Customer Reviews


299 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable is what it is
Dan Jones makes it clear to the reader in his intro that this history of the Plantagenets is a long read, but he isn't apologetic and neither should he be because this is a thrilling, informative, enthralling experience. If we have preferences in reading then I would say I am a reader of literary fiction and poetry who likes to read narrative history as a change. I have...
Published on 29 July 2012 by M. Jefferies

versus
82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good narrative history
The aim of this book is to tell the story of the eight Plantagenet monarchs that ruled England between 1154 and 1399. Each monarch in turn has his story told; which wars he fought in, the land he gained and lost, who he married and who were his children.

In his prologue, Jones tells us his intention with The Plantagenets is to tell the story in an entertaining...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Sarah


‹ Previous | 113 14 1530 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Heartily recommended, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant. If only all history books could be as well written as this one. Made the period and the characters come alive. The author succeeds in telling the story of the Plantagenet dynasty in a straightfoward and vivid fashion.The pages flew by as I was impelled to find out what happened next. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent fact filled read but at the same time not just a list of facts and dates for the "serious" historian. This book gets inside the lives and personalities of the plantagenets and their relationships with family and followers. While being educational this book is also a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenets (Paperback)
Terrific.....and so easy to understand important events in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 July 2014
This review is from: The Plantagenets (Paperback)
What a fantastic book, i couldn't put it down! This is perfect as a way into the Plantagenets for the man on the street, it goes into enough detail to give you a decent working knowledge of the period but without getting bogged down in the minutiae. Can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the English, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenets (Paperback)
A stunning book which condenses nearly 400 years of history in an eminently readable, even exiting way. Oh had school history books been llike this. This book is a must for anyone who wants to understand the origins of the English nation and the roots of English imperialism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Plantagenets, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suitable for anyone interested in the history of our kings prior to the house of York and Tudor.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and it showed the relationship between each of the kings.

A quite long book but definitely worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best-written history that I have read. It is so easy to understand and reads almost like a novel. I did get slightly bogged-down during part of the Black Prince's time in France and Spain, but would certainly recommend it as a text-book in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers what you need to know., 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantagenets (Paperback)
Only read the first three chapters,but keeping my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Plantagents was easy to read, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
David Griffin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really engossing. The Plantagents was easy to read. I am interested in History but I did not expect this book to enthrall like a novel, Dan Jones tells his story with a light but serious touch. I would recommend this book anyone who is interested in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable over view of the Plantagenet period and a good starting place If you want to read more. The genealogical tables are aweful; look like poor photocopies. Other than that I enjoyed it and will probably read more by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1530 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Plantagenets
The Plantagenets by Dan Jones (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews