Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book
I've just bought this book and I love it already (I've just started reading it). It is a nice little size to fit in your pocket or handbag and has alot of information in it about drawing, equipment and mediums. Im just getting into drawing and sketching again after a 10 year break and i reckon this book is going to help me find my way back!
Published on 8 May 2006 by Art Lover

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too small
Too small to be of real use. Will not buy any others in the series. Not sure examples in the book are helpful.
Published 12 months ago by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 8 May 2006
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I've just bought this book and I love it already (I've just started reading it). It is a nice little size to fit in your pocket or handbag and has alot of information in it about drawing, equipment and mediums. Im just getting into drawing and sketching again after a 10 year break and i reckon this book is going to help me find my way back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sketching Collins Gem, 17 Aug. 2011
By 
Mrs. Joan M. Eggmore "Joan Eggmore" (North Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This is a delightful little book and has inspired me to take up drawing again. I have other books covering drawing and painting but this one is so concise and instructs in easy steps. I decided to buy it after a friend recommended it to me. If you have never tried drawing or even, like me, think you are not capable try this little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precious!, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Federica M. Cumer (Bolzano) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This small book is put together with great care and it covers a lot of ground (much more than some bigger books).
It is chock-full of useful advice, practical tips, examples and encouragement. It is evident that the author knows her subject matter very well, and she has a gift for explaining in an extremely clear way, without simplifying too much.
The small size is a bonus, as you will be able to bring it with you everywhere.
You won't regret buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins gem Sketching, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Excellent book. I am learning so much from it. Handy pocket size so it is easy to take with me. I recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written practical wisdom., 11 Jan. 2015
Even if, like me, you're a wannabe scribbler with simple goals, this is a superb little volume to enbolden your sketching.

Last year I spent £90 on a course at an arts centre in the Midlands: my curiosity was stifled, confidence drained and I quit with my hopes tattered.
Last month I spotted "Sketching (Collins Gem)" on kindle and dipping into its pages over a week or so has rekindled (love a good pun) my interest in drawing scenes and characters from the books I wrote a couple of years ago.
Jackie Simmonds gives simple practical advice and insights that equips you with the strategies to seek improvement and build on the inevitable "experiences" a budding artist will encounter. How I wish I'd seen this book before wasting my cash and time travelling into the city for nine weeks last Winter.
Jackie's easy approach and nuanced insights will help fill the pages of my sketch books. Thank you.

I fully encourage you to read consume this excellent small volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins Gem 'Sketching' review, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I was recommended this by a friend and it's extremely handy. Small enough to fit into your pocket or glove box so easy to take out sketching or reading on the hoof. Good for beginners and improvers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very small, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I like this tiny little book . I did not realize just how small this book is ,but having said that it is handy pop in your pocket to read on a bus or the underground
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing!!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
It greatly helps me to complete features on my art project for a-level fine art! Good for beginners and amateurs too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too small, 21 May 2014
By 
John (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Too small to be of real use. Will not buy any others in the series. Not sure examples in the book are helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very handy, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketching (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
clearly written, gives useful ideas for projects but small in size.
Good for beginners and those with rusty skills. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sketching (Collins Gem)
Sketching (Collins Gem) by Jackie Simmonds (Paperback - 6 Feb. 2006)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews