Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make time to read this
While Longitude is, on the surface of it, a book about scientific endeavour, its appeal is due to the story of a man's struggle against the prevailing thought of the time and the board set up to judge the award for the discovery of a method of determining longitude which was full of people with vested interests. The determination and drive of Harrison is awesome; if...
Published on 15 Mar. 1999

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs More Diagrams
I enjoyed Longitude, but it would be better with even a few diagrams to explain some of the details of Harrison's clock making breakthroughs. I couldn't form a picture just from reading the text how his gridiron pendulum allowed for temperature changes, but I'm sure it could have been explained quite easily with a diagram and a reference to basic physics. The recent...
Published on 12 Jan. 1999


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant biography, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longitude (Paperback)
I'm not really that interested in naval history but Sobel makes this a fascinating read, have read it 4 times, and went to visit the Harrison clocks in Greenwich when I was there, to pay my respects after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book that details how we mastered the waves..., 4 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Longitude (Paperback)
Britain stands as an island and has what can only be described as a proud naval history. Longitude details the extraordinary story of the most challenging problem to face any seafarer, calculating their exact position at sea. To dominate and rule the seas, the nations of Europe all looked at ways to solve the longitude problem, leading to some wild and strange proposals. Focusing on the two main theories, the book details the fight between the self-taught watchmaker Harrison and the astrological ideas of the likes of Haley. A fascinating story, well written and utterly engrossing.
A thoroughly enthralling book that gets a definite thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longitude (Kindle Edition)
Love this book, have read it many times and am still amazed at the skill and dedication of those early watchmakers and the giant leap that their work made in the art of navigation that saved so many lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Concise, informed and entertaining though some of the phraseology ..., 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Concise, informed and entertaining though some of the phraseology is slangy.

Note re your website. I would rather you did not try to tell which county I live in. It is not Dyfed as you insist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Longitude is a very interesting read., 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Longitude (Paperback)
Longitude is a really fascinating. It is only really of interest for those of a slightly scientific or with a historical interest. Read it you'll be amazed at the dedication of one man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Longitude, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longitude (Paperback)
One man's fight against all odds - and the establishment ! Harrison was a genius in the watch & clock making field. This book is a must ! Well written & well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longitude (Paperback)
We meet a couple of holiday, who told us we must read this book. Ordered it on holiday and arrived soon after we got back. Great packaging. Very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Product Description, 30 Dec. 2011
This edition (ISBN-10: 1857027140) is SOFTcover not HARDcover as claimed. In all other respects the product description is accurate. But be warned!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longitude (Kindle Edition)
Really good read; having a Father who was a watchmaker, I grew up being fascinated by time; it was a pleasure reading this book from cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, hard to put down, 13 July 2013
By 
Roara74 (Darwin, NT. AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longitude (Paperback)
Great book and a serious lesson of an aspect of history, Dava Sobel did a great job with it and have gifted copies to many other friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Longitude
Longitude by Dava Sobel (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews