Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vital piece in the Manchester United jigsaw, 19 Feb 2006
By 
P. Hargreaves (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every so often a book is published which actually adds to the history of Manchester United as opposed to merely restating what is already known. Such a book has just been published.
'The Lost Babes' is an excellent book, which provides some missing pieces absolutely essential to the Manchester United jigsaw.
As the years pass the number of people who can remember the events of 1958 reduce. And many of those left struggle to get the grey matter working properly. It is thus vital that such books are written whilst there are people around who are capable of providing accurate information which gives both a correct picture and, significantly, an accurate perspective.
Jeff Connor has done such a job and I hope that you will take the time to read his book. You might find that it gives an insight which you do not currently have - you certainly won't unless you are over fifty years of age. The book does not put either the Club or certain individuals in a good light, but that does not surprise me one little bit. One of our most celebrated ex-players, now a director, is shown in his true colours. But then, I've known that for a very, very long time.
I commend this book to you. It gives information which cannot easily be found elsewhere with regard to to some key issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, disturbing, poignant, heart-rending story of the babes (and their families) post Munich, 10 Dec 2006
By 
I've been a Man Utd fan all my life. My late dad never spoke about Munich, and reading this book was like the education I never received at home.

With intimate insights into the lives of individuals affected by the Munich disaster, Jeff Connor carefully and respectfully brings to life the grief and trials post Munich; he contrasts the club welcoming publicity about the disaster with their attitudes to the families living with the consequences - sometimes living hand to mouth.

It is clear that the Busby Babes are not the only former football stars who feel let down in retirement, especially in the reflection of Rio Ferdinand and his generation earning 7m a year (more in a week than they received in total over nearly 50 years!) Connor, however, charts a careful course between the rocks of sentimentality and the cliffs of rage at the maltreatment of his fellow man (and boyhood heroes).

I, for one, was deeply moved by the experience of reading this book. I recommend it to all Manchester United fans, particularly younger ones who only remember the eras of Beckham and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly atmospheric account of immortal side., 9 Feb 2006
By 
A. Thorpe "crossan8" (Cheadle Cheshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Speaking as a Manchester City supporter of 43 years this is the best factual football book I have ever read, it gives life to names known only from my childhood, without spoiling anyones enjoyment I personally would urge any reader to firstly read the final chapter first as this puts a clearer perspective about the author.
I read the book in less than 2 days as it was to use an overused phrase 'unputdownable', it is not a Manchester United basher on the contrary it is critical of certain individuals who are or were connected to the club.
I,having read the book feel as if I personally knew those who died and also those who survived.
It is the only book that when finished I would want to start reading straight away again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing new angle, 18 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Babes: Manchester United and the Forgotten Victims of Munich (Paperback)
There are a large number of books written about the Busby Babes and the tragic air crash of the 6th Feb 1958 such that it is difficult to imagine anything new being said. Jeff Connor approaches the topic from a slightly different angle. He has the express aim of describing the unfair treatment of some of the families, the "Forgotten victims of Munich" as the sub-title describes them. To be sure he finds some individuals (notably Gregg and Wood - what is it with goalkeepers?) and families who feel let down but in general I read into this reaction the lasting sadness of loss, rather than outright anger at the club. In the event nothing Manchester United could do, would be enough would it?

Putting this focus aside, I found the book really well written and informative. Connor gives space to some of the less feted Babes (Viollet, Blanchflower, Jones, Bent) and tells their stories without neglecting the stories about Duncan Edwards, Gregg and Charlton. What struck me in the end though, however hard to face for a staunch United fan, was that the Busby Babes might not have been the legends they now are if they not been struck by tragedy. Liam "Billy" Whelan had lost his place to Charlton, Roger Byrne was aging, Wood was losing his place to Gregg, Pegg was out of the side, Geoff Cope was a permanent sub, Scanlon survived but was never a really top player and so on.

In the end maybe the Busby Babes were protected from the harsh realities of football by the fact that they never reached the point of being dropped, replaced and sold. On the other hand see what Charlton achieved and think what Edwards, Taylor and Colman might have done. A really moving read for any United fan with an eye to history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars boks, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Babes: Manchester United and the Forgotten Victims of Munich (Paperback)
These i bought for my husband. Delivery first class.i live in southern ireland and the only way to get a wide choice of books is to buy online. Before using amazon I tried once to ask my local bookshop to order one for me and I had to wait 5 weeks!!
Thank goodness I found amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opener, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Babes: Manchester United and the Forgotten Victims of Munich (Paperback)
This was a birthday gift from my boys to their Grandad. He got straight into it and has been amazed at some of the information in it that he was so unaware of. It sheds a new light on how MU treated families and players. A great read for all football fans who know of this tragedy - a book that certain;y makes to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Babes, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must read book for Manchester United fans by Jeff Connor. The Munich Air Disaster was the greatest disaster the club suffered, and was felt by the entire nation. This book tells the story of the 'Lost Babes,' those who survived the crash, but as Connor explains were largely forgotten by the club. There are always two sides to a story in every situation, and this one asks to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Babes: Manchester United and the Forgotten Victims of Munich (Paperback)
Very sad, it is a well detailed document and gives the reader a balanced view of the greatest team produced by united bar none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars such a sad story, 3 Dec 2012
By 
A. Dumbleton (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Babes: Manchester United and the Forgotten Victims of Munich (Paperback)
having heard my dad talk about the busby babes, this book was an insight to the lives of footballers when all they wanted to do was play football without being paid mega bucks. the sad loss of so many young talented lives was very movingly told and the aftermath of the disaster. Once i started could not put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative and moving, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Lost Babes: Manchester United and the Forgotten Victims of Munich (Paperback)
This is a brilliantly well written book, thoroughly researched and sourced, and tells the narrative of what happened in a really engaging, accessible way. It's not over-sentimental, but is intensely moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Babes: Manchester United and the Forgotten Victims of Munich
9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews