Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and gripping read
I was given this by a friend who accidently purchased two copies with her Amazon 'one click'! I took it on holiday to Brasil with me (!) and loved it. I thought it was a well written book that presented some otherwise impossible to understand data in an entertaining and enjoyable way (if reading about how the end of the human race might look like can be called...
Published on 16 Dec. 2009 by J. Nicholson

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A different approach with some merit.
The book attempts to show how different rises in temperature for the century will affect us.

It is readable and informative, and thought-provoking. It's flow, however, is interrupted by continual references to the same consequences which were mentioned in previous (degree) chapters, and give the impression that the references were inserted in a slightly tired...
Published on 10 Mar. 2012 by Acts5v29


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The future if we continue to act stupidly, 19 May 2010
By 
A. Cotton "AJR" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet (Paperback)
An interesting easy to read book. I'm relatively well informed with regards to climate change and issues of sustainability so nothing in this book should really come as a surprise. Nevertheless its discomforting to have it laid out so clearly. This book is worth reading and passing to people who need nudging and their eyes open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Degrees, 26 May 2010
By 
Everybody should read this book, as it shows what has happened and why, what is happening now, and what WILL happen IF we dont do something about the problem now, all Americans should read it, as most are still living in the dark ages over there, most likely because of all the fossil fueled smog that have to endure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done., 31 Dec. 2009
By 
Jamie Osborne (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet (Paperback)
The 2007 IPCC AR4 report predicts a potential increase in global mean temperature before 2100 of between 1.1 and 6.4 degrees C.

That's a broad range...? Why the uncertainty? What do these numbers actually mean? Surely 6 degrees is not such a big deal - we have that kind of difference every week, right?

Popular science writer Mark Lynas has done a Herculean job of sorting through all the reports, scientific papers, climate model predictions etc, and breaking down what these mean in terms of one degree C increments, in terms that everyone can understand.

The book is primarily six chapters, starting at "One Degree" and building up to a truly terrifying "Six Degrees". There is also a brief introduction, conclusion, and more than 50 pages of notes and references...

The conclusion, entitled "Choosing our Future" is particularly well done. Poignant and impassioned, yet measured, pragmatic and very cautiously optimistic... It avoids the pithy platitudes that you often find in such books.

Lynas has done his homework, and he's a good writer. If you want to understand what the science really means to you and your children then add this one to your cart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, timely book - shame about the cover, 5 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet (Paperback)
If the publisher's idea of putting such a sensationalist cover on the paperback (A London version of "The day after tomorrow" film poster) means more people will read this book, then fair do's, but I can't help feeling that this only serves to trivialise the content, which deserves to be taken a whole lot more seriously. Exteremely well written, this reads like a thriller with lots of evidence presented here that backs up the necessary speculation using present day examples of areas already affected by climate change.

One caveat would have to be that this book may only preach to the converted and I can only hope that perhaps the cover will encourage the odd stray sci-fi fan in to read this book, but I don't think people are as easily fooled as that.

Also, I believe that all books dealing with climate change need to be read along side others that take alternative points of view. It is clear that there are still many different views on this issue and it seems to me that the argument now has to be what do WE do about climate change. One starting point for this might be "The Hot Topic" by King and Walker, which offers some possible solutions in an easy to read and digest way and I would also recommend various works and articles by the so called "skeptical environmentalist" Bjorn Lomborg who has, it is fair to say, some alternative views on the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A disturbing read, 4 Sept. 2007
This book makes the reader really aware of the global warming issues in a non sensationalist but chilling manner.

Indeed as you get further into the book the horror of where we are and the (almost) inevitable consequences of doing nothing are rammed home.

Before reading this i thought that getting carbon emissions under control was all that was necessary - i now realise that we actually have to take steps to undo what has already happened.

Chapters 4 to 6 are terrifying but sadly seem based on events of many hundreds of millions of years ago - a little more linkage to current events would make it harder to deny the possibilities.

A very necessary book, but waht are world leaders both the politicians and the business leaders doing? Or is it all a case of we'll get by - it's the next generation's responsibility.

The book never mentions the cost of sorting out the problem but i get the impression it's not a few points on our tax but more a case of several tens of thousands of pounds for every man and woman in Europe and North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worrying.. .Very Convincingly Worrying, 26 May 2008
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet (Paperback)
Yes, it's a book that forecasts apocalypse if we don't change our profligate ways, and we will all be consigned to an environmental hell for not taking our responsibilities as stewards of this planet seriously- and don't 'say that Mark Lynas did not warn you!!
Yeh, and if you would like to hide in the security blanket that this is just another 'green rant' then sorry folks - the issue itself will not go away, so give this book a read.
Why?
For start he bases his arguments by devoting a separate chapter to various scenarios, i.e. One Degree Warmer, Two Degrees and up to Six.
I would suggest to even the most casual of readers that by the time you get to 'Two Degrees' you will at least be thinking 'Oh dear' (and either become very worried or so annoyed that you start thinking up arguments as to why he is wrong- you hope).
That aside, it is a very gripping read as one travels from very worrying One Degree warmer to the Fearful Six Degrees.
And a very clear and concise account for the ordinary reader.
OK Mr Lynas is not 'qualified' but he has produced a very detailed work with a good amount of commentary based on the Earth's history. Yes, some might be hyperbole because the writer wants to get his point across. But that is not the issue...
This is....
Even if just one-quarter of what Mr Lynas asserts is true then we had better pay attention to how each of us is treating this planet and its resources. He has convinced me!!
One niggle I must agree with - the cover. A scorched desert bone strewn desert might have been more accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than a degree of understanding, 21 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet (Paperback)
As Lynas says, most people have no idea what the rises in the temperature might mean. And nor did I till I read his book.

Excellent book for people who don't get science or figures (like me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 17 July 2007
By 
Mrs. R. Dean (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well researched and presented in an accessible way that clearly points out the consequences of each extra degree we add to our planets temperature. Lynas describes what can be done to prevent disaster as well as explaining processes such as methane hydrate release. A rise of 6 degrees, he argues, would cause human extinction.

The only thing I would change would be to add a summary at the end of the book that simply stated the consequences of each extra degree, so you could go back and remind yourself instead of going through the book again. However, on the whole, a good and important read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, eye opening and captivating, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book; it seemed well researched, had a fabulous writing style and presented a complex set of issues very clearly without diluting them.

I liked the structure of splitting the impacts of global warming into degrees rather than the usual time lines as it made it so much easier to visualise.

It is scary stuff though and sad to think that if, as seems likely, it is right we are probably already too late to avoid at least 2 degrees of average warming. Through our own greed and laziness we have badly damaged the only world we have and the futures of our children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you wanted to know about global warming but were afraid to ask, 29 Mar. 2007
By 
Mark Lynas has created the essential motivator for doing something about global warming - a degree by degree account of what will happen TO US if we chose to maintain our carbon hungry lifestyles. Doing something about climate change used to be about doing something for our grandchildren or some distant generation. Not any more. The message of this book is: Make a retirement plan folks - cut out the carbon and you might just have something to look forward to. What I like about this book is that it doesn't pull any punches and yet it positively suggests that we would all be better off living a low carbon lifestyle anyway. Our homes would be nicer places to live in, our streets would be cleaner and more people friendy, our local cultures would be stronger. Yes the predictions of the book are nightmarish but as Mark points out they are not inevitable. It is up to people living now to make a difference. The next eight years are critical. Start by getting hold of this book and move on from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet
Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet by Mark Lynas (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2008)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews