Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars62
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2000
Ballard's second novel (everyone always forgets about the stretched first in his early quartet of ecological novels, 'The Wind from Nowhere') a, to use a cliched expression, metaphysical adventure story. The atmosphere is heavy, densely wrought and elegantly ponderous. The theme of this book is typically Ballardian as its protagonists discover that the ruination of the world by their ancestors is the inheritance that they now want for themselves. Those looking for a breezy adventure story full of fights with overgrown swamp-dwellers and ihgh-octane bucaneering are going to be disappointed, as are those who want to read about ecological policy; Ballard is a landscape artist of the mind and the collective subconscious, not an environmental pedagogue. He is also, maybe, the only truly great English novelist since the death of William Golding.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
good story concept , but not having read Ballard before I didn't know what to expect. found the writing style a bit tiresome, but read it quickly so cannot have been that bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Interesting but in the 50 years since it was published, the creaky plot, and the frankly awful treatment of the female and the black characters stick out too much to maintain its high reputation
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
My first JG Ballard novel. The scenario was beleivable but the plot was thin and annoying. The goals of some of the characters were puzzling and pointless.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2001
Quite why the Synopsis above chooses to describe the narrative as 'fast paced' is beyond me. As you'll gather from reading the various reviews, there is little in the way of plot. It is competently written, but if, like me, you find the idea that high temperature & humidity, combined with an enlarged-seeming Sun, is going to regress human minds back to some primordial state (& incidentally wipe out rational intelligence along the way) just a little unlikely, you'll ultimately find nothing that will draw you back to this book again. It's worth reading. Once. I can't imagine coming back to it a second time. This is pulp, decent pulp, it's true, but pulp, nevertheless, and no masterwork.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
all as advertise thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Of an era. They managed to have a tumblers full of liquor and stay at the Ritz despite the devolution of man!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2000
I really had to force myself to finish this book - I wanted to give up on it from about the third chapter on. Ballard talks of a world changing ecological disaster, but never really puts across any images of what this has meant for mankind as a whole. The handful of survivors that the novel centres around seem to be managing quite happily on the remains of London civilisation, and I found it impossible to sympathise with any of them. The later stages of the book that deal with the arrival of the Strangman character are just dull - no explanation is ever given as to exactly who this man is and why he does what he does. Also, the idea that all life on earth is slowly de-evolving back to the Triassic age is never fully explored or resolved either, which I found deeply annoying as it was the only interesting part of the storyline.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Old ones are the best ones! Very atmospheric and startling prescient .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
An unusual if entertaining book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.84
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.