Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Morley and her constant challenges
This is a remarkable, pacey and informative account of an overlooked life and its many challenges that leaves the reader wholly in sympathy with its subject. Privately known as `Mrs Morley', her life was dominated by feuds of the State - with her father James II and Jacobites over the Protestant versus Catholic faiths; questions of succession at the waning of the Stuart...
Published 21 months ago by Edward B. Crutchley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid biography of a neglected monarch
This is a very detailed biography of Queen Anne, a monarch who, to date, has been largely invisible to history. Certainly the period from the 'Glorious Revolution' of 1688 to Queen Anne's death in 1714 is not taught in schools. As,over this period,Great Britain came into being with the union of Scotland with the English crown in 1707, the period might be more relevant...
Published 9 months ago by markb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion (Paperback)
Relatively little written about this period and even less about this queen. Smooth reading at a very good analysis of a difficult relationship. Good read for the non-historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent attempt at teasing out the personality of a monarch, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion (Paperback)
This book does a really first class job drawing out the person and personality of Queen Anne from the complex politics of her reign - while at the same time clearly setting her within the context of the wars, party and religious rivalries, and political rough and tumble during her years on the throne. It is long and detailed - some may find it too long and detailed - but well written and easy to read.

Clearly there's a limit to how close one can really get to the personality of a monarch, let alone one who reigned 300 years ago. But I thought the author used the source material very thoughtfully, and while this is certainly a more "pro"-Anne account than many it seemed an entirely fair assessment. Inevitably the Sarah Churchill correspondence looms large through much of the book, but it is a superb source and highly quotable.

I thought it was interesting to compare this book with "Winter King", Thomas Penn's account of Henry VII who reigned 200 years earlier. Both are detailed, narrative accounts that bring overlooked monarchs to popular attention. Both have a biographical approach - and both are well written. Yet while "Winter King" has had a much more visible - and populist - marketing campaign, been more prominent among prize nominations and, presumably, enjoyed greater sales, I think "Queen Anne" is a much better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much politics, too little passion - a very hard read, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
D. J. Favager (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion (Paperback)
I had read this author's life of Queen Elizabeth and greatly enjoyed it so was expecting something good from this one too. Sadly it utterly failed to live up to that expectation. I gave up half way through and had to force myself to give it another go. Getting to the end was a feat of endurance rather than a pleasure. I am rather surprised that other reviewers found it a good read. It starts off well enough and the early sections before she becomes queen are readable and quite informative. Once Anne gets on the throne we get bogged down in a turgid political history of the reign in which there is far too much detail and very little of interest. As one other reviewer said, it is just very boring stuff. The bigger picture gets lost and the same is true for the intrigues surrounding the women in Anne's life. It is obviously a well researched historical work but there is just too much politics and too little passion for the general reader not that concerned about the court manoeuvrings of the late 17th / early 18th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion (Paperback)
very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion., 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion (Paperback)
II bought this book because I wanted to understand the political, social and emotional issues which were relevant in the life of this queen. I was not disappointment as it is a very well researched and informative book. However the down side of this in depth study means that the book suffers from a lack of simple text. I would say only buy this book if you want to read about this historical time that is factual and concise. But if you are looking for an easy read stay clear and look to author’s such as Jean Plaidy. I enjoyed this book because it is well written and explains a period in history I knew little about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Political History, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read and easy to understand, factual, but not to heavy. Written by an author who's style I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion (Paperback)
A GREAT BOOK IN GREAT CONDITION, A REALLY GOOD PRICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunate Queen, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wish there had been more details about the numerous pregnancies this poor woman went through to fairlly end up with no living children. There also seemed to be no mention about how her Husband felt about all of this. That part was rather rushed through to get to the political elements. Also felt that Sarah got off lightly, considering that she was reputed to have had such a dominating control over Anne. This book does however give some insights that flow through to the King's Mistress (Claudia Gold). A fair book but not quite as good as I expected from this Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion (Paperback)
Excellent all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found much of this book interesting but the details of Queen Anne's relationship (a dull lady) with Sarah (sparkling and intelligent) were endless and repeatative. I did learn a great deal about the difference between Whiggs and Torys but in the end I gave up after reaching half way. I've kept it on kindle so I can return later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion
Queen Anne: The Politics of Passion by Anne Somerset (Paperback - 13 Sept. 2012)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews