Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Mystery as You'd Expect
It's no secret that no one in St. Mary Mead likes Colonel Protheroe. He is strict, somber, and by the numbers. But when the vicar returns home late for a meeting, he's surprised to find Colonel Protheroe shot through the head. The local police are called in and two people confess. Yet something doesn't seem quite right. Fortunately, Miss Marple lives next door. With...
Published on 12 May 2005 by Mark Baker

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A comfort blanket
'There is no detective in England equal to a spinster lady of uncertain age with plenty of time on her hands', so say hello to the debut of Miss Marple. This is Golden Age crime writing in an upper Middle Class world of cut-glass accents in a chocolate-box English village.

And oh my! What is Len the vicar to do about the chap with his brains blown out in the...
Published on 14 May 2009 by Officer Dibble


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Mystery as You'd Expect, 12 May 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's no secret that no one in St. Mary Mead likes Colonel Protheroe. He is strict, somber, and by the numbers. But when the vicar returns home late for a meeting, he's surprised to find Colonel Protheroe shot through the head. The local police are called in and two people confess. Yet something doesn't seem quite right. Fortunately, Miss Marple lives next door. With her sharp mind talent for learning gossip, she just might make sense of everything that's happening.
Ok, I confess. I love a good cozy mystery but have yet to read much Christie. I can tell I need to change that. This book had me confused from the get go. There were so many red herrings it was hard to tell what was really happening. Yet it all came together at the end in a logical conclusion.
Agatha Christie is a class mystery writer for a reason. Anyone who loves a good puzzle with a surprising conclusion will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Murder at the Vicarage, 18 Feb 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This first Miss Marple mystery is deceptively gentle, with much of the story narrated by the mild mannered vicar. When he returns to the vicarage to find the body of Colonel Protheroe shot in his study, the vicar becomes involved in the murder investigation, aided by his neighbour Miss Marple. There is a wonderful list of suspects, motives and false trails along the way, until Jane Marple untangles the threads and makes everything clear.

Not only is this a masterfully plotted story, but it introduces us to St Mary Mead and a cast of characters who will become familiar friends in later books. There are surly housemaids, ne'er do well poachers, gossipy old ladies and crotchety old men in abundance. As Miss Marple is keen to point out, you can see all of life quite well in a small village and nobody understands the undercurrents of life quite like she does. Wonderful fun, well written and utterly delightful, if you have never tried this series, this first book is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A retreat to a simpler world, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I love Agatha Christie and have a particular fondness for this book which, I think, is the first outing for Miss Marple. It's 1930 and someone has shot the unpleasant churchwarden, Colonel Protheroe, in the vicar's study. But is it his ethereal daughter? His wife with her own secrets? The sexy young artist? Or the organist who might have been embezzling the church funds? Not even the vicar and his ditzy young wife are immune to suspicion and we shouldn't forget the mysterious and possibly sinister stranger in the village, or the local archaeologist who appears to know less about his profession than he should...

As usual Christie keeps all her balls in the air, and here adds to the fun with a chorus of nosy old village spinsters. And she still manages to pull the rug out under our feet with clues, red herrings and a final solution which only Miss Marple can see. Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle but brilliant, 24 Feb 2004
By 
Suzanne Moore "Suzanne" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This isn't the most widenly known Agatha Christie book but it is one of my favourites.
A cleverly thought out plot that is full of red herrings! I love the way Miss Marple is always figuring things out just before the police especially Inspector Slack!
Even though this is a gentle story with no big shocks or gun battles this story keeps me hooked as well as keeps me coming back to it time and time again.
It's clever enough to keep a person intrigued but not so clever that you have to really concentrate to know what is going on.
This book is a fantastic at showing how observant and how well Miss Marple knows 'human nature'. A must read for all Agatha Christie fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Mystery, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Dr. S. Rashid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Murder in the Vicarage is one of the most perfect mysteries ever written. It not only introduces Miss Jane Marple but also introduces the reader to Miss Marple's beloved village. Not only are you reading about an almost unsolvable mystery but you are also discovering the village life where Miss Marple has honed her detective skills.

Colonel Protheroe, a person universally disliked, has been murdered. Whilst we try to follow the plot and untangle the suspects, you can't help sympathising with the gentle vicar. You also can't help being amused by the industry of Inspector Slack. The main magic of this story lies in the charm of the village which is beautifully depicted. This is one of my favourite Agatha Christie mysteries and I re-read it every year. It never loses its enchantment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is how it's done!, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Chris Miller (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I went back to this after reading the norwegian novel 1222 which is pithced at a homage to miss marple (among others) it is the first miss marple book, which I'd not read before. It suffers a bit for that reason - it later books she is such a clear and well defined character. here there is a lot of setting the scene and introducing her when as a reader you (probably) feel you know her quite well already. but you can't beat the book for the good old classic english country village feel. a step back into the past and, of course, a very easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Agatha Christie Murder Mystery!, 3 Oct 2011
Miss Marple has spent years observing people in her village Saint Mary Mead and this makes her a great amateur detective. It comes in useful when Colonel Prothero, an unpopular resident of the village is found shot dead at the vicarage by the vicar.

Next door to the vicarage lives Jane Marple who was working in her back garden when the murder took place. The vicar, Len Clement starts to look into the case and keeps Miss Maple updated on what he discovers.

This is a well written murder mystery. It introduces a lot of characters who live in the village and there are several red herrings to keep you guessing who the murderer is.

The book was published in 1930 and it does show its age. It describes village life where everyone knows each other and some have servants, which is not the case in most parts of the country now.

Although the story is dated I enjoyed reading the book. Miss Marple is a great character and it is interesting to read how she links the clues to human nature in order to unveil the murderer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Start For Marple, 11 Sep 2007
This is the first Agatha Christie book with Miss Marple as the main detective, and it is really good. I found this book extremely gripping and I was curious to find out who did it.

It is about the unpopular, Colonel Protheroe, getting murdered and his body being found in the clergyman's study. The vicar narrates this story and shows an interesting perspective of the case. It seems like a straightforward enough case, until one of the prime suspects confess, and then the other suspect confesses. This seems like a good solution to Inspector Slack but miss Marple is not so sure and she decides to investigate.

The case must be solved out of such clues as, a smashed clock, the correct time for the murder, people hearing a bullet that didn't sound like a regular bullet, the reason for the confessions. There are lots more clues. What starts off as a straightforward case, turns into something far more complicated.

This is a great book and it is really interesting to see all the clues fit together, and watch miss Marple make sense out of a seemingly impossible case. Anyone who likes miss Marple novels should definitely read this, because you will almost definitely be baffled by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More tea Vicar?, 9 April 2010
By 
P. Nicholls "LookingLikeBruce" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Ms Christie in full flow...
There are so many twists and turns your neck will hurt!!
As normal red herrings galore and mis-direction all the way, but yet again a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MISS MARPLES FIRST OUTING, 28 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple) (Hardcover)
THIS IS THE FIRST FULL LENGTH NOVEL TO FEATURE THE RIGHTLY POPULAR MISS MARPLE. AS EVER WITH MRS CHRISTIES BOOKS, WELL DESCRIBED CHARACTERS, EXCELLANT STORYLINE AND SUB PLOTS. PLEASE DONT GO BY THE RECENT ITV MAULING OF THE MISS MARPLE STORIES, THE BBC VERSION WITH JOAN HICKSON WAS FAR FAR SUPERIOR,AND THE NOVEL ITSELF IS SUPERB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple)
The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 12 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews