Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Addictive Puzzler
I first found Su Doku while browsing through the Times one day and thought that it looked a bit different from the usual crosswords and chess puzzles that I am not really interested in. Simply put, you must place the digits 1 through 9 into a 9 by 9 grid that is split into 9 3 by 3 boxes. However, each digit must only appear once in every column, row and seperate box and...
Published on 30 Mar 2005 by D. J. Wilson

versus
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something for a long journey
For everyone who has become obsessed with the number quiz in the back of The Times - this contains 100 of the puzzles with a selection at all levels. If you struggle with crosswords this may be a better alternative although with only 100 quizes it won't last long!
Published on 31 Mar 2005 by L. Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Addictive Puzzler, 30 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
I first found Su Doku while browsing through the Times one day and thought that it looked a bit different from the usual crosswords and chess puzzles that I am not really interested in. Simply put, you must place the digits 1 through 9 into a 9 by 9 grid that is split into 9 3 by 3 boxes. However, each digit must only appear once in every column, row and seperate box and you are only given a handful to start with. Using logic you must deduce where each digit goes.
This book starts with a short introduction by the author about the rules of su doku and a couple of simple methods however his main advice is to develop your own techniques to solve the harder Su Dokus.
To begin with there are 4 'Easy' grids to lead you gently into the puzzle before 26 'Mild' where you start using more complicated techniques. 45 'Difficult' follow which are personally my favourites as they are tricky enough to keep your brain on its toes but are not taxing enough to mean you are stumped. Finally there is 25 'Fiendish' grids which are exactly that, fiendish. All are solvable using the numbers provided it just isn't that obvious how! I am really pleased to solve a 'Fiendish' and have maybe done about 10 so far. This is such a broad spectrum of difficulty that however long you have you can choose a puzzle to suit you. Finally an answer section is provided as a quick means of checking the whole grid without going over each row, column and box to check for repeated numbers.
Personally I do my grids by copying them out onto paper as the beauty of Su Doku is you can come back to a puzzle and start as if you have never seen it before because you don't remember the positions of the 81 digits so grids can be done again and again. I must recommend pencil especially for the harder ones and I have found myself many a time rubbing out a whole grid realising I have two 5's in a box.
Overall I have found Su Doku to be very stress relieving and quite a lot of fun. A great way to wind down at a night and a puzzle you can do anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addicted, 9 April 2005
By 
Miss B. Archer "rereader" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
This book is great for those who are addicted to Su Dokus and need more than one a day. I've really enjoyed the book, and the vareity of levels mean that it is easy to progress through the levels. These are really good fun, and great for all ages- I'm 15 and am thoroughly addicted, as are some of my friends, and all of my family! It's a great way to test your brain but also really good fun! It's also really satisfying to see how you improve through the book, and how the length of time it takes you changes.
My only negative point is that i seemed to have problems with more of the difficult ones than the fiendish, but that may only be me!! Definately worth buying, and if you're not sure whether it is the thing for you then buy a copy of the times to check (if you want an easy one then buy it on monday, they get harder through the week!). I hope that this is helpful, and that you enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 21 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
Normally I'm not one to tackle puzzles, but when I discoverd Su Doku I found it easy, and yet challenging. This book, shows how to play, and useful tips which will aid you discover the hidden numbers. Also there are a vairety of dificulties.
Once you start you won't want to put this down untill you solved the puzzle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Number Puzzles, 27 May 2005
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
Su Doku bk. 1
First of all, a Su Doku is a number puzzle that contains 81 small squares, and 9 large squares. To make the explanation simple, the goal of the "Su Doku" is simply to put numbers from 1-9 in squares. Also, There has to be the numbers 1-9 in each column and each row. There cannot be duplicate numbers in a box (if there is a box with a 2 you cannot put in a 2) Su Doku's are very hard and DO NOT DO THEM IN PEN! You will have to erase numbers many, many times when you discover that you have 2 '8's' in a box etc. This can be rather frustrating but that, of course, builds you concentration and helps you stop giving up so easily.
The name is right: once you get into it, you are addicted, and you do one almost everyday. There are four levels: easy, ntermediate, hard, and fiendish. Trust me: if you buy this, you will want to start at easy. Easy is not easy. Intermediate is slightly harder than you think. Hard is close to fiendish, and
fiendish is just FIENDISH!
The 'Times' su doku bk. 2 have come out and they are just as good (and hard). The 'TImes' Su doku bk. 3 will be coming out also.
Logic and concentration is required here. It also helps build logic and concentration in one thing for a long time. They are also rather fun to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Try These In Pen!, 17 July 2005
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
For anyone who doesn't know, Su Doku is basically a number cross word originally from China but has been featured recently every day in the Times newspaper and has become incredibly popular. There is a big square, which is split up into nine smaller squares and then within each of the nine squares, there are another nine even smaller squares. So in total there are eighty one squares. Certain squares have numbers (1-9) already in them and these cannot be moved or changed at all - they are fixed. All you have to do then is put in more numbers (1-9) in every other sqaure so that in every column there are the numbers 1 to 9, although not nessasarily in any order. There must also be the numbers 1 to 9 somewhere in every row also.
Maybe it doesn't sound to difficult on paper but believe me these are not the sort of puzzels you do in five or ten minutes - they will a lot longer. Its not too difficult to get a few columns done however it then gets tricky when you have to do the rows that overlap them because you find that you have to change most of the numbers and then the columns don't work and so on and so on... There are four levels: easy, intermediate, hard and fiendish. A begginer will almost definately start on the easy ones however a more experienced person at Su Doku may want to try some intermediate, hard or if you really are good, fiendish.
Its not too hard to see why Su Doku has taken the puzzle world by storm. It requires logic and a good head for figures might also help, while some how still manages to be entertaining and addictive. It can also be quite frustrating especially when you think you are close, but then find that you have to change a number, which means that one row is wrong etc etc.
Overall, if you enjoy crosswords and other types of puzzles or want something to keep you busy whilst on the rain to work or something, then i would highly recommend this official book from the Times to keep you occupied. If you already have this book then there is also book 2 and book 3 also availble, so theres plenty to go at. If you don't want to buy the book then you could still try a Su Doku as they are in the Times newspaper every day anyway. Remember though: do not try these with a pen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlike many others, a good sudoku book, 27 Nov 2005
By 
S. Jones (Huntingdon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
Having tried some other sudoku books, many have problems with quality control and making unique solution puzzles (i.e. puzzles that you can finish with a single solution). Don't buy blind, check your book for quality before wasting time on badly designed wanna-be puzzle writers. These guys have got it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 8 July 2005
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
Su Doku, a harmless frolic that will captivate many. The much-discussed puzzle book has brought another enormous wave of anticipation, thus it lumbers atop the crossword dynasty! Critically acclaimed by The Times, Wayne Gould presents a collection of 100 puzzles with dramatic flair that will harness the fans. The book requires logic, yet it is still enjoyable. That the book is suitable for all ages, will only underpin its addiction grandeur. I definately recommend this for everyone as it will be merely conducive to the brain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logic....., 5 May 2005
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
The name is right: once you get into it, you are addicted, and you do one almost everyday. There are four levels: easy, intermediate, hard, and fiendish. Trust me: if you buy this, you will want to start at easy. Easy is not easy. Intermediate is slightly harder than you think. Hard is close to fiendish, and fiendish is just FIENDISH!
Logic and concentration is required here. It also helps build logic and concentration in one thing for a rather long time. They are also rather fun to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 14 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
Decent. Nicely categorised by difficulty. Didn't seem to be any mistakes. Bit expensive though.
Nothing really to complain about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for killing time, 13 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Times Su Doku (Paperback)
I find su Suko puzzle great for killing time over the holidays. Let's face it, you can't spend two weeks eating turkey and drinking egg nog. This book has really helped me space out the beinges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Times Su Doku
The Times Su Doku by Wayne Gould (Paperback - 7 Mar 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews