Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in the Spanish Sunshine
The Ignorance of Blood is a well written and well plotted story of police investigations into kidnapping, murder and terrorism set in the elegant setting of Seville.

Inspector Javier Falcon is trying to find the perpetrators of a bombing that took place a few months ago he had promised the people of Seville that he will catch them and as time passes he becomes...
Published on 13 April 2009 by R. E. Quinn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ignorance of Blood
First off, to any potential readers, you quite simply must read the first three Javier Falcon novels before reading this. The first three are "stand-alone-ish" and can be read on their own, however this one not only picks up immediately after book three but also refers heavily to books one and two.

This is Wilson's Falcon finale. This was always planned to be...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by d m may


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder in the Spanish Sunshine, 13 April 2009
By 
R. E. Quinn (Great Britian) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Ignorance of Blood is a well written and well plotted story of police investigations into kidnapping, murder and terrorism set in the elegant setting of Seville.

Inspector Javier Falcon is trying to find the perpetrators of a bombing that took place a few months ago he had promised the people of Seville that he will catch them and as time passes he becomes more obsessed with it.

When a car crashes and it turns out the dead driver was part of the Russian Mafia and that a turf war over drugs and prostitution and gambling on the Costa's and in Seville is about to erupt he suddenly finds there may be a connection to the bombing case and starts to dig deeper.

As the case progresses and the bodies begin to mount up and those closest to him become involved he finds that he is willing to be as ruthless as the people he is fighting against and is willing to do things he never thought he would in order to protect those he loves.

Although the Ignorance of Blood is the latest in a series of books it is written in such a way that it doesn't matter if you have never read any of the others it is still a well executed novel. Those who have read the others will probably find extra details that make the story more enjoyable for them but the author has not drowned the book in back story so you can come to it as a one off and still enjoy it as a good detective story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense, compelling and intricate, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read The Blind Man of Seville, the first of the 4 book Javier Falcon series, when it came out some years ago and was a bit disappointed with it. This is the fourth in the series and there's nothing disappointing about this one. From the outset Wilson sets up a tense and multi-layered plotline that sets off waves of action. The Russian mafia in Seville, corrupt officials, a child's kidnapping, and international terrorists all combine for a tense and compelling read.

Many thrillers seem to me to shoe-horn in the writer's concerns (e.g. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) but here the plot seems to unwind organically, each twist leading to the next with a kind of fatal logic. Be warned, some of the violence is extremely gruesome, but it completely fits the characters of the perpetrators and so is justified by plot.

Towards the end, there were places where it feels like Wilson is in a bit of a rush to move on, and the prose starts to feel a bit unfinished. Not a huge problem but enough to drop a star from me. If you haven't read the previous books in the series (as I hadn't) this probably isn't the ideal place to start since it is built on what has happened in the past. But the book is complete in itself, and definitely left me hungry to go back to the previous books, even knowing how they will ultimately play out. So overall a great read, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thriller of real depth and style, 5 April 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Edwards "se1955" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First, I should say that this is a really top-class police thriller. Robert Wilson is in the first rank of proper writers, who happen to write in that genre.

Secondly, I have read the other three Javier Falcon novels as they were released, and would think that any reader would get far more enjoyment from this, the final novel, if they have a full knowledge of its predecessors.

The plot is very complex, but such is the clarity of Wilson's thinking and prose, you never feel lost or confused. The conclusion of the various threads of plot is perhaps a little too neat, and the attempt to increase the pace with ever more terse writing is obvious.

The fact that you know that this is the last in the series of Falcon novels, leads to a certain inevitability in the finale, but, as usual, the characterisation is good, the feel of Seville and Andalucia is skillfully conveyed, and the excitement builds relentlessly.

Major issues of government corruption, the fallout from the collapse of the Soviet Union, and Islamic terrorism are dealt with in a bleak statement of what is probably reality. Wilson's view of the 21st century is not a happy one.

Falcon would, of course, never be allowed to be so personally involved, or to have so much freedom to act recklessly, but that is a convention of the genre.

A great read with very serious undertones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning thriller, 22 July 2009
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the fourth and final book in the series featuring Inspector Jafe Javier Falcon, set mainly in Seville in the aftermath of devastating terrorist bombings. Investigation into the bombings is frustratingly leading nowhere, until a car accident reveals a boot full of money and a connection to the Russian mafia. After a while it becomes possible that there's an unexpected link here to the bombings.

What follows is a somewhat bleak uncovering of the white slave-trade in Europe, of turf wars between ruthless Russian gangs, of their control and corruption of local politics and businesses, and of how Islamicist terrorists insert themselves into this complex mosaic. But of course, this is only fiction. But Wilson makes it so plausible, especially in the human and ideological inner politics of the groups and their aims and methods.

But this isn't a treatise, it's a novel. The plot emerges from the lives of those involved, the choices they make, and the consequences they have to live with. The poetry of the prose is unusual and effective, adding depth to places and people.

Though the context is bleak, the struggle of the human spirit against corruption and evil is, in the end, uplifting.

The author has said the title reflects the importance of blood-ties and family in the story, and it is indeed this human element that is a core theme of the book.

Though this is the final book of four, it works well as a stand-alone story. Don't be put off if you haven't read the previous three. But I'll certainly be checking them out if they're as good as this. Excellent storytelling, compelling and thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong end to the Falcon series, 28 May 2009
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First, let me deal with what I think is a slightly unfair criticism of this book by a number of readers who have reviewed on here. Buoyed by the fact that they are getting the book to review for free, they have chosen, in ignorance, the fourth book in a series. This leads them to give the book 2/3 stars on the basis that it's not a standalone book. But that's the point of a series. To my mind it's unfair to mark down a book because of your own mistake in not reading the whole series in order. In fact, the book would be a lesser experience if it weren't part of the greater whole. So, whilst I wouldn't believe it has to be said, I'll say it: if you haven't read the other books in the series, read them first.

And if you have read the other books, you know what to expect. An exceptionally well written, densely plotted and exciting crime thriller. The synopsis of the events of the book are set out above, so I wont reiterate them. The focus of the book is on the death of a Russian mafia member outside Seville which sparks a sequence of events that lead Falcon deep into a web of Mafia intrigue which he believes may link to the Seville bombing and death of his ex-wife. But, alongside this run a number of other investigations, as well as the culmination of Yacoub's infiltration of the terrorist group, GICM. The pressures mount on Falcon leading up to an exciting and satisfying conclusion.

As hinted at the start, the beauty of a series of this length is the ability of Wilson to create fully-formed characters who engage the reader in a more encompassing way than a one-off book. It also allows a story that is more fully developed and rounded. This is a fantastic series and whilst I enjoyed this book, I'm a little sad that this is the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent thriller, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An intriguing title, an intriguing character in Inspector Jefe Falcon and a thriller packed with detail, action, subterfuge and lots more. This is a book which demands you read it slowly, so as not to miss out on the detail created by its author, Robert Wilson.

I've not read any of his earlier novels so my only yardstick would be other thriller writers. Here, this author stands head and shoulders above many of his contemporaries in this genre. Falcon is a sympathetic character, flawed as all modern policemen seem to be. He has an on/off love relationship which is, in fact, the reason why this story becomes personal.

The Russian mafia feature prominently; their disregard for human life is well exemplified in their obsessive attempts to make millions from drugs, girls, blackmail, construction contracts - you name it, Falcon has to deal with it.

And to make matters worse, there is, running through the book, a secondary storyline involving Falcon's muslim friend who spies on behalf of the West - or does he? Whatever, this secondary line does, in fact, bring all the threads - and there are many - together like a cleverly woven fabric, leaving the reader to wonder, until the last few pages, exactly how things will turn out.

I don't know if Falcon will return; I certainly hope so, not the least reason being that we learn quite a lot about the intricacies of the Spanish system and culture as we follow him through his pain and darkness. I loved this book. Please read it and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality prose, depth of cahracter and the need to suspend disbelief, 29 May 2009
By 
R. Lawson "clavedoc" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book brings the traditional detective novel up to date; crime in Spain takes place across a grander backdrop of Russian mafia and Islamist terrorism that brings in Morocco and Saudi Arabia, with jaunts to London too. It's extremely well written, with some excellent descriptive passages. Its pace is just right; fast enough to maintain plot and pace, but slow enough to slip in some more reflective passages, and delve more into the psychology of the main characters. This is very much the strength of the book, and sets it apart from much of the genre. It's clever, with uncertainty and plot twists throughout. However, as is often the case it doesn't quite succeed fully as there are just a few too many coincidences knitting events together, and at times it's just too easy. You need to know the movements of some international criminals? Detective work? Bah! Just phone a friend in whatever agency it is and wait 24 hours and they'll get back to you. The strength of the writing itself and the extra depth of characters mean this is certainly a good book, but a certain amount of disbelief needs to be suspended to appreciate it fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut, suspenseful Spanish thriller, 18 Jun 2009
By 
EllyBlue (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was the first of Robert Wilson's series I've read (and the last of the series so I certainly didin't do that right!), and I thoroughly enjoyed it in spite of the fact that I hadn't read the earlier books. Set mainly in Seville, (and giving a good sense of place) but with trips to London and North Africa, the complex plot draws in the Russian Mafia, corrupt politicians and officials, the security services, fundamentalist terrorists and more to create a gripping, intricate story with many twists and turns. You do need to keep your wits about you to follow what is going on, but if you concentrate, you are in for a good story, albeit rather gory in places. Typically, the main detective, Falcon doesn't always do things by the book, and his private life and his professional life intermingle, but Wilson achieves this without the formula seeming tired or formulaic! Steer clear if your taste in detective stories runs along the lines of Miss Marple because some of the descriptions here will put you off your cucumber sandwiches! I will probably read the other two books in the series on the strength of this one. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced and complex, 16 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like others who have reviewed this here, this was the first Robert Wilson book I had read. And so, it being the last of the Falcon quartet, it did take time to get into. Wilson does a decent job of trying to get you up to speed but that does add more detail to an already complex plot.

Overall it was a good read and the corruption and violence portrayed in the underworld of Russian mafia operations, Islamic extremists and Spanish police and intelligent service weaves a story that is not so much a detective thriller as a psychological and political documentary.

An enjoyable piece of escapism which does make me want to read the other three. I was a bit sceptical about some of the logistics described with trips from Seville to Madrid, London, Malaga and Morocco all crammed into an action-packed 5 days that has a body count which starts in the bloody prologue and just keeps piling up. I lost count in the end so this is not for the faint-hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut And Complex Thriller, Expertly Written., 13 Jun 2009
By 
Old Timer (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ignorance of Blood (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Robert Wilson knows his craft, that is unarguable. This the first of his Javier Falcón novels I have read, and although (mostly) I enjoyed it I will probably not hunt down the others.

What most strikes me is the sheer complexity of the plot, which involves the Russian Mafia, a Morrocan terrorist group, and local government corruption among other factors. The cast list is huge, and I will confess to some difficulty in keeping track of all the names.

Murders, by chainsaw, gun, and knife, occur with a frequency that would make Micky Spillane blush; in one scene no less than five bodies are dumped in an informal grave excavated by a mechanical digger. The same passage also has our hero and his squeeze benefiting from a last-second rescue that is not remotely plausible, and it is the lack of plausibility that stops me giving The Ignorance Of Blood five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ignorance of Blood
The Ignorance of Blood by Robert Wilson (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews