Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in the Spanish Sunshine
The Ignorance of Blood is a well written and well plotted story of police investigations into kidnapping, murder and terrorism set in the elegant setting of Seville.

Inspector Javier Falcon is trying to find the perpetrators of a bombing that took place a few months ago he had promised the people of Seville that he will catch them and as time passes he becomes...
Published on 13 April 2009 by R. E. Quinn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ignorance of Blood
First off, to any potential readers, you quite simply must read the first three Javier Falcon novels before reading this. The first three are "stand-alone-ish" and can be read on their own, however this one not only picks up immediately after book three but also refers heavily to books one and two.

This is Wilson's Falcon finale. This was always planned to be...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by d m may


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Robert Wilson Fare Set In the Heat of Seville, 26 July 2009
By 
Robert O. Davidson (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a Robert Wilson fan - mainly because the context and environments within which his tales are set tend to be original and imaginative. The stories are are multi-faceted and the characters seem very real, true to life and one feels almost as if one knows them personally. This book doesn't deviate from the usual formula and re-introduces characters from previous books. The main character - Inspector Jefe Javier Falcon - finds that inadvertently his work, on a seemingly unrelated case, has resulted in the kidnapping of his partner's son by the Russian mafia. She (his partner)displaces her own guilt by wholly holding Falcon responsible. The story is tense and at times graphically gory. As usual Wilson's descriptive text brings everything alive and whilst it is not his best it is still a class above most of Wilson's contemporaries. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ignorance of Blood, 7 Dec 2010
By 
d m may (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Paperback)
First off, to any potential readers, you quite simply must read the first three Javier Falcon novels before reading this. The first three are "stand-alone-ish" and can be read on their own, however this one not only picks up immediately after book three but also refers heavily to books one and two.

This is Wilson's Falcon finale. This was always planned to be the final book in the quartet and this book was intended to be THE big book that ended the entire saga. Sadly, for me anyway, it fails to complete the saga adequately.

The first three books, in my opinion, are astonishing. "Blind Man"; "Silent & Damned"; "Hidden Assasins" not only introduce but establish Javier Falcon, and characters such as Alicia Aguado, Esteban Calderon, Consuelo Jiminez, Jose Luis Ramirez, Comisario Lobo, as well as Perez, Ines, Yacoub, Jorge, Ferrera and a whole lot more. There are a lot of characters.

Over the course of the first three books we've had murder, domestic violence, "high society", Paedophiles, Russian Mafia, Islamic Fundamentalism and international terrorism. This book is intended to be the incredible climax to this deep, involving opus.

Simply: Wilson attempts too much and allows the story to become too big for him. What started off in "Blind Man" as a serial killer evolves in to secret services, spies, double-agents, plot-twists, court appearances, Catholic Fanaticism, Islamic Fundamentalism, domestic violence, Russian Mafia wars, bombings, high end business deals, corrupt politicians, paedophiles... ayayay! It all spirals away from Wilson and, sadly, in the end I think he gives up on a lot of the loose ends, desperate to bring the saga to an end as quickly as possible.

What started out as a captivating sprawl through "The Falcon Diaries" in book one; to a savagely sinister uncovering of a paedophile ring in book two; to stopping an ingenious plot to bomb London in book three - and managing to keep these entwined somehow - book four deteriorates into..? Into? Into!? Well, what IS this book about in the end?

Towards the end of the book (and I won't give away any spoilers) there is a bit where Falcon and his unit go undercover in a hotel, disguised as staff, to catch the bad guys. This is it: this is heads of state, major business players, mafia, secret agents... the lot. This is the climatic showdown. This is how the book ends. This is how the SAGA ends. This is going to be incredible reading, like the previous three books.

Honestly, Wilson rushes it, he fails to elaborate where it's needed, he just - I don't know - it just seems that at this point he realises the story's got away from him, become too big for him, and just ties up the loose ends and goes for a corny ending. A proper corny ending, too. Shame.

I really mean this when I say that Javier Falcon could possibly have gone down as one of the most important and endearing detectives in the "noughties"; up there with Michael Linqvist and Robert Langdon. The first three books, in my opinion anyway, were THAT GOOD. The finale is a total letdown, and that's sad. Really sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Which actor do you think should play Javier Falcon?????..., 22 Jun 2009
A group of us have spent many an hour pondering which actor should play Javier Falcon if he ever makes it to the small or large screen. We are still struggling to cast this most intruiging and attractive Spanish Chief Inspector! Any suggestions?

Robert Wilson is a fantastic author and he had those of us that had read the first three books in this Javier Falcon series, waiting with bated breath for this the fourth and last one in the series. And now that I have read it, I am devasted to think that I will never encounter Javier Falcon in print again!! His back story, which is revealed in the first of the series - and his beautiful house in the heart of Seville, pull you into the novels. And then there are the well researched cases he works on which involve the inevitable murders but are far wider reaching than many detective novels. These books would better be described as thrillers perhaps. And Seville - as the setting for all four books - is such a wonderful place, so atmospherically described. I know people who have read the books and then gone to find the tapas bars mentioned in it in Seville!

Of course - as readers of series will know - so much of the enjoyment of the books in them is the continuation of previous threads. With each Javier Falcon novel you felt as if you were meeting up again with an old friend. If you read the books in order you will be richly rewarded with hours of enjoyment. I found The Ignorance of Blood totally engrossing. I was desperate to know how it would all turn out and spent hours deep into the night reading as just could not put it down. The plots aren't simple, they are very well researched and multi-layered. But that makes them all the more enjoyable.

Don't be put off by the some of the Amazon Vine reviews by people who have been sent the book to review but have not read the previous three novels. Start with The Blind Man of Seville and get hooked on Javier Falcon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read,but............, 4 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Paperback)
......this book is really a continuation of The Hidden Assassins,the 3rd in the Javier Falcon series,and anyone not having read that book would find it scrappy and possibly confusing.However those who have followed the series will find it up to the usual standard with many loose ends tidied up,old scores settled and characters from the previous books playing a bigger part in the whole story.
Falcon is a great character and Robert Wilson's books seemed to flow better as the series progressed so it seems a shame that this is the last in the series.Wilson's books inform as well as entertain and I've spent hours Googling historical episodes he mentions that I'd been previously unaware of.His books tell "big stories" and this series spans decades,whole family histories and have a massive range of characters,this series is almost one long,convoluted story over 2000 plus pages.I read them one after the other and if I hadn't I think I'd have struggled to keep up with the various threads,characters and plot-lines,as it was I sometimes had to think hard about characters re-appearing from previous books.Well worth the effort however and a deeply involving series,read them in order though to get the best out of them and don't read this one in particular if you havn't read the others as you'll just end up confused and wondering what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and well-crafted thriller, 26 May 2009
By 
AR (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although I have never read any of Robert Wilson's previous Javier Falcon novels, I was impressed with this one as it is well-written and dramatic. It was easy to follow even without prior knowledge of the characters and past storylines.

Crime novels often provide a particular insight into the psyche of a nation, their fears and the problems they face as a society, for example the issue of immigration runs throughout Henning Mankell's Wallander series. In this novel Javier Falcon is caught between two sinister and violent groups, the Russian mafia who are threatening to overrun the Costa del Sol and the Islamic terrorists who would return Andalucia to its days as a Muslim state. Both manage to get under Falcon's skin, as he pursues the perpetrators of a terrorist bombing that rocked Seville. The crimes he is investigating become personal when someone he loves becomes a victim.

This is a well-paced thriller, with a number of interweaving storylines that keep the book interesting and involving. Javier Falcon is a sympathetic yet tortured detective, surrounded by extremely violent and heartless criminals. I would recommend this novel not to just to fans of the crime genre, but anyone who enjoys a dark and dramatic story.

I will definitely read the other Javier Falcon novels in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not So Ignorant, 1 May 2009
By 
Donald Thompson "waldo357" (Belfast N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Robert Wilson has created a master detective in the guise of Javier Falcon, a man caught up in an investigation so twisted and convoluted that nothing is ever what it seems. Drawing together the strands of the previous Javier Falcon books the book draws you deeper into a world of Russian Mafia, Islamic Terrorists, Christian Fundamentalists and espionage organisations.

A traffic accident involving a Russian vor (Vory)leads to corruption in the highest ranks in Seville. But Falcon is also trying to investigate his ex-wifes murder without his bosses knowing. He believes the man who is accused of the crime is innocent if stupid. He is also falling in love a painful process for a man of his years.

To steer his way through this minefield, with death and disappointment his likely rewards takes all of Falcon's skill, bravery and intelligence. Robert Wilson's triumph in this complex thriller is to have you believe in his characters, no one is perfect, all are flawed to one degree or another, but crucially all are people. A great addition to the detectives of modern fiction, I recommend all Javier Falcon's adventures to anyone looking for something outside of the run of the mill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly 5 Stars!, 5 April 2009
By 
Wilz "wilson9hb" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've never read this author before so the series is new to me. As usual, I've started at the wrong end!
Good plot, fast where it needs to be and with the added ingredient of being set (mainly) in Seville. Very engaging and quite difficult to put down.
Yes, this was well worth a read if you want a modern, exciting well written and provocative thriller.
I shall be reading the rest of the series soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too Good to Rush, 22 May 2009
By 
Roger Rebec "Roger Rebec" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I quite often find that police procedurals set in foreign countries are not as interesting as those set in the UK but not this time. This one really works on every level. It is not a book that you can afford to skip read though.

The plot is complicated and, as a reader, you find yourself following very closely in Falcon's footsteps. You think the story is going to in a particular direction and suddenly find the investigation is going off at an unexpected tangent almost as if you were investigating the crime yourself.

Some very nasty things happen to some of the characters in this book. The Russian mafia is plainly not to be trifled with. However unpleasant the gore though, the descriptions of it are extremely well judged. The horror of what has happened is brought home very clearly but the nastiness is not dwelt on.

The characters are extremely well drawn and their moral dilemmas believable. The dialogue convinces and the settings come to life.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It took me longer than usual because it is too good to rush. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I only recently got into reading this series after a couple of attempts at the first - I got hooked.

This is so well written it's not even fair! with great characterization (again) and a solid story which is fast paced and thrilling.
It starts off with the killing of an important mafia person/member and Javier Falcon has to get deep into this case and into the mafia. I have to say the opening pages are so well written with quick flick backs from character to character with the car crash being so well describe I got hooked instantly.

I don't want to give too much away but I will say that everything is as good as it could be with Wilson continuing his excellent descriptive writing, depth and shocking realism (the fights especially) that makes this such an enjoyable read!

Well reccomended to anyone who has enjoyed the previous books, or if you havent Wilson does very well to reference the previous storylines in summaries so you are up to date. Great book, I want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forth book in series, 16 April 2009
By 
Stevetrumpet (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the forth book about Spanish detective Inspector Jefe Falcon. It is the first of the series which I have read and I think that I would have preferred to have come to this book through reading the earlier novels. The plot is complex and mentions events which I presume were described in the first three books.
The plot includes Russian mafia and Islamic extremists and so is certainly contempory,but can start to become confusing when there are elements of the Inspectors personal life interwoven into the story.
The action takes place in modern Seville. The story is well written and includes some violent events which are described in a matter of fact way.
I found the book a little hard going at times as I felt I was hampered by not knowing Falcon's back story. I will look for the earlier novels and try to follow the story from the begining, and will probably re-read the Ignorance of Blood again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ignorance of Blood
The Ignorance of Blood by Robert Wilson (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews