Customer Reviews


1,320 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,089)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing piece of craftsmanship
I bought this book recently, and I won't be reviewing the story here, which everyone knows is great...

When you look for the 50th anniversary edition of this by harper collins(not houghton mifflin from the US edition) on the internet you'll only find information about the deluxe edition of this.
Don't expect this book to come bound in leather, and in the...
Published on 3 Nov. 2009 by Pol Haegeman

versus
219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First...
Published on 23 April 2005 by J Meehan


‹ Previous | 189 90 91132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars fan must, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i read these every 2 years. good to have a fresh copy as it encourages me to read. the man is a genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finally, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great to have it on the kindle, hopefully this time I will actually get round to finishing it :) cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason..., 5 July 2012
There's a reason why this book is considered a classic and you don't have to speak Elvish to enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagination, 30 Nov. 2002
Tolkien always described the world around the characters and battles more so then the characters and battles themselves. I liked this idea, we'd learn where the characters were fighting, or eating, or sleeping, but we'd have to think about the characters ourselves. In a sense, we could develop the story ourselves, and each get a very personalised experiance from it.
Some people viewed the movie first, then read the book. This leads to problems, as you're always comparing the film characters to what is happening in the book, instead of making up these own characters in your head.
I think Tolkien was a master storyteller, and although now many books give us defined characters and an open-ended world, Tolkien allowed us to visit his own defined world and play out the story with open-end characters that we would grow to love, because each one of us sees something differant in them that we can built on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fav book of all time, 7 Aug. 2006
This man was a genius!

WHAT a book! i loved every second of reading it and the films actually do the book justice, but of course nothing beats the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lord of the rings book set, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted for a Christmas present .Very reasonable priced .Nice to have all 3 books boxed as a set .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books were a good quality as they were new but the packaging it came in seemed on the big side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas prezzi, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as part of a box set for my daughter who is at uni ..she a very big fan and watches repeatedly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best set of Books that can ever be bought, 2 Jan. 2000
By 
stormcrow32@tolkien.nu (San Francisco, California) - See all my reviews
This is the best work of J.R.R. Tolkien. This is prime reading material good for anytime of the day!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the film., 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So much more in the book that's missing in the film, if you loved the film you need to get the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 189 90 91132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings Boxed Set
The Lord of the Rings Boxed Set by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 17 Oct. 2005)
Used & New from: £17.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews