Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


171 of 176 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go across the Wall
Garth Nix changed the face of dark fantasy with his tales of Sabriel, Lirael and the gruesome enemies they defeated. Now he provides not only a novella in the world of the Abhorsen Trilogy, but several other short stories that he has penned over the years -- dark, chilling, beautiful and amusing.

After the events of "Abhorsen," Nicholas Sayre has decided that...
Published on 19 July 2005 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I loved the Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen series, but was really disappointed by this book, which appears to be trying to squeeze extra money out of the original books.

There is only one story about the Old Kingdom, which was so short that you were just getting into the book when it ended, which left you feeling very short changed. The rest of the stories I...
Published on 17 Jun. 2012 by Cardboardfigure


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not just about the Abhorsen, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
H. M. Holt "souloftherose" (Tring, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories (Paperback)
This is a collection of short stories by the author of the Abhorsen trilogy and the Keys to the Kingdom series for younger readers. Although the subtitle ("A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories) and cover design would indicate that this is being marketed to readers of the Abhorsen series only one of the short stories is set in the same world as the Abhorsen series and an Abhorsen only turns up on the last page of that story. Having said that, the Abhorsen story (The Creature in the Case) was pretty good as I expected.

I enjoyed the breadth of the stories in this collection, there's one story set in Australia, one more science fictiony story, one with an old-fashioned Western style, some Arthurian retellings and one fantastic spoof of the "choose your own adventure" genre with a Three Musketeers theme.

If you're only interested in the Abhorsen story then I think you can get hold of it separately but I think the other stories in this book are well worth a look and each has an introduction by Nix explaining why he originally wrote it which was very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 23 Oct. 2011
By 
S. Homewood (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories (Paperback)
After the previous books, I was very dissapointed with this book. I only read about half before putting it down. The first story was good as it related to the Aborhsen, but after that it didnt have anything to do with being "across the wall"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic mix, 13 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories (Paperback)
An interesting miscellany of stories which demonstrates the versatility of Garth Nix. Readers who are only familiar with the Old Kingdom books may be surprised that he can write comedy, too - "Down to the Scum Quarter" is hilarious. The longest of the stories is the novella "Nicholas Sayre and the Creature in the Case", which was excellent. It was brilliantly paced, full of action and suspense and a good development of the Nicholas Sayre character - it left me wanting to know more about the Old Kingdom and what happened next to Nick, Sam and Lirael. Other stories in the collection are sombre and thought-provoking - for example, "Charlie Rabbit" and "Hope Chest".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars you really know how to write fantasies mr nix, 15 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
several great short stories in this book. each is quite unique and individual and i love the little explanations of each of the stories from the author himself. gives each story its own place and character (if that is possible!). i have several favorites but the ones that stand out are 1) the story about the girl left doorstep set in wild west 2) the different take on the merlin and the lady story 3) lady in the lake story.

BTW THIS HAS CREATURE IN THE CASE IN IT. dont make the same mistake and buy this as well as creature in the case seprately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Garth Nix, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories (Paperback)
Across The Wall was a must to buy for me after reading the old kingdom triology Sabriel, Lirael & Abhorsen written for children but so appealing to the adult audience.
Across the Wall came within a week of purchase and in very good quality just as advertised on the website, if anyone wants more adventure from the Old Kingdom and Garth Nix's characters then this is a must to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a scrapbook, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories (Paperback)
If you really want to read more of Garth Nix, then this is worth adding to your collection - the brief introduction at the beginning of each story provides a nice insight into Nix's thought and writing process.
Overall however, it's very much a scrapbook - there's ideas all over the place, just waiting to have something done with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 5 July 2013
By 
K. G. Devey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was dissappointed to find that across the wall had little to do with the abhorsen story once passed the opening chapter a mix of short stories that really should have been titled very differently i like Garth Nix stories but I would prefer to get what i paid for definately not what it says on the tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars misleading, 2 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a fan of Garth and enjoyed the first x2 books in the series however i felt this one was misleading as the cover suggests this is the third follow on which yes it does have 1 chapter but the rest is random short stories so slightly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. The further stories of abhorsen chronicles looking at ..., 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. The further stories of abhorsen chronicles looking at the other side of the wall in our land and how we are affected by the magic leaking. Over from the other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 4 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories (Paperback)
This didn't really do it for me. I love the Abhorsen trilogy, and this is worth a buy if you do too, but the abhorsen story was the only one in here I really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories
Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories by Garth Nix (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews