Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2006
PROS

- Each word entry has an example. It is drawn from Collins' bank of English with 2.5 billions of real Englis words. This help the readers to use the word in natural expression and grammatically correct. So far, it's the only dictionary that offers this useful feature. It has saved me from hours of frustration while writing technical documents and correspondence.

- You get two dictionaries for the price of one! It comes with a Dictionary CD rom containing the printed copy of the dictionary TOGETHER WITH pronunciation and 5 millions words of real English. This means you can look up the words, pronunciation and examples very quickly. This is a unique offer.

- It is well organized. Each word entry is printed in blue. Its definition is in black.

- The price is unbeatable for such a good and comprehensive dictionary.

CONS

Once in a while, there is a word with unclear definition. At that time I have to consult another dictionary. But after that I have to come back to Collins dictionary for examples.

In short, this is the BEST that YOUR MONEY CAN GET. I wish I had it while I was in school. Every high school and college student should have one copy.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
This is the earliest and still the best of corpus-based dictionaries, meaning that everything in it, especially all the examples, are taken from a database of currently-used English. Many other publishers have brought out corpus-based dictionaries (usually called learner's dictionaries), but this one still tops them. One key feature is that definitions are written as a full, natural-sounding sentence, the way you would paraphrase a word to a friend. This makes for much easier reading and comprehension, plus it demonstrates the normal way a word is used. The examples are chosen to highlight typical uses and words typîcally used with the main word (collocations). It's overall user-friendliness is outstanding. The grammar information itself is clever and uses the minimum amount of grammar jargon to give you the information you need. The CD-Rom version included is easy to install and to use (my adult students are very enthusiastic, and many have put in onto their office PCs as an everyday resource). In brief, this is a dictionary that understands the needs of today's English language user and learner and delivers it in the most accessible way. The additional features in the most recent sixth edition seem to meant to align it with other learner's dictionaries and go for a less austere look: adding more colour, pictures, and boxes with various bit of extra information. If this seduces more people, fine. But the basic reasons for using it are still the same as explained above.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
This dictionary has a different feel from the Longman and the Oxford advanced dictionaries. The authors have been scrupulous about inclusiveness to learners and their needs. Its conversational non-technical approach sometimes works (GOOD: Entry 5 - A good idea, reason, method or decision is a sensible or valid one,) but it sometimes results in convoluted explanations when a spade would be better called a spade. (GOOD: Entry 4 - If you describe a piece of news, an action, or an effect as good, you mean that it is likely to result in benefit or success.' Surely it would be better to say: '4 likely to result in benefit or success,' then examples or collocations.)

This kindness to everyone seems to include not telling us who's to blame for Americanisms. We are alerted to US spellings, but we are not told that 'goof' is American slang, and that good=well is American and bad grammar in English, and a common mistake. E.g. *the business is doing quite good here. How are you? *Good, thanks. It may well be that this is compensated for by all the corpus examples, and this may be a better way of learning and, if you can decipher them, there are good parts of speech flags in the margins, but sometimes you don't want to do deep research, you just want quick answers and to be alerted to likely mistakes, as a teacher and as a student. I don't know about anyone else, but I rely on learner dictionaries to counteract the tide of language impoverishment that's happening. Collins is too permissive for me.

For my money though, this is one of the top three, and the cheapest of those. Perhaps it's the best value all round and it certainly teaches by constant repetition 'if' phrases followed by indirect reporting using 'that'. "If you say that it is good that sth should happen, you mean that it is desirable."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Like the fact that it comes with a CD that you can download onto your PC. Well worth it and would definitely get the upgrade when available. It is really good for those who have dyslexia as it pronounces the word for you so that you can hear it - love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
I like it very much. Delivery is very quick. There is no misprinted or missing pages. High quality! It is very useful since there are examples in the dictionary and pronunciation in the CD. Strongly recommanded product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
A book that every school should have. A great resourse for children to access as very clearly explains what words mean. I use it a t work with children who have speech and language difficulties. Buy it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I bought the dictionary back in March. It's only just now that I realized that there were pages missing. If you start at the beginning and go up to page 40, you then jump to page 73.
John
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2009
A good dictionary,detailed but not too much...it doesn't have some new words but in the end it's a very good dictionary! i reccomended it!;-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
This is a must for anyone striving to get a good command of the English language. All the words are explained in an easy-to-understand way and most importantly, in which contexts they are used, which a conventional, bilingual dictionary usually fails to do. Where needed, the difference in usage between American and British English is displayed.

As a translator, I regard this product as an invaluable tool for the purpose of producing idiomatic English. Highly recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
This is The Dicionary for advanced learner's of English as a foreign languages. Clear explanations and extremely complete. You won't regret the money — it's an investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse