Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars missing book
had books 1 & 3, needed this one to read the full story, held me in suspense, sorry to get to the end
Thanks for a good read
Published 23 months ago by B.M. WILSON

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get in.
The Wandering Fire is the second volume in The Fionanvar Tapestry (starting with The Summer Tree and ending with The Darkest Road).
In Fionavar, Maidaladan, Midsummer's Eve, is approching but an unnatural winter is spreading all over the land. The Kings and Mages are gathering to try to understand the reason of this mysterious cold, and the armies of Brennin,...
Published on 11 Mar 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars missing book, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wandering Fire (Fionavar Tapestry) (Paperback)
had books 1 & 3, needed this one to read the full story, held me in suspense, sorry to get to the end
Thanks for a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The plot thickens! ( b-o.jonsson@hotmail.com), 1 Dec 2004
By 
B. Jonsson "Literate Warlock" (falun, dalarna sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A sequel to The Summer Tree, this book continues the struggles of the cursed lands of Fionavar, where Maugrim's hordes chase all living things, trying to unravel the tapestry, to undo creation as they know it. The giants are attacked and killed by their hundreds, being creatures of peace and not finding it in their heart to save themselves, The Great Hunt ( a loan from Keltic lore) is summoned when it seems a fight is nearly lost, but he wild magic cannot be commanded and it brings destruction to all it encounters. A son leaves his mother to meet his winged companion and kin spirit, a unicorn and they fight fiercely together, ever diminishing the boy's powers..
Two of the worlds most famous fighters are brought into the world, Lancelot and Arthur. With them they bring Guinevere and the treachery and sad stories of old.
Together they unite against maugrim, but is it enough?

I read the book as spellbound and regard it as very good Fantasy! Kay continues to weave the tapestry more intricate by the page and creates a marvellous story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and interesting fantasy with many folklore themes, 2 July 2003
By 
Simon Brooke (Auchencairn, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Middle part of sub-Tolkien Holiday from Amerika trilogy, notable for interesting use material from teutonic and celtic myth, including sacrifice of young man to the sexual aspect of the Goddess. Also interesting use of the Wild Hunt, and integration of Matter of Britain material. What makes me think he was brought up on The Wierdstone of Brisingamen? Could it be because all the themes of that book are here in spades?
This, together with the rest of the Fionavar trilogy, is good, interesting and complex fantasy, but nothing like as good as Kay's later work, such as Tigana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wandering Fire, 29 May 2014
This review is from: The Wandering Fire (Fionavar Tapestry) (Paperback)
This is the second book of the Fionavar Trilogy and it just keeps getting better and better.

This book makes me laugh but also makes me cry ... every time! I won't give out any spoilers but all I will say is that I can't read a whole section in one go without wiping the tears from my eyes. Call me a sap but I love it when I get so involved with a book that I can be made to cry, especially if it's not the first time I've read the book.

Two additions to this book might not sit well with some people and that is of the characters of Arthur and Lancelot. Personally I liked their appearance and it didn't come as a surprise.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 13 Jan 2000
By A Customer
Quite simply, Guy Gavriel Kay is the best fantasy author around. Even in this, one of his earlier books, he is capable of injecting more reality than any other author. He writes complex characters who have believable motives - never the 2-dimensional puppets that occur in a lot of modern fantasy. He writes with poetry and passion and makes you care for his characters - nothing more could be asked of an author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent book, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
this is the second of three fionavar tapestry books. it is very well done. kay is very good at integrating realistic and fantastic elements. i think he could have done a slightly better job of integrating the two main worlds, making the otherworldliness of the main characters more important to the plot. this book imports several mythological characters, while still retaining its own flavor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get in., 11 Mar 2001
By A Customer
The Wandering Fire is the second volume in The Fionanvar Tapestry (starting with The Summer Tree and ending with The Darkest Road).
In Fionavar, Maidaladan, Midsummer's Eve, is approching but an unnatural winter is spreading all over the land. The Kings and Mages are gathering to try to understand the reason of this mysterious cold, and the armies of Brennin, Daniloth and Cathal are preparing for an oncoming war. Back in our world, Kim, now a Seer, summons Uther Pendragon in Stonehenge to help her wake his son Arthur in Glastonbury Tor, and crosses with the latter to Fionavar, for he is the legendary Warior who'll help them fight against Rakoth the Unraveller.
Meanwhile, Jennifer secretly gives birth to Darien, the fruit of Rakoth's rape, and puts him in the hands of Vae, Finn's mother, to hide and foster him. On the plains, the Dalrei try, not without great difficulty, to protect the last herds of eltors from the attacks of the monstrous wolves of Galadan, the Wolflord.
I was looking forward to reading this book, I really was. Having gone through the rather tedious introduction of The Summer Tree, I thought this one would start right on with more suspense and fast paced action (although I also enjoy highly desciptive books, such as Tad William's Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series, which I highly recommend, by the way). But it doesn't.
Indeed, I found Kay style's awkward and irregular, and the plot messy and somewhat grotesque at times. It's like he was afraid of revealing too much and enrobed his story in numerous unnecessary and confusing elements that did nothing but slow my reading down. Maybe, had I known the story of Arthur, I would have liked it more.
However, the book also has some good bits, even though I had to wait half the book before the story became interesting, and in the end I can say I enjoyed it. Let's just hope The Darkest Road becomes gripping quicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you thought the Summer Tree was good then try this....., 27 Feb 2000
By 
Nicholas Elliott "nicholaselliott1" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The second book in the Fionavar Tapestry is another delightful read, fantasy doesn't come any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Black Sheep of the trilogy, 7 Oct 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wandering Fire (Fionavar Tapestry) (Paperback)
So, you have read 'The Summer Tree' and you are suspensfully running to the shop to get the second in the trilogy only two find out two quite annoying facts about this book:

a) It was written after the format of The Lord of The Rings. Sure, artists are influenced by other artists. But the pattern is clear to see here: Book one everybody gets together and the meet, the plan is laid out, people know what they're going to be doing and the quest begins. Book two, something terrible happens, the company breaks up and they have to fight their way back together. Book three, plain old closure, battle between good and evil, good thrives, bad guys-usually ugly trolls, ogres and orcs- run back to their caves with their tails between their legs begging for forgiveness. Box standard. Kay does not digress from the golden formula that has worked for so many others.

b) After an excellent first chapter this book becomes infinitely boring. The only story that sticks to mind (aside from one of the long lost characters being found again and chapter after chapter of unnecessary love stories and multiple yawn-generating strategic warfare details) is when Kay, for lack of a better idea, brings actual mythical and historical figures into the novel. I can accept his effort to make the point of how everything in every possible world is connected through some Karmic energy sense, however, King Arthur being revived in this story just made me laugh.

Good news is, it's the shortest of all books, and if I decided to read the whole trilogy again, I just wouldn't skip that one. Give it a try but be warned: it's the cheesiest of the three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wandering Fire (Fionavar Tapestry)
The Wandering Fire (Fionavar Tapestry) by Guy Gavriel Kay (Paperback - 4 July 2011)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews