Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some pages more unseen than others!, 30 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
I got this book for Christmas and settled down for a good read. A minor gripe, but unfortunately, pages 187-192 are missing. There is a note: "The publishers apologise that, for copywright reasons, pages 187-192 were purposefully(sic) omitted. The content of these pages was purely pictorial."
A couple of other photos also seem to be captioned wrongly.
On the whole, however, an interesting book for any fan of Eric Morecambe, showing the private side of this much-loved man whose life was cut short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Morecambe, A True Gentleman And Comic Genius, 11 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
This Book was given to me as a Christmas present several years ago, and I read it over the festive season and made up for the fact that I should have sitting on the couch watching another 'Christmas Special'. Eric was no longer with us since that fateful year of 1984.
It gave a great insight into the private and family man, and I came to the conclusion, that I got what I expected - a true gentleman, even off screen. I had read The Autobiography Of Morecambe and Wise about 1974 which I found hilarious, as it told of their early meeting as young men scrimping and lodging together (..and sardines on toast...don't forget the sardines on toast) that particular book was aimed at the masses of fans, as their show was riding high on the telly, and told in typical Morecambe and Wise conversation style.

Obviously this book is all about the public and private Eric who was never really one hundred per cent satisfied with their routines and strived to do better (How can you improve on perfection?) Always worried about money, not for himself personally, but wanting to make sure his family were OK. I have read quite a lot about M & W, and I have yet to hear a bad word spoken about the man.
Personally believe his loving and caring nature resulted in him being taken from us much too early. If you really want to learn a litte more of 'The Tall One With The Glasses'...then this is for you.

Cherished memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic collection, 10 Jan. 2007
By 
Royale "Mies" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a great book from William Cook (who also did two great books on Peter Cook, and one on Peter Cook and Dudley Moore). The words are relatively familiar, but it is the stunning memorabilia and photos that make this a must for fans of the comedy legend. Well worth adding to the collection. And apparently there is another to follow this year on both Eric AND Ernie. If I have one snipe, it is that the book in paperback format is slightly small. Been better if in full coffee-table size. But it didn't dampen my pleasure much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Biography, 29 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
I thought it was great - and mine had *all* the pages in tact! For those missing 187-192 they were: photo of the boys & Joanna Lumley and a letter of condolence to Joan from Russ Abbott: The remaining pages are photocopies of letters of condolences from people such as Penelope Keith, Judy Dench, Henry Cooper, Peter Bowles and many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Gold Hero, 21 Feb. 2008
This book has one shining message - that Eric Morecambe evoked such love and affection from all who knew him and all who knew of him that there can be no greater tribute. If you cn find it, try to get hold of footage of him on a Christmas World of Sport with his old mate Dickie "The Mallen Streak" Davies. It's inspired TV and very little shown despite the beautiful anarchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Any Fan, 1 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
Much of the biographical information contained in this book has already been covered (and, indeed, is sourced from) previous biographies. There are some new interviews with Joan and Gary Morecambe (among others) but as someone who has read many books on the subject of Eric and Ernie, I am happy to say I was never bored by any part this book. I found it a compelling read, and in particular the previously unpublished photographs, notes and diary entries by Eric himself were fascinating. This gives a wonderful insight into the private side of a much-loved comedian, and I was frequently laughing out loud when reading it, and moved to tears by the section covering his final heart attack. A shame about the missing four pages - I just wonder what the photographs were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNSEEN and well worth a read The life and times of ERIC MORECAMBE, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
Carl De Rome - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
well its 30 years since John Eric Bartholomew passed away, one of the greatest parts of a UK comedy act ever
and what a book this is..... if you like Morecambe and Wise in particular Erik you will love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Extra for Fans, 17 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
I got the book this Christmas and enjoyed the photographs in particular.Look out for the picture of Eric with his mother-in-law,both with their spectacles off-set.
As has been said by other reviewers,the text covers most of what you will have heard before;but it is always worth reading a different writer's take.As an introduction to Eric Morecambe and his life and career it is excellent,particularly at this price for a hardback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Biography, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
Loved it. Was in condition as it was second hand and it was a good buy good buy and arrived in very quick time. Have no issues what so ever. Enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing back the sunshine!, 30 Jan. 2006
By 
Royale "Mies" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs (Hardcover)
I got this as a Christmas gift and as a lifelong fan of the great double act, was thrilled at the new photos spanning some seven decades! There must be over two hundred photos in the book plus loads of memorabillia. Well worth having for any fan of British comedy, or those interested in the history of light entertainment. Apparently there's another book done in the same style of Eric and Ernie in the not too distant future, according to an interview I heard. Already looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs
Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs by William Cook (Hardcover - 3 Oct. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews