Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
114
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book is the most comprehensive text I have come across , both from the number of species discussed and the wonderful illustrations . The Author is quite definitive in his treatise on each tree and as covered a wide range of variants .
I find it useful for my work as an Engineer , where I have possible issues with trees near buildings . This book will allow me to determine fairly accurately which tree I may be dealing with .
Otherwise the book is highly interesting reading .
It is indeed encyclopaedic in content and is a worthy companion of anybodies bookshelf .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
This is the perfect companion to any one interested in trees, or who, like me work in the forestry/ arboricultural industry. Great photos, explanations and advice for both winter and summer recognition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
As a US botanist, I recommend this for anyone wishing to identify and get more than the usual information about trees. I wish our field guides were as good! Short of out of print and multi-volume works, I've not seen better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
having bought cheaper field guides in the past, which just didnt work for me, i decided to get myself this one, as i have seen other books in the series, and have been very impressed (especially the birds of britain and europe). I wasn't disappointed, as this guide covers a huge range of native british trees, as well as non-natives and hybrids. has an excellent section on winter tree id, which has been very helpful, and also covers indispensable characteristics of trees such as bark texture, leaf structure, fruits and flowers.

can't really ask for much more from a field guide to be honest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
This is a very comprehensive and erudite work more of the text book variety than "common or garden" field guide; but if you, like me, really want to identify trees then this excellent book is for you.It goes way beyond most "tree spotters guides" and also includes hybrids and popular imports which are notoriously very hard to ID. The illustrations are beautiful and accurate and the introduction scientific and informative. Well worth the money. In fact if they do a larger size in this book, spend a bit more and buy it You will not regret it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
As someone who works in aboriulture, I must say that this book is a godsend. It identifies with good graphics every tree in Britain and Europe, their leaves and bark. It goes with me everywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
I use this book in UK, Europe and Asia and its great. Discovered a tree I was puzzling over is a Siberian Elm. Really like this book. Not many good tree books and happy to chosen this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
In my opinion the best tree guide out there, helps with identification by bark and twigs as well as by leaves, lovely detailed illustrations showing all parts of the tree, a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
I bought this book to identify two trees. It worked very well.
They were: Swedish Whitebeam and the Common Alder.
There are more trees than this inside though. Lots more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
A very good guide for the indentification of trees. With good drawings, about the leaves, flowers, fruit. Just a bit heavy to carry with you on the spot.But an excellent guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)