommend this book enough to anyone who is feeling emotionally crippled by a relationship. I am not a keen reader and although I love America I was really put off by reading a book written by 2 Americans.
Ok, so they call you a "superfox" and "hot stuff" but it's all written tongue-in-cheek and designed to cheer you up when you're at your lowest (which I can assure you, it does!!) and you'll struggle to put the book down once you start I promise!! In fact I am not ashamed to say I read this book at least 10 times during my 2 month mini nightmare!!
So why is it so good?
It's brutally honest!!
I am the kind of person who questions everything: How could it end when he's the one? What's he thinking about/doing right now? How would he react if I accidentally on purpose "bumped" into him at his favorite pub? Does he still care about me? Is there any point in trying to get over this if he's coming back? etc.....
The book is structured in 2- answering all common relationship questions (predominantly written by Greg who provides a guy's perspective!!) and then how to get over it. Throughout, the book contains real life scenarios which you can really relate to and make you aware of just how vulnerable you are to making an absolute prat of yourself when your emotions are pulling you in every direction. The result, you finish the book with closure ready to get back into the world as a strong dignified woman with a smile on your face. And then if you succomb to a mini depressive state later on pick up the book again. It really does work and you'll be recommending this book to all your friends!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really does help..., 6 Jun 2007
I bought this as I was struggling to get over a break up and it has really helped me. It makes you realise you aren't on your own and that it happens to everyone. It also inspired me to take action to get over him instead of moping around. Some of the suggestions were really hard (such as no contact for 60 days) but they made me feel in control of the situation. If you are going through a break up this will really help you- it stops the cycle of thinking about him and makes you focus on yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best break up buddy you could have, 16 Jun 2006
By 
C. Stacey "Self healer!" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Suffering from a broken heart...you know that feeling where is hurts and you don't think you can live without them. Well I felt exactly like that, didn't eat, didn't want to go etc...you'll know what I mean if you are reading this. Well I had to find something to help me out as my friends had kind words but I just couldn't seem to shake off the bad feelings. I found this book and it was the lifeline I needed. It is an eye opener which put things into a humorous perspective for me and some how pulled me out of the dungeons after a failed relationship. It is now my bible which I will treasure if ever I am in the same situation again. But having said that I have now become a 'Superfox' after reading the book so shouldn't be! I would seriously recommend this. My friends are already fighting over it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My idiot husband dumped me and broke my heart 4 months back. This was the first time I had ever dealt with heartbreak as we were childhood sweethearts. I was a mess, broken, bruised and sick of looking at my crying face in the mirror. After 8 weeks of this I felt I needed to get some sort of help so I looked to Amazons self help section and I found this beauty. This book takes you through all the stages of a break up, it gives you helpful advice and stories of other peoples break ups which really make you realise yours is not that bad, I could totally relate to every chapter and 4 months on I'm doing much better :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best break up buddy ever, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy (Paperback)
I bought this book on the recommendation of a friend. Although intended for people who have been dumped, If you happen to be the dumper, but feel guilt ridden about the pain and heartache you have caused your ex in breaking up: this book is definitely for you.
It provides a fascinating insight into the human psyche. It's witty and catchy and an absorbing read. It'll make you laugh when you think you should be crying and phrases will pop into your head, like a nagging mother, when you're feeling a moment of weakness and contemplate contacting your ex. For someone who has been dumped, it'll help give you the building blocks to rebuild your self esteem. For someone who is a dumper (but feeling guilty about it) it'll give you the courage of your conviction. A thoroughly enjoyable read, I would recommend it to anyone fresh out of a relationship, if nothing else it'll pass a few hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy
It's Called a Breakup Because It's Broken: The Smart Girl's Breakup Buddy by Amiira Ruotola-Behrendt (Paperback - 5 Jun 2006)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews