Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daily Prayer of the Church
The Divine Office is time honoured and tested method of prayer that offers a thorough grounding in Catholic worship outside the mass. The 'breviary' as it is known is prayed throughout the world and, once mastered, you have the assurance that your prayer is part of the official (Roman Catholic) church's glory and praise to God.
There are three volumes of the Divine...
Published on 4 Dec. 2007 by L. Taylor

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars divine
pages quality poor, you can see on the other page some letters- pages to thin, some pages not quite right cutted. the cover has "wrinkles". i need this item, but quality very poor, if i compare to my polish one version- huge difference.
Published on 27 Feb. 2011 by Marcin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daily Prayer of the Church, 4 Dec. 2007
By 
L. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
The Divine Office is time honoured and tested method of prayer that offers a thorough grounding in Catholic worship outside the mass. The 'breviary' as it is known is prayed throughout the world and, once mastered, you have the assurance that your prayer is part of the official (Roman Catholic) church's glory and praise to God.
There are three volumes of the Divine Office. Volume One covers Advent and Christmas tide. Volume Two covers Lent, Holy Week and Eastertide. Volume Three (this one)covers Ordinary Time.
Included also are many writings from different saints as well as the official church calander.
As with all worthwhile prayer, The Divine Office takes time, but with faithful dedication it will become a very rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third volume of the Divine Office, 2 July 2009
By 
Les Bamber (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
Excellent buy. Very clear print and very easy to use, once you've learned to navigate around the book. Excellent aid to getting involved in the daily prayer of the Catholic Church. All that at a generously discounted price. Well done Collins and Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIVINE OFFICE - VOL III, 15 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
THE DIVINE OFFICE IS A RICH TREASURY FOR PRAYING THE HOLY SCRIPTURES.
A few minutes of your time spent each day praying in this way is time very well spent.
DON'T MISS OUT - TRY IT FOR YOURSELF!
Cal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third volume of the Liturgy of the Hours, essential for Catholics, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
(I've added some photographs (under "Customer images") of the book you actually receive.)

This is the third (of three) volumes of the "full" modern Catholic breviary, the Liturgy of the Hours; volume 1 covered Advent and Christmas, volume 2 Lent and Easter, and this one effectively covers the rest of the year: it's this one that will accompany you through the summer and autumn.

These volumes are the pinnacle of a whole range of Collins books featuring content from the Liturgy of the Hours in the same style. In ascending order of size, it goes:

- "Shorter Morning and Evening Prayer"
- "Morning and Evening Prayer"
- "Daily Prayer"
- "The Divine Office" (3 vols)

Each of these is effectively a step up, an expanded version of the last. There's no need for anyone to own all seven of these books, as the Divine Office contains everything in Daily Prayer, which in turn contains everything in Morning and Evening Prayer, etc etc; each time you step up, it renders the previous step redundant.

This, the three-part Divine Office set, is the full-length version, the biggest of the lot. Between them, they contain everything that's in the smaller volumes, plus a lot of extra material - the introduction and user guide (the "General Instruction") is in volume 1, but all three contain many hours of prayer for each day of the year, as well as a healthy sampling of hymns, poems and prayers for specific purposes.

The main draw here over the cheaper single-volume "Daily Prayer" is the fantastic Office of Readings, which gives a scriptural reading (different from the readings at Mass, drawn from a variety of different English translations and sometimes featuring selections from books which don't feature at Mass at all) and a non-scriptural reading, often a homily or commentary on the preceding scripture reading, for every single day of the year. You also get alternate (extra) readings for the Proper of Saints for England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and Australia, many of these readings providing very useful biographical or autobiographical material on a given saint as a complement to that day's Mass.

For me, these readings are among the best parts of the whole breviary, and so these books are absolutely worth getting. This one is beautifully produced, crisply printed with six ribbons and a dark brown hardback cover - I don't agree with other reviewers' comments that the cream paper is too thin, it's not particularly opaque but actually feels quite a bit sturdier than most Bibles and Missals I've owned. (See the photos I uploaded for a better idea).

I can't imagine living without these books now, and I recommend them without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Liturgy of the Hours, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
I bought this book to have access to the Office of Readings (also called Matins) as I was already in possession of Daily Prayer (which contains all the other hours). It's the thickest volume of the three and quite weighty. The US version, split into 4 volumes, is perhaps more portable - but their bible translation is poor. (Yes, even worse than the Jerusalem Bible!)
For those already familiar with the other parts of the Office, this is the next step up. Giving access to a greater quantity of scripture and, particularly, writings of the Saints and other selections. It can serve as a springboard to further study, for those who are interested.
Delivery was acceptably efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The basis of daily prayer, 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
This beautifully produced divine office is part of a three volume set that offers structure to ones daily prayer, either for personal contemplative prayer or a community gathering. It allows you ease of flow through the divine office, alongside clearly defined sections for liturgy of the hours, feasts and memorials. Although is is a rather thick book, it is not excessively heavy, and it is bound with a stunning cover. A must have for regular daily prayer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable aid to prayer, 2 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
I am delighted with this copy of the Divine Office Vol 3. Like all Amazon purchases it is very good value for money - the copy is like new and I got it at the best price on the web. I now need to buy Volume 2! It has everything one needs for praying the Daily Office at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful devotion, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
It's a very beautiful holy book with psalms and the readings of the day which I particularly like. I use this book with devotion everyday. I'll be purchasing volume 1 definitely for advent and Christmas period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 July 2013
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
This book has transformed my prayer life - it is a fabulous resource for anyone wishing to engage more deeply with prayer, scripture and the tradition of the Church. I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected, to replace my book that ..., 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover)
Just what I expected, to replace my book that I have had for years and was beginning to show signs of wear and tear. Prompt delivery, as always. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3
Divine Office Volume 3: v. 3 (Hardcover - 3 July 2006)
£50.00
Usually dispatched within 11 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews