Customer Reviews


1,210 Reviews
5 star:
 (990)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition!
JRR Tolkien's book "The Lord of the Rings" needs no introduction. It's a timeless classic that should at least be given a try by absolutley everyone! That said, this edition is just great! I was quite surprised when I first saw this edition with my own eyes. The books are large, pages are thick, the covers and the illustrations are a feast to look at and the...
Published on 18 Mar 2002

versus
219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First...
Published on 23 April 2005 by J Meehan


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition!, 18 Mar 2002
By A Customer
JRR Tolkien's book "The Lord of the Rings" needs no introduction. It's a timeless classic that should at least be given a try by absolutley everyone! That said, this edition is just great! I was quite surprised when I first saw this edition with my own eyes. The books are large, pages are thick, the covers and the illustrations are a feast to look at and the text is big and clear. If you are looking for an edition of "The Lord of the Rings" that is a bit more special than the cheaper ones, this is the one to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trully unbelievable !, 26 Feb 2000
By A Customer
I know, this might look like an expensive buy, but believe me, once you get to the last CD of this brilliant dramatisation of Lord of the Rings, you won't even care about the money you've spent ! This is how good this radio version is. I would give it 1000 stars if i could !
After listening to this 14 hours of incredible High Fantasy atmosphere, i only wish all the books from Tolkien were available in this form. I know the Lord of the Rings movies are being filmed at this moment, but after listening to this brilliant radio adaptation, i can't believe the movies will be better than this radio series. This is the perfect buy for anyone who loves Fantasy, no matter what age you are. Excelent for Tolien fans, and perfect to introduce the Tolkien world to anyone who never eard of it.
For a start, the actors are perfect, specialy, the voices of Sam, Gollum and Gandalf, wich are fantastic. And the cast it's huuuuuuge with plenty of voices everywhere.
The sound effects are powerfull, altough a bit to much early eighties electronics some times, but very ,very good nevertheless, specialy in the battle scenes and in the countryside atmospheres.
But to me the most impressive thing in all this adaptation , is the music soundtrack. This radio adaptation of Lord of the Rings, has one of the most beautiful music soundtracks i ever eard, and the way in wich the music is used to create emotion and carry the listener into the Midlle Earth is incredible. Listen to the battle preparation scenes in the dark , and you'll get imediately transported into this amazing world, just by the power of sound. The epic music, combined with the sound of horses, arms, men singing and marching and all sort of sound atmospheres creates a movie in our minds, that i doubt any real movie will provoque the same efect ever !
There's epic music, powerfull music, soothing music, simple tunes, elf songs, and all sorts of TolKien poems set to song in a brilliant "medieval" way. And all this comes also in CD n.14 , just for us to enjoy after we listen to the story in the other 13 Cds.
I also have the other radio adaptation made of 1968 of THE HOBBIT, wich i advise everyone to get it also, because all of what i've said for this Lord of the Rings , BBC Radio adaptation also goes for BBC's The Hobbit.
So to finish, i'll just say, if you're in doubt, and worried about the price, just go for it. You won't regret it. By the end you wish you had plenty more like this one to buy. So sell your car, sell your house, sell your mother-in-law, but get this BBC RADIO THE LORD OF THE RINGS. And also the HOBBIT.
After you'll listen to it, you won't even care about the money you spent in buying the thing.
As for me ,this was one of the best buys of my life. And i'm 30 years old. I've already bought a lot.
This Lord of the Rings, radio dramatization is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sound approach to Middle-Earth, 15 Sep 2001
By 
I must have read J.R.R Tolkien's Lord of the Rings at least 30 times over the same number of years.
I have seen two films come and go, that did not 'reach' me in the same way as the books (it is usually the same with pictures/drawings etc).
The Lord of the Rings is one of those rare books who's impressions given are personal to that reader.
In this way the CD's (taken from the BBC Radio adaptation of the early 1980's), do not intrude on ones personal 'mind pictures' for the story. In a number of respects they enhance previous reading experience. The voices are particularly good, striking, in terms of Gandalf and the late/great Sir Michael Hordern.
Admittedly, some scenes have had to be passed over,especially earlier on in the story i.e the old forest, Tom Bombadil, the barrow downs (due to the sheer size of the work), other than these areas, the story is very much intact.
This is a story (we found) best played on a winters night around the fire (it can make television almost seem a basic and vulgar entertainment). But however heard, it will inspire, thrill, and endear all to the great man's master work.
The 13 CD package is attractively packaged, including a map, and a CD of music from this adaptation.
I believe this sort of experience/entertainment is ideal for children of all ages, particularly really grown up children (adults) !
These CD's will compliment your Tolkien collection and continue the pure magic of this classic tale for years/generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book but it has some flaws., 8 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of The Rings (Hardcover)
Simply wonderful; but it has some structural flaws. The slip case is very tight holding the book, which is good but the rough cloth on the inside of the case may scratch up the leather half of the cover in time. The leather half is well bound and confortable to touch and hold. The cloth half has some quality faults in the edge's, the edge stitching is loose and in time may fray badly. It would have been nice if Harper Collins had numbered each copy due to the fact that there were only 1,000 copies produced, but you can't have everything =).
Other than that there are no other problems, and this copy of LOTR met my every expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


271 of 285 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a novel in the modern sense, 3 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. R. A. Seffen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To all the people who've given this a low mark, and all seem to have the same gripe with it - you all fail to understand that this is not a novel in the sense we've come to understand as a fantasy novel these days, so it's not fair to judge it as such.
Tolkien was not a career author, he didn't set out to write a searing page-turner, a wizzbang tale of derring-do in 500 sizzling chapters. Gandalf doesn't hurl raging fireballs at enemies, Aragorn doesn't have a sex scene with Arwen while doing Eowyn behind her back, there's no pandering to the lowest common denominator to flog a few more copies.
Tolkien barely cared if no one ever read it. He was writing it largely for himself and his friends and family.
You're all guilty of confusing the result of Tolkien's legacy and influence (virtually every other fantasy novel, movie or game) with his actual work, and expecting to see in the father what you've seen in his unruly children.

Judge it for what it is, not for what you wanted it to be as a modern fantasy reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Warning, 11 Dec 2004
The vast majority of people who read Tolkien's 'The Lord of the Rings' have nothing but praise for it. But i am here to tell you that it does have one major fault.
Its language is so eloquent, and characters so captivating, that within a few chapters it has a hold on you. It makes you long for any opportunity to read a few more pages. Anywhere will do, at home, at work, at school, whilst waiting for a bus - even at a lecture. In the same way that The Ring has a hold on all its bearers, this book will get a hold on you.
I'm sure by now you must be aware of the plot. A young Hobbit ('what is a hobbit?...a little people, about half our height...There is little or no magic about them...They are inclined to be fat in the stomach; they dress in bright colours (chiefly green and yellow); wear no shoes, because their feet grow natural leathery soles and thick warm brown hair like the stuff on their heads (which is curly); have long clever brown fingers, good-natured faces, and laugh deep fruity laughs...') (Taken from 'The Hobbit'). Named Frodo Baggins, inherits a ring from his older cousin Bilbo. It is a very dangerous treasure and as a result it is decided that it must be destroyed. So Frodo, along with a company of eight other travellers, consisting of three other hobbits, two men, an elf, a dwarf and a wizard, sets out to eliminate the ring, by casting it into the fires of its making, at Mount Doom.
Now i shall tell you of this books greatest flaw; because the story is so captivating, the spirit of this book will not let you go. It's just like a person's first love. No matter how many other people you fall for, none will ever touch you so deeply as the first. It's the same with 'The Lord of the Rings', no other book can come close.
And that's the problem. This book is so good that it, not necessarily ruins, but certainly taints your appreciation of any other book, because you'll always find yourself comparing it to 'The Lord of the Rings'!
So my advice to you is this: Make sure you read as many books as possible before you tackle this one. That way, their contents will not be so jaded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of audio dramatisation, 9 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Having read and loved the book I really had doubts that a 13 hour audio full dramatised version could do it justice but any doubts I had were quashed when I heard the first few minutes and that haunting main theme kicked in. Assuming if you're reading this you've already read the book I won't need to go into specifics but Gollum was just so...perfect. Loathsome and quite pitiful at the same time. Ian Holm as Frodo was magnificent, the leading role of a talented cast, special praise going to those actors portraying Bilbo, Gandalf, Aragorn, Pippin, Merry, Sam, Legolas, Gimli and Boromir. The music was equal parts moving, exciting and awe-inspring, and how nice of the CD makers to include a 14th disc with nearly an hour of the score, my fave parts being the main score and the fan-bloody-tastic March of the Ents. Every single part of this version of the book to end all books is honed to perfection, but the standouts go to the Prancing Pony section of disc 2 and the entire Mines of Moria sequence of Disc 4, which is a triumph of sound in a scene where visuals are all. I could babble on forever about this, but, it may seem costly, but it's worth it. Empty your wallets, go home, put this on and be entranced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its the Best!, 10 Feb 2002
By 
roy.bishop@easynet.co.uk (High Wycombe, Bucks. UK) - See all my reviews
This radio adaptation of Tolkien's work needs no additional praise other than to say 'it's the best'.
Here's why (for me at any rate):
It is remarabley faithful to the book. No small achievement considering the complexity of the plot and number of charachters involved. Only in one instance (Bombadil) does it stray from the story-line. Apart from that - what you hear is exactly the way the story unfolds.
The cast are excellent. Each selected for their natural qualities of voice. They 'sound' like the charachters they are portraying. So, Gimli: gruff, tenacious; Aragorn: noble, resiliant; Gandalf: benevolence, with a strong undercurrent of power tending to swift action. With around 13 hours of dialogue there is such a richness of tone, emotion and interaction to be heard. 'Effects' are (thankfully) minimal and leave the best to ones imagination.
As an added bonus, the 14th CD is a collection of the songs and incidental music used in the episodes. These create an atmosphere of timelessnes and wonder, punctuating the story-line to marvelleous effect. There's also a booklet on the making of the series and the seemingly obligatory map of middle-earth to make sense of the quest.
Two small criticisms. The CD set dosn't cover events in the appendices that come at the end of the third volume of LoTR. This particulalry affects the charachter of Arwen because her relationship with Aragorn (central to his motivation in the war of the ring) is only fully brought out in one of those Appendices. This adaptation could have made more of the time they share at Rivendell to highlight her charachter.
And the other criticism? One Tolkien himself would have shared; the story - and hence this CD set of the radio adaptation - is too short.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you sitting comfortably?, 11 July 2004
Then Rob Inglis will read you the best story ever written.

Story telling is a tradition that predates book writing and reading by thousands of years. These days it's a luxury to be able to listen to the story teller. I've read Lord of the Rings too many times to be able to remember but up to now, nobody has ever read it to me. Rob Inglis has remedied that sad deficit. It took me a short while to get into the unfamiliar 'listener' state of mind because listening is a different discipline, a different skill, to reading. Somehow, it takes more concentration but perhaps that's just because of lack of practise. Once the right level of concentration was achieved, Rob Inglis's voice and the images it conjured, filled my mind to the exclusion of all else. It's hard to imagine the craft of story telling being executed any better than this.

This story teller managed to reproduce the voices of hobbits, men, elves, dwarves, wizards, eagles, nazgul, orcs and Gollum - all different and all very fitting for the characters represented. Not only that but he sang each song from the book, unaccompanied and they all sounded good.

It's the best present anyone has given me and I expect to listen to it at least as many times as I've read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest adaptations ever, with an ensemble cast, 11 May 2001
I remember reading the Fellowship of the Ring at school. My friend had the three volume book, but I thought I would start with the first and see how it went. I was captured, and have been enchanted ever since with the mythological world of Middle Earth. But, it was not until I had listened to this box set that I realised, for instance, how great was the suffering of Frodo, and indeed how bittersweet the ending really is. I don't think that this can replace the text, but owning it will compliment the books tremendously, and act as an appetizer to the upcoming movies. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2)
The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2) by J. R. R. Tolkien (Hardcover - 17 Oct 2005)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews