Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daily Prayer of the Church
The Divine Office is time honoured and tested method of prayer that offers a thorough grounding in Catholic worship outside the mass. The 'breviary' as it is known is prayed throughout the world and, once mastered, you have the assurance that your prayer is part of the official (Roman Catholic) church's glory and praise to God.
There are three volumes of the Divine...
Published on 4 Dec 2007 by L. Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Why so pricey?
Being only the size of an average hardback book, I don't really see why this has to be so pricey. I was expecting a flexible leather bound edition as the price and description led me to expect something of the quality of the CTS leather bound and gilt edged weekday Missal, but it appears on the Harper Collins website that it is only published in the hardcover which I...
Published 6 months ago by Teesa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daily Prayer of the Church, 4 Dec 2007
By 
L. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
The Divine Office is time honoured and tested method of prayer that offers a thorough grounding in Catholic worship outside the mass. The 'breviary' as it is known is prayed throughout the world and, once mastered, you have the assurance that your prayer is part of the official (Roman Catholic) church's glory and praise to God.
There are three volumes of the Divine Office. Volume One covers Advent and Christmas tide. Volume Two (this one)covers Lent, Holy Week and Eastertide. Volume Three covers Ordinary Time.
Included also are many writings from different saints as well as the official church calander.
As with all worthwhile prayer, The Divine Office takes time, but with faithful dedication it will become a very rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The liturgy of the hours, part 2, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
(I've added some photographs (under "Customer images") of the book you actually receive.)

This is the second (of three) volumes of the "full" modern Catholic breviary, the Liturgy of the Hours, this time covering Lent and Easter. The other two volumes cover Advent and Christmas (vol 1), and the rest of the year (vol 3).

These volumes are the pinnacle of a whole range of Collins books featuring content from the Liturgy of the Hours in the same style. In ascending order of size, it goes:

- "Shorter Morning and Evening Prayer"
- "Morning and Evening Prayer"
- "Daily Prayer"
- "The Divine Office" (3 vols)

Each of these is effectively a step up, an expanded version of the last. There's no need for anyone to own all seven of these books, as the Divine Office contains everything in Daily Prayer, which in turn contains everything in Morning and Evening Prayer, etc etc; each time you step up, it renders the previous step redundant.

This, the three-part Divine Office set, is the full-length version, the biggest of the lot. Between them, they contain everything that's in the smaller volumes, plus a lot of extra material - the introduction and user guide (the "General Instruction") is in volume 1, but all three contain many hours of prayer for each day of the year, as well as a healthy sampling of hymns, poems and prayers for specific purposes.

The main draw here over the cheaper single-volume "Daily Prayer" is the fantastic Office of Readings, which gives a scriptural reading (different from the readings at Mass, drawn from a variety of different English translations and sometimes featuring selections from books which don't feature at Mass at all) and a non-scriptural reading, often a homily or commentary on the preceding scripture reading, for every single day of the year. You also get alternate (extra) readings for the Proper of Saints for England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and Australia, many of these readings providing very useful biographical or autobiographical material on a given saint as a complement to that day's Mass.

For me, these readings are among the best parts of the whole breviary, and so these books are absolutely worth getting. This one is beautifully produced, crisply printed with six ribbons and a bright red hardback cover - I don't agree with other reviewers' comments that the cream paper is too thin, it's not particularly opaque but actually feels quite a bit sturdier than most Bibles and Missals I've owned. (See the photos I uploaded for a better idea).

I can't imagine living without these books now, and I recommend them without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Why so pricey?, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
Being only the size of an average hardback book, I don't really see why this has to be so pricey. I was expecting a flexible leather bound edition as the price and description led me to expect something of the quality of the CTS leather bound and gilt edged weekday Missal, but it appears on the Harper Collins website that it is only published in the hardcover which I received. A little misleading on Amazon's part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still serving its purpose - but, 18 Mar 2014
By 
P. D. Peterken "Father P" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
I bought the Divine Office (3 vols) when it first came out in English, and it has served me well, but now after nearly 40 years I need to replace them (one by one). This edition is nicely produced, happily sold well below the RRP of other booksellers, but it would have been nice if by now the publisher could have produced an updated version, including Propers for the many Saints canonized or upgraded since the 1970s - some quite important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
Top quality and inexpensive. This book is used every day. I received it in amazingly quick time. I recommend everyone to read it and pray with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value Product, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
I purchased it as a full set (three volumes). I got it for a good price and I found no compromise in quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
Who could not like this purchase full of very Rich dialogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great order for prayer, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
Great read and a must buy to advance your faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOOK OK, 10 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE FROM THE SELLER.
JANE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly handled by publisher, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 (Leather Bound)
I'm still waiting for a further work on my complain! The volume is supposed to be replaced due to failing pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2
Divine Office Volume 2: v. 2 by Collins Uk (Leather Bound - 3 July 2006)
£50.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews