Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely...
In this book Bryan Gallagher reminisces about his life growing up near the shores of Lough Erne in Fermanagh. Every chapter is quite short and contains a different story. It's a beautiful book and very easy to read. The innocence of the country people living in the 40s and 50s is told and shows how witty they were even when they were trying to be serious. I highly...
Published on 28 Mar 2006 by yeneewsekim

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars no show
Never received it i waited for quite a few weeks never got the book just awaiting an apology from amazon as i am a regular customer this will change after this episode
Published 8 months ago by john hamilton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely..., 28 Mar 2006
In this book Bryan Gallagher reminisces about his life growing up near the shores of Lough Erne in Fermanagh. Every chapter is quite short and contains a different story. It's a beautiful book and very easy to read. The innocence of the country people living in the 40s and 50s is told and shows how witty they were even when they were trying to be serious. I highly recommend this book. Anyone who enjoys this will also enjoy Frank Delaneys' 'Ireland' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful read, 27 Jun 2006
Bryan Gallagher, an occasional contributor to the late John Peel's "Home Truths", on Radio 4, reminisces about growing up in rural County Fermanagh in the forties. A time of poverty, deprivation, ignorance and yet love, joy, humour and music. This was a sparse yet close-knit community, where schoolchildren more often than not went to school barefoot, where there was no radio, TV, phone, electricity. Cars were a rarity. One is struck by how recent it was and how much life has changed - but we've also lost something. You don't have to be Irish or old or to live in the country, to appreciate this - these short stories would appeal to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful timeless stories, 31 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Bryan Gallagher has brought together what amounts to a local history and beautiful storytelling. The stories have a timelessness and depth that fit every community. This isn't just about Ireland wherever you live you will connect with this gem.
Buy, dip into and enrich your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing intriguing account of a Childhood in County Fermanagh, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barefoot in Mullyneeny: A Boy's Journey Towards Belonging: Complete & Unabridged (Audio Cassette)
I had read this book in paperback, but the audio version is just absolutely fabulous..... read by my old School Principal, the author himself it transports you right back almost live to his boyhood to the event of the day or night, when many of his stories happened amid the townlands and villages of lovely Fermanagh...... an account of his life growing up, his family, community, and the Starlight Showband made up of many short stories about events, some utterly hilarious while others more reminiscent and sad. As he reads the books aloud you realise he's not actually just reading from print, but fondly taking a trip back in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars no show, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never received it i waited for quite a few weeks never got the book just awaiting an apology from amazon as i am a regular customer this will change after this episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barefoot in Mullyneeny, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Teresa Molloy (Belfast, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection of short stories written by a very gifted author. I wish all my reading experiences were as enjoyable as what I had with this/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great humour written from the heart!, 4 Mar 2013
Please write more!!!! The stories were gripping and magical and told in that unique Irish way!

Could read over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Journey, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To mirror the above quote, this is an 'utterly charming and beautiful book,' I too, cannot recommend Bryan Gallagher's collection highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. Funny, true and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews