Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, sad, very shocking
This is the third Torey Hayden book I have read (the first two were One Child and it's sequel, Tiger's child, both excellent). This book, Ghost Girl, is incredibly moving and extremely shocking. It is hard to believe that this sort of abuse goes on, but it does, and here Torey tries so desperately to help this little girl, Jadie, a pupil in her class for special needs...
Published on 8 Jun 2005 by AliG

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I read my first Torey Hayden book (Somebdy else's kids) a few weeks ago. I thought I would try it as I have read a lot of Cathy Glass books and this seemed in a similar vein, I enjoyed it and so bought "Ghost Girl". Although the story is heart wrenchingly good the actual writing was very hard to follow as the author seemed to jump ahead quite often or switch to...
Published 10 days ago by Sharon Hooper


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, sad, very shocking, 8 Jun 2005
This review is from: Ghost Girl (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third Torey Hayden book I have read (the first two were One Child and it's sequel, Tiger's child, both excellent). This book, Ghost Girl, is incredibly moving and extremely shocking. It is hard to believe that this sort of abuse goes on, but it does, and here Torey tries so desperately to help this little girl, Jadie, a pupil in her class for special needs kids, who is an elective mute but begins to talk to Torey almost immediately. It soon becomes clear that something is very, very wrong but Torey can't quite put her finger on it, and tries very hard to encourage Jadie to tell all. When she eventually does confess to everything that is happening to her and her six year old sister, Amber, and even to her 18 month old baby sister Sapphire, Torey is terribly shocked and unsure what to do, as she has promised Jadie she won't tell anybody of their secret after school conversations. But matters take a dramatic turn - you'll have to read it to find out the rest! I really enjoy reading Torey's books and find them hard to put down once started, and I am about to order 2 more to take on holiday with me! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, but different from her others..., 6 May 2006
This review is from: Ghost Girl: The true story of a child in desperate peril - and a teacher who saved her (Paperback)
I had read One Child and I loved that and I bought the sequel which I have also read. I bought this one as soon as it came out.

This book is about a child called Jadie who is an elective mute (doesn't talk because she doesn't want to) and when she does start to talk, the stories she tells Torey disturb her and draw her closer to her. I don't want to say more as it may ruin it, but it is certainly a mesmeriing read.

As someone else has said, this isn't for the faint of heart. But it depends on that and not your age; I am 15, for example. It did disturb and unsettle me as I have never read anything like this before and everything is detailed.

You really feel for the child, Jadie, and sometimes you can't quite believe what is happening.

Couldn't put it down, and I had to with great difficulty. It is different to her other books due to the fact that it may disturb some people more so than other novels similar to this. This book really makes you stop and think.

Buy it if you already love Hayden but if you are a first time buyer of Hayden, or any other real life reads, perhaps don't go for this one as it is intense. I'd recommend One Child by Hayden instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book I'll never forget, 15 Sep 2004
This review is from: Ghost Girl (Mass Market Paperback)
It's hard to describe the effect this book had on me. But two things remain solid in my mind, firstly the harsh reality that what happened to this young girl happens in reality and far too often and secondly the passion of a teacher who is just not prepared to give up hope in finding the truth.
Absolutely fantastic book that not only captured my attention within the first paragraph but also brought me to tears. When I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down and had to finish reading it the same day. Which is exactly what I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling yet horrible to read, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Rebecca Smisson (Elgin, Moray United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Girl: The true story of a child in desperate peril - and a teacher who saved her (Paperback)
This book is not for the faint hearted. Torey does not hold back when describing the abuse suffered by the children she has worked with. One Child made me cry, Ghost Girl made me physically sick. It's the first time I had to stop reading and come back to it a few days later.
I'm not going to descibe the book's story - just read it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very powerfull and moving book to read, 15 Aug 2005
This review is from: Ghost Girl (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to say this book was very moving and painfull to read.
I could not not stop myself from crying at times as the main little girl in this book called Jadie suffers such horrific sexual abuse it is very hard to read what her and her sister go through.
What keeps you gripped is Torey Hadens love and kindness to Jadie, her concern and determination to get her out of this nightmare. Its very powerfull words.
All i can say is it when you read this it does play on your mind and you will be upset by what you read but on the other hand it shows you there are amazing people like Torey Haden out there helping children escape these kind of nightmares and there are people willing to fight to put these evil people away.
God bless you Torey Haden!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror in Real Life, 9 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Ghost Girl: The true story of a child in desperate peril - and a teacher who saved her (Paperback)
My god!!! I read this book in 2 days. Torey Hayden deserves all cudos going for working with and helping Jadie. This reads like a real life horror and what this little girl reveals could never be made up. A true patience and understanding from Hayden comes through in this book, and whilst at times I felt physically sick reading it I can only imagine how she must have felt hearing these revelations from a young child.Hayden also goes into a lot of explanations about possible outcomes at the end of this book and this makes very interesting and informative reading. It is harrowing, gut wrenching, unbelievable(in the shocked sense) and shocking. DO NOT be put off by this, this book is a truly FIRST CLASS read and leaves you realising that just as thare are bad guys there are an awful lot of good guys too. Hayden is one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 31 Dec 2004
This review is from: Ghost Girl (Mass Market Paperback)
Once again Torey Hayden writes a book that is hard to put down, filled with emotion and makes the reader really think. The story centers on a teacher that tries to help a child through a devastating time in her life. This is a real page turner.
Other books to look for: Nightmares Echo by Katlyn Stewart, One Child by Torey Hayden and A Child Called It by David Pelzer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly moving, 27 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Ghost Girl: The true story of a child in desperate peril - and a teacher who saved her (Paperback)
This was the first novel I ever read of Hayden's and it moved me very deeply.

Talking of a difficult topic it is an emotionally gripping but a very worthwhile novel. You have to praise the work Hayden did with the troubled young girl Jadie was when we first meet her- it shows the work of a true professional.

I will admit that I was moved to tears at several points but found the book very difficult to put down- I read it within two sittings.

An excellent novel which allows a deeper insight into the psychology of the mind and how it can overcome even the worst experiences. It got me hooked on Hayden's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Girl, 23 May 2006
By 
Ms. A. J. Burcham (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Girl: The true story of a child in desperate peril - and a teacher who saved her (Paperback)
Im 19 years old and in my life have read many different kinds of books, from mills and boon to stephen king but no book has ever gripped me like Hayden's ghost girl.

I havent read any of her other books i just picked it up one day and thought it sounded good, i was amazed at how gripping it was and how emotionally involved you get in the evolution of the story, and then to find out its a true story hits you all over again.

Fantastic book, i am definitely going to have to collect her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing & Fighting Shadows, 13 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost Girl: The true story of a child in desperate peril - and a teacher who saved her (Paperback)
Once again Torey Hayden has written an outstanding book about her work with children. This book is mainly about Jadie, who, at 8 is (s)electively mute, walks hunched over and expresses fears that initially seem bizarre.
At the opening of the book, Torey Hayden meets Jadie and her classmates after half term break. Within a short space of time during that first day together, Jadie broke her self imposed silence and spoke softly when asked a direct question. From that point on, Jadie's verbal progress is remarkable. A bright, expressive child, Jadie described a bizarre life outside of the classroom that certainly makes for a strong case for ritual abuse. Luckily Jadie was provided with a classroom environment in which she felt safe.
Jadie feared spiders because she believed they could hear her and "tell on her" if she divulged anything that could be construed as a breach of confidence. She explained her posture as a means of "keeping her insides from falling out;" she fears the number 6 and worries about her younger sister surviving her sixth birthday; she said adults she knew told her how at six one gains power and how people can hurt others with impunity; she describes drinking blood as "oily" and "slipping down." Ghosts and themes of death are trenchant; many of Jadie's early drawings are of ghosts and she said that she and her little sisters were ghosts at night. She also believed that a playmate who had allegedly died had become a ghost and that that child's ghost had gotten into her, Jadie.
Each fear she expressed can be traced to ritual abuse. In many cases, ritual abusers claim that spiders as well as insects spy on children and report anything the children might tell. Imbibing blood and other body fluids is often a cult activity and the number 6 has a long history of having dark magical properties attributed to it. Jadie's fear that her sister would not survive past that age appears to underscore this belief. Her strong aversion for Halloween is another good case in point as Halloween is considered a high holiday in cult circles. Jadie wanted no part of it.
Another point that leans towards ritual abuse was Jadie's sexual precocity and acting out. She described adult acts and even said how she and her sisters were so abused. Although Jadie had a good command of language from the telling, the question remains as to what really took place.
This is a very chilling book that will certainly leave indelible impressions upon the minds of all who read it. It is easy to make good cases for ritual abuse, but that is remains an open question. Jadie was a very brave and soldierly little girl who tried to protect her sisters and explain a part of her life that can at best be described as hazy and shadowy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews