Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written nearly 40 years ago but still relevant
This book needs to be read in the context of the time in which it was written - late 1960s - early 1970s. Were things different then? You could be forgiven for thinking that not much has changed today. Yes we have anti sex discrimination laws and equal pay laws but have things changed for the better? More married women work outside the home - some of them in better...
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by Damaskcat

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and sadly as angry as you might expect.
I reread this back in summer 2008 and found it dated, angry and exactly the sort of book to stereotype "angry feminists" by, which is a pity as there is much to commend this work. This isn't a book that presents a balanced argument of the issues, it's one designed to preach to the converted.

Although I am surprised it's not garnered more reviews on...
Published 7 days ago by Mr. G. Earley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Arrived early, perfect condition, an absolute must read for anyone interested in developing their knowledge and passion for feminism. Read it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Men Should Read This Book, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Ms. Greer has often stated that her specialist subject is the Obvious. In conversation and in print, she observes modern society and comments on what she sees. We might have cause to doubt her judgement (is a bedtime kiss between father and daughter a sexual act?), but we can always trust her to be considerate and insightful.

'The Female Eunuch' is one of those books that has become infamous. Depending on whose opinion one respects, it is either a passionate cry for the emancipation of Western Woman, or a psychotic, misandrist manifesto. None who reads this book can honestly say that they take neither position. This is perhaps the secret of its longevity.

As a man, I found the book revelatory. Ms. Greer's description of a typical, urban, married woman could easily apply to my mother. Passages on the 'middle-class myth of marriage' resonated deeply, especially because I reject the idea for the very reasons that Ms. Greer cites. It is as though the author read my mind and described my neuroses.

Please read this book. Ignore the critics. Come to your own conclusions. That would be all that Ms. Greer has ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dissapointing, 28 Oct 2003
By 
Ms. D. Hutchison "dorrie79" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Paperback)
I had been looking forward to reading this book after hearing how Germaine Greer has influenced so many women throughout the years. I was, however, dissapointed. This book would have been something different when first published in 1970 but now her opinions are stale, bitter and unrealistic. I think that many of the points raised are thought provoking and the book is generally well written but not one for the modern day feminists among us.
An interesting read all the same though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I read this book two years ago and it made me cry. I finally decided to buy it, and didn't regret it at all. Everyone should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for everybody, 28 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Paperback)
I discovered how little we know ourselves. This is a book every single woman should read before too late and, also, this is a book every MALE should know about.Let's have it free at schools!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars female eunuch, 13 July 2010
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Paperback)
picked this for my book group as a classic. not so popular! pretty outdated and dull now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grrr!, 8 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Paperback)
Every baby girl should be sent home from hospital with their mum and a copy of this book. Passionate, fiery ;intellectual but earthy, Germaine Greer was the original and best exponent of girl power. Go Gerry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Read, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) (Paperback)
First read this when I was a sixth former forty years ago. Loved it then and bought this as an extra Christmas present for my 22 daughter and she loves it too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Bought as a present - wouldn't have bought it for myself - but it arrived really quickly before Christmas. So full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One in a long line, 18 Dec 2008
By 
SJB (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) (Paperback)
GG is obviously an intelligent and erudite woman who articulates this page by page in an academic style. This book was certainly GG breaking but not groundbreaking from a sexism viewpoint.
I took a casual glance at my bookshelf of classics and it was noticeable that many female authors are coming in a similar genre eg vindictaion of womens rights, city of ladies, to name two. It's difficult to see whether the books released are done so from a patriarchal or matriarchal perspective, but there is a definate omission of this type of male literature. Of course, sexism is stoked by provoking resentment in people and males could undoubtedly resent the plethora of 'feminist' goods that are pumped out lest they see through this provocation. Maybe we need to get a few out there to counter the imbalance of the last 40 yrs or so.

If you don't have any of this sort of reading then it may open an eye or two, if you stay with the somewhat verbose articulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics)
The Female Eunuch (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) by Germaine Greer (Paperback - 15 May 2006)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews