Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series gets better and better...
This was a highly enjoyable, and FAST read! An excellent page turner and plenty of fascinating real history woven into the story of Uhtred during the reign of King Alfred in late 9th Century Britain.

The story starts a few months after the end of "The Pale Horseman"(book 2), after the dust has settled from the battle of Ethandun. Although Uhtred was something...
Published on 28 May 2006 by Iceni Peasant

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but not the best performance
I've listened to all of Bernard Cornwell's Saxon series in audiobook format (and read them in hardcover, too) and this is an OK version of book 3. I'm not going to comment on the plot but rather about the reader. If you are going to listen to a book, the reader is as important as the content. The right reader can bring a good story to another level. Unfortunately, while...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by cwooden


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lords of he North, 28 Nov 2013
By 
J. Bradshaw "Jim Radar" (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of the North (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 3) (Paperback)
Cannot fault Bernard Cornwell's writing. Couple of more in the series I think: so will keep on buying until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The third has exceeded expectations and has given me a great read. The story is picking up speed with twist and turns. Cornwell at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 20 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: The Lords of the North (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 3) (Paperback)
The tale is getting better by each book. One of the best books about vikings and England of Dark Ages that I have read. I agree with the previous review, that the "Deus Ex Machina" was an exagerration. However it does not spoil the overall impression.

I only hope that the story will end soon. One or two books maximum, and the job will be well done. I don't like endless stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another piece of Class of cornwell, 27 May 2006
By 
M. J. Newton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the third in the series of the books featuring Uthred. And it is by far the best. You have all the usaul betrayel in the cornwell novels and the twists just keep coming, along with of course all the breakneck action. In short a piece of class. im not going to spoil it bye explaing the plot!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 9 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever Bernard Cornwell delivers a good story all the right stuff,great

characters great villians and a damn good story.

One of Britains finest authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly dull, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Michael Raw (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of the North (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 3) (Paperback)
This is a plodding extension of an already unconvincing series. The further exploits of Uhtred, improbably caught between English and Viking families and societies, simply fail to ignite or generate anything but the mildest interest and tension. The sequence which sees Uhtred sold into slavery is implausible, and seems little more than a pretext for Cornwell to air his knowledge of early medieval trade in the North Sea. Some suspense is generated during the attack on Durham which forms the "climax" of the novel, only to be dissipated by a ridiculous climax in which Viking warriors are routed by dogs. Cornwell's deliberately, and perversely, sour portrayal of Alfred seems intended for effect - and just does not work. Unfortunately, he has chosen a vivid period of English history and rendered it dull and lumpen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to be back, 12 Oct 2006
By 
Jason Mackey (southwest missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am delighted to have found this book available in the UK. I have suffered for nearly a year with no Cornwell book. Now, it feels like I am back home. The writing style is typical Cornwell - excellent.

I have to pace myself and not devour this book too quickly. I am savoring this like a fine wine....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, but....., 19 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Lords of the North (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 3) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed the first two in this series, and anticipated this book eagerly. It's just as atmospheric, violent and pacey as the others.
But, the ending is a cop-out. Uhtred has led his band into an unwinnable position and is sure to be slaughtered. A deus ex machina appears in the form of Ragnar's sister who has gone mad and learnt to control savage dogs. So she tells the dogs to change sides and swings the battle. We aren't told why she didn't use this skill to escape any time in the last few years.
Still, I expect I'll be back to read the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to Bernard?, 26 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Lack "jdl102" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I know there have been good reviews about this series of books on Alfred, but I really felt this was a weak effort of a novel. As a huge fan of Cornwell's Grail Quest and Arthur Sagas, books that I was completely overwhelmed by, this novel has too many dull characters and there is a nasty feeling of deja vu, which I hoped would never happen. Compared to the first two books of the saga, it just didn't flow well or capture the emotions of war as in all other Cornwell books.

Still though, the saga is pretty good and definitely worth a read. Good historical stuff that Cornwell, by and large, is the best at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lords of the North (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 3)
The Lords of the North (The Warrior Chronicles, Book 3) by Bernard Cornwell (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews