Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2013
This was not so much about hoppicking as about the lives iof an extended family some of whom went hoppicking regularly and the rest of their lives i n Poplar.
I found the book somewhat incosistent, it seemed to jump about a lot (datewise) which made it difficult to follow.
I come from a hoppicking area in another part of England (Herefordahire) and the hop part rang very true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
What a wonderful book - I had trouble putting it down. I did not go hop picking - but many of friends and neighbours did. I would not hesitate to recommend it. My only comment is that whoever wrote the synopsis of the book on the back cover of the paperback edition clearly did not read the book as the names and relationships were completely wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Great read, took me back to the days when I used to watch everyone else going hopping, I never went myself but always wanted to, the other kids made it sound so exciting! However, the book told me all about it and I almost felt that I was there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
A very nice read, of the times when east end families combined holidays on the farms picking hops and having a sort of holiday at the same time, and going home after wards with money in their pockets,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
THIS IS A BOOK THAT I REALLY ENJOYED AND DID NOT WANT IT TO END, I COULD RELATE TO A LOT OF IT WHICH MADE IT EVEN MORE ENJOYABLE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Not as good as the other one where a 17 yr old girl gets all her teef pulled out by a barber in a green leather smock...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This is a great item and I would most certainly recommend it to others.
It is worth every penny paid for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Arrived as promised and as it stated in new condition. Very pleased especially as it was a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
great service highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Pleased with purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)