Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan does it again!
I highly recommend this lively version of one of AC's most atmospheric novels, read by the incomparable Joan Hickson. Her Carribbean accent may not convince all listeners (!) but JH gives the story a lovely period feel, which will remind many of her TV performances. Tropical sunshine, pearly beaches and chilling murder - what more could you ask for?
Published on 5 Dec 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't make this your first foray into Agatha Christie
I first read this book about ten years ago and thought it was mediocre. I didn't pick up another Agatha Christie book (based on that experience of boredom) until very recently, and only because I really like the Poirot mystery series on TV. The Poirot character is far more interesting and entertaining than Miss Marple in this slow-paced mystery. I'd only read this if...
Published on 12 Mar 1997


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan does it again!, 5 Dec 2005
By A Customer
I highly recommend this lively version of one of AC's most atmospheric novels, read by the incomparable Joan Hickson. Her Carribbean accent may not convince all listeners (!) but JH gives the story a lovely period feel, which will remind many of her TV performances. Tropical sunshine, pearly beaches and chilling murder - what more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in paradise, 9 July 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jane Marple is on holiday in the Caribbean paid for by her nephew Raymond West. She loves the weather and it is working wonders with her rheumatism but she is just a little bored. Nothing much happens in paradise but her curiosity is piqued when Major Palgrave, who is telling her a story about a murderer, suddenly puts the photograph away that he was going to show her and looks as though he's seen a ghost. The next day he is dead and Miss Marple is in her element as she recognises the types of people among her fellow guests who remind her of people in her home village of St Mary Mead.

I particularly liked some of the characters in this well written mystery especially the irascible Mr Rafiel and his attendants as well the Hillingdons and Dysons who seem to be friends who do not always get on well together. There are plenty of clues and plenty of red herrings before the murderer is finally revealed by means of some clever deductions by Miss Marple and Mr Rafiel.

This is not St Mary Mead but it is entertaining reading with an interesting background and Miss Marple proves herself to be as resourceful as ever even if her age is catching up with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Ever AgathaChristie Novel... DefinitelyNot My Last!, 18 Mar 2004
This review is from: Caribbean Mystery, A (Hardcover)
Amazon’s two-sentence synopsis was perfect. Enough to intrigue and not enough to spoil. Although, I must admit I was apprehensive on reading this particular novel once I found out it had Miss Marple as the main protagonist. The reason being that I felt that the Belgian Hercule Poirot (being a lot younger) would be more accessible than an old English lady!
My initial feelings towards Miss Marple are best summarised by one of the characters in the book, Mr Rafiel, when commenting on her: ‘Never been much of one for the old. All knitting wool and tittle tattle’. My (initial) feelings exactly. However, the further I got into the book, I eventually came to the same conclusion as Mr Rafiel: ‘But, this ones got eyes and ears, and she uses them’. Yes, she does use them… and to amazing effect as well.
Miss Maple’s witty dry humour (especially when we hear her inner thoughts - something that is lost in the TV shows); her sly ways of extracting information; and her skills at juggling all the clues made me a fan of hers immediately. For me it was a thoroughly enjoyable read and I am looking forward to reading many many more.
-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Mystery, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Poldy "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
On holiday in the West Indies, Miss Marple knits, chatters, and listens. One of the stories she listens to is told by an old major, a man who is killed before he can complete his story.

This is not one of Ms Christie's most compulsive stories - the change of scene makes for an interesting read, but the pace is too slow to maintain the necessary tension, the events unfolding with little sense of urgency.

As we would expect from an Agatha Christie mystery, there are clues and red herrings galore, and none of the characters is quite what he or she seems to be. Despite the change of setting, the character of Miss Marple is the same as ever, direct, incisive, unstoppable. It is here that the concept of her being the personification of the Greek figure of Nemesis is first introduced; Christie obviously liked the idea, as not long afterwards she wrote a sequel of sorts under that very title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best but interesting, 18 April 2012
By 
Andrew Dalby "ardalby" (oxford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Miss Marple has been sent on holiday to the West Indies by her nephew but her hotel stay turns out not to be a peaceful one as just after telling Miss Marple about a murderer the hotel bore a retired colonel is found dead. Nobody except Miss Marple suspects foul play as he had high blood pressure and he did drink rather too much. Then when there are more deaths at the hotel it becomes clear that there is a murderer amongst the guests.

This is Miss Marple in the 1960s and Agatha Christie as well. So there is more comment about the social changes that are going on and how different it is from the days of Miss Marple's youth. She is not saying that it is change for the worse, it is just change. Miss Marple is more cynical and dark and sees the darkness in people. She sees more of the bad side and is less optimistic about how people behave (this might be because of the body count she has met in her career). She is much more worldy even when she is pretending not to be.

The mystery is not too hard to work out and as Miss Marple says to herself at the end she had been stupid - yes very by missing the most important clue! But while it is not as good as And Then There Were None it is still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Marple solves a mystery on the Carribean sea., 6 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This is a gripping book.The classic Agatha twist at the end is superb, and the way miss Marple solves it is lovely.In a beach resort,a man who nearly shows MissMarple the photograph of an uncaught murderer is killed,and the photo is gone.It's upto miss Marple to find out who the killer was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out Of Her Element, 29 Nov 2003
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Miss Marple is sent to the West Indies by her nephew Raymond West who hopes the sunshine will help her rheumatism and speed her recovery from a touch of pneumonia. While there she stays at the Golden Palm Hotel. In a conversation with retired Major Palgrave she hears a story about a murderer who may be nearby. The discussion is interrupted and before Miss Marple can learn more the Major is murdered. She sets out to solve the mystery utilizing her best weapon which is conversation. Away from St. Mary Meade or similar environments, however, Miss Marple is out of her element and without her usual friends and contacts to discuss the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't make this your first foray into Agatha Christie, 12 Mar 1997
By A Customer
I first read this book about ten years ago and thought it was mediocre. I didn't pick up another Agatha Christie book (based on that experience of boredom) until very recently, and only because I really like the Poirot mystery series on TV. The Poirot character is far more interesting and entertaining than Miss Marple in this slow-paced mystery. I'd only read this if I were desperate (which I was when I read it again after all these years.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and fun, 16 Jan 2010
Reading AC is like watching American sitcoms or eating fast food. You know it's not good for you, and it's really a bit of a waste of time, but oh-my-goodness, it is fun. I read this in two evenings and found that it stands the test of time quite well in terms of its plotting. Like all Christies, the characterisation by modern standards is scant, but that's made up for with some lovely period dialogue - although some of the attitudes and phrases are a little less than modern (the term 'working like blacks' is used - ouch.) Overall, good fun as usual and a speedy and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty slow pace, but good, 29 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This is a good Agatha Christie, but it has a terribly slow pace. If this is your first time reading her work, don't read this book. Read one with excitement in it, so you can see Agatha's best side of her writing. There is a lot of imagery and description, but not a lot of suspense or dead bodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Caribbean Mystery (Miss Marple)
A Caribbean Mystery (Miss Marple) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 6 Mar 2006)
£9.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews