Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!!
Wow -- This book has it all: intrigue, suspense, epic battles, romance, tragedy, bravery, evil, and incredible strength. The trouble is that I can hardly talk about the contents without creating spoilers.

This is the last book in The Alliance of Light, which is the third story arc in The Wars of Light and Shadow, and as a result a lot of sub-plots are wound up,...
Published on 7 Feb 2008 by Angus F. Bickerton

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A long, drawn-out storm
Stormed Fortress completes the third arc of this supposedly five-part series. That this is the eight book of the series should be enough to warn anyone new to the series not to start here; I will assume then that anyone contemplating buying this book has read at least some of the preceding volumes and is fairly familiar with the work. If you haven't, I'd recommend trying...
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by Michael A.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!!, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Angus F. Bickerton (Brockville, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow -- This book has it all: intrigue, suspense, epic battles, romance, tragedy, bravery, evil, and incredible strength. The trouble is that I can hardly talk about the contents without creating spoilers.

This is the last book in The Alliance of Light, which is the third story arc in The Wars of Light and Shadow, and as a result a lot of sub-plots are wound up, and in a way that makes the faithful reader of this series almost explode with each turn of the page. This is easily the strongest book of The Alliance of Light arc. So many loose threads are wrapped up and woven into the tapestry of this series that the reader feels somewhat sated at the end, yet enough is left undone that leaves the reader eagerly awaiting the beginning of Arc IV (as yet untitled). The Wars of Light and Shadow is an epic series with five story arcs. Arc IV and V remain, and will likely total three books (by the author's estimation), to add to the eight already released in this series.

What I find most thrilling about Stormed Fortress, and the series as a whole, is that it is in no way predictable. The villains in this series are multi-dimensional, believe themselves to be on the side of right, and at times are sympathetic. Also, the so-called good guys are not necessarily good all the time. The conflict is a very human one, and is therefore very honest. There is no Dark Lord here, but rather the much more ordinary and everyday human evil, which is perhaps much harder to face. As a result, this read is not escapism, but it is a book (and a series) that makes you better for having read it.

Wurts uses the siege of the s'Brydion fortress of Alestron to focus the conflict between the half-brothers Arithon and Lysaer in such a manner that the conflict really becomes a battle inside all of the individual characters, not just the brothers. This is Wurts' main strength. Her characters are all distinct, and do not remain static from book to book in this long a series, which is a complaint that I have about much epic fantasy. Also, her writing is a rich weaving of words that create a tapestry that is evocative of a time when the reading world was not dumbed-down by text-messaging, e-language and reality television. Her prose is beautiful and multi-layered, her command of the written word is inspiring, and her world-building is unparalleled.

Do not read this book as a stand alone. If you have not read any in the series yet, start with The Curse of the Mistwraith, as The Wars of Light and Shadow is now at eight novels, and it is complex and full of sub-plots and developments that require the series to be read as a whole. It is truly epic fantasy that tackles issues of personal and societal morality, and it is not light sword-and-sorcery fluff. There is even an obvious and yet unintentional parallel with current events in our world, which shows how history so easily repeats itself. To the reader who has not started this series, I am envious of the great first-time reading that you will enjoy. A fabulous book, well worth the overseas shipping .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous journey of magic and mystery, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Shuvra Ray (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a fantastic end to the war of light and shadows arc (but thankfully not the series itself). After a long wait we have what could only be described as a masterful, twisting and at times shocking story which ties together so many threads that Janny has been skilfully weaving since the beginning of the arc. We find out what fate befalls the doomed love of Elaira and Arithon, we witness the destruction of a great power and the revelation of a strong magical counterbalance to the corrupt Koriani. The ending is tragic and uplifting at the same time and the next book is most eagerly awaited. One of the finest works of what is one of the most underrated but most talented fantasy writers of our age. Go out and buy the series... you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying conclusion to this story arc...and hints of things to come...., 15 Nov 2007
By 
J. NELSON (LOS ANGELES, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In this book, the events from "Fugitive Prince" through "Traitor's Knot" concerning the Alliance of Light to destroy Arithon s'Ffalenn are brought to a satisfactory close.

There are plenty of surprising and thrilling plot twists for long-term readers who have been eagerly awaiting this volume.

For those who have not already done so, I recommend starting with "Curse of the Mistwraith" and reading the books in order.

Now begins the wait for the next two story arcs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fantasy Author Of Our Age, 4 Dec 2007
By 
David A. Cornelson (Chicago/IL/USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Janny Wurts continues to prove that she's the best fantasy author today. Stormed Fortress is a beautiful, complex, and riveting story that rivals books like "Return of the King" and Arithon is like a "grown up" Harry Potter (although HP doesn't come close to the depth and complexity of these books). The centerpiece of the story is another confrontation from the Alliance of Light against the clans of Athera and in this one, Arithon finds a new path that shows compassion and farsight, the two aspects of his blood heritage.

I ordered this book from the U.S. because I wasn't going to wait for the local version to be published and I'm glad I did. There are very few authors that I go out of my way for, but Janny is and always will be one of them.

The only problem with finishing one of these books is that I can almost hear Arithon playing a sorrowful tune to signify the adventure is over....for now.

Janny can write one hundred books about Athera and I still will want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long wait is vindicated, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Brian Uri "!" (Northern Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
(There are no Stormed Fortress spoilers in this review but I mention some plot points from Peril's Gate).

Fugitive Prince was released ten years ago to some disappointment by Wurts fans. Following the incredible Arc II of the series (the simultaneously published Ships of Merior/Warhost of Vastmark), Fugitive Prince seemed long on exposition, full of unresolved threads, and lacking a satisfying conclusion. On her website, the author heard everyone's grumbling and pleaded for patience -- this book was NOT a complete story, but the first part in an intricately planned Arc III. The story as envisioned in the author's mind was much too large to fit in a single hardcover binding, and she chose to publish it part by part rather than sacrifice the story's integrity.

Ten years later, the five parts of Arc III are finally complete, taking up nine inches of my bookshelf and proving that the wait was worth it. I paid about $30 for the book and standard shipping to the US (which only took about a week).

Stormed Fortress provides a satisfying and logical conclusion to Arc III, and also deepens your understanding of the other parts (re-reads, as always, will be immensely rewarding). Because this is the climax of the Arc, the action is nonstop, and the pace of the prose fits -- a good balance is struck between Janny's language style (which in the past has been alternately described as beautiful and painfully overwrought) and the urgency of the plot.

I give this specific book 5 stars, and Arc III as a whole 4 stars. I felt that the one stumbling point in the Arc was Peril's Gate. After reading the two parts that followed, I can see that the painful and long transformation of Arithon was NECESSARY to the story, but Janny is such a good writer that Peril's Gate is as difficult to read as her main character's trials were to undergo. (It wasn't the constant doom and gloom and catastrophe that frustrated me -- it was that the world stayed on the brink of disaster for 700 pages and nothing changed). Though I love the series, I feel like this one part could have been trimmed just a little bit -- especially the endless pages outlining magical ceremonies.

Despite this criticism, Arc III worked for me on every level. If the story is a roller coaster, then Peril's Gate is the necessary uphill chug to the top of the hill, and Traitor's Knot / Stormed Fortress are the amazing pay-off.

If you loved the series to date, you will love Stormed Fortress. If you are a disilliusioned Wurts fan who felt like she was just treading water to churn out a million books like other fantasy series authors, Stormed Fortress is the incontrovertible proof that, yes, she knows what she's doing -- it will hit you in the viscera!

If you are a brand new reader wondering whether the intense amount of reading is worth it, I'd recommend starting smaller. The Master of Whitestorm is a good single-book story that shows how she applies her own stamp to cliched fantasy elements. Another easy to read intro is her Empire series (jointly authored with Raymond Feist). If you enjoy those, give Light and Shadows a try! The earlier arcs can still be found in libraries and on the Amazon Marketplace.

For Reference:
Arc I: Curse of the Mistwraith (1 binding)
Arc II: Ships of Merior (paperback split into: Ships of Merior / Warhost of Vastmark)
Arc III: Alliance of the Light (split into: Fugitive Prince / Grand Conspiracy / Peril's Gate / Traitor's Knot / Stormed Fortress)
Arc IV: ?
Arc V: ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exponentially better, 6 Feb 2008
By 
Jeffrey L. Watson (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Each volume in the Wars of Light and Shadow gets exponentially better than the one before because the layers upon layers of carefully laid and woven storyline, back history, and 'science' of this world become more and more clear. This volume, the culmination of Arc 3 of the entire series and the last book in the Alliance of Light, leaps forward and proves that this series is not like any other currently being written. Many of the carefully presented and crafted details laid out in the previous volumes come together in a crescendo that will not disappoint. Yet, I'm sure there are still details waiting to be uncovered in the future two arcs.

In this book, the characters undergo changes and events that will leave no doubt that the author knows where the story has gone before and where it is heading next. If you got waylaid somewhere along the line with this series I recommend you pick it up again, it is well worth both the read and the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Finale, 11 Nov 2007
By 
D. G. Coventry "Derek Coventry" (West Sussex, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It seemed a long summer waiting for this book; but by golly it was well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fantasy fiction as always, 5 Nov 2007
By 
L. M. Renfrey "lmr" (northumberland, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Read the book in a few days (would have been quicker but the real world just kept getting in the way) and found myself totally caught up in the twists and turns of yet another great novel. Janny Wurts as always paints such clear pictures of this world and its characters. Many conclusions reached, but also many new twists to leave us all waiting for the next installment - the one problem when you find an author in the middle of writing a series, it's a long wait till the next fix. Oh well, time for a complete re-read of the wars of light and shadow.... :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Ending to the "Alliance of Light" arc, 2 Nov 2007
This book completes the story arc "Alliance of Light" which is the third arc of five in th "Wars Of Light and Shadow" series.

It wraps up many plot threads starting form the first book of the arc "Fugitive Prince" and the others in this arc. A roller coaster ride of plot twists and surprises that you do not see coming. Characters grow and change from their experiences(some good, some bad) as any good book should. And the attention to detail which is Janny's style is extremely evident. No description is without meaning even if it may not be apparent until further along in the story. One sentence in a book mentioned in book one is explained and expounded upon in the following volumes, especially this one.

I beleive that this one may be her best yet in the series. And the finale of the arc just makes you beg for more in the next book of the series that starts the fourth arc of the "Wars of Light and Shadow".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great book, 2 Nov 2007
By 
From the gorgeous cover art, to the gripping story line, this book does not disappoint. As the final book in the third story arc of this fantasy series, this one holds the answers to many of the questions raised throughout the series so far.

Subtle plot twists are illuminated; and tantalising glimpses of Athera's past history, amidst the ongoing action, explore the personalities and natures of many of the series' most intriguing characters.

The emotion portrayed in this book is its strongest point for me. There is a depth to some of the characters that is only hinted at in the forerunners of this tome.

A read from beginning to current novel in this series is a great adventure. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews