Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty & Powerful Historical Fiction
The second book in the Conqueror series is an outstanding contribution to the historical fiction genre. Following on from Wolf of the Plains, Lords of the Bow begins with the Mongol nation having been united under the rule of Temujin, the Genghis Khan. Fighting and conquering rival nomadic factions, the tribes are drawn together under the leadership of one man for the...
Published on 18 Sep 2009 by MLA

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The most annoying aspect of Iggulden's style is his insistence on telling ...
Entertaining enough, but only just enough. The most annoying aspect of Iggulden's style is his insistence on telling us, sentence by sentence, exactly what expression his Mongolian characters are adopting. They grin, stare, shrug and put on 'the cold face' so frequently that I longed for an expressionless Chin soldier to wander along and do them all in. I also felt that...
Published 1 month ago by Jerry Cornelius


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a book what a battle, 27 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Lords of the Bow: The Epic Story of the Great Conqueror (Conqueror 2) (Hardcover)
the battle in this book is so good this book has made it in to my top three books you have to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Conn., 23 Sep 2008
By 
S. Glossop "sgg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lords of the Bow: The Epic Story of the Great Conqueror (Conqueror 2) (Hardcover)
Not the best Conn Iggulden, but still very good. Really you need to read the first book in the Conqueror series before reading this, but it is not vital. Conn sketches out the characters, locations and events very well and the story/history is excellent. Goodies and baddies developed well. My only criticisms are that I think the book is a little short, and I think Conn wraps it all up quite quickly. I dont think so far that this series has scaled the hights of some of the Emporer series, but still Conn is probably one of the best fiction/history writers around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 19 Oct 2008
I was going to give this book 4 stars, but I read the last half in 24hrs, I feel that any book that can draw me in such as this deserves a 5 star rating. It really is an epic story if you read and enjoyed'Wolf of the Plains' then you will love this. I particularly like that the story does not just focus on Genghis in fact there are times where the story leaves him behind and follows his brothers journeys, what's surprising is that the book is all the better for this.

In short it's well worth a read you will not be disappointed. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic story told by a master story teller, 19 Oct 2008
I was going to give this book 4 stars, but I read the last half in 24hrs, I feel that any book that can draw me in such as this deserves a 5 star rating. It really is an epic story if you read and enjoyed'Wolf of the Plains' then you will love this. I particularly like that the story does not just focus on Genghis in fact there are times where the story leaves him behind and follows his brothers journeys, what's surprising is that the book is all the better for this.

In short it's well worth a read you will not be disappointed. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow-up, 29 Jun 2009
Having read the first novel in this series and been pleasantly surprised I was not expecting this to be as good. Thankfully Iggulden does not disappoint and this novel continues where the first left off, with the same fast pace, easy story-telling and fantastic characterisations. Don't be put off by the dark cover - this is a colourful and exciting novel that will have you gripped whether you are a lover of history or just a fan of a good story, brilliantly told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant second installment of the Conqueror series, 29 Feb 2008
By 
Lance Mitchell (Hampshire, UK, Northern Hemisphere, Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lords of the Bow: The Epic Story of the Great Conqueror (Conqueror 2) (Hardcover)
Having united the tribes into the unified nation of Mongols, Genghis Khan and his brothers lead their great army into the land of the Chin. They encounter a new type of warfare, besieging great cities with high, strong walls and massive defensive weapons.

Keeping the tribes united is a difficult task and relies upon the brains of the great khan combined with his, sometimes shocking, ruthlessness. It works.

There are many sub-adventures, and there are new surprises for the reader around every corner. The only constant is the cunning plotting of the shaman, Kokchu, who is feared by all, even Genghis.

Once again, Conn Iggulden sweeps the reader along with his wonderful descriptive story-telling. The only disappointment for me is that, having finished this book, I am going to have to wait for the third and final instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next book in a fantastic story, 9 Dec 2008
By 
R. P. Colenutt (Newton Abbot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the 2nd book in the series about Gengis Khan and is better than the first - more action and large battles and less details about the hardship of living in (what is now) Mongolia. If you read the first book this is a no-brainer - you will want to read this one as well. This book can be read out of sequeance but I gurantee you will end up getting the first one as well to see how he got here!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great second novel in a brilliant trilogy., 18 Feb 2009
This is a great second novel from Con Iggulden, it's rare that I read a book that is as well written and just a very satisfying read. I couldn't help but smile after reading this and the previous book in this trilogy, learning about this amazing and complex historical figure. We get to see an in depth look at the man who was a husband, a father, a brother and a friend and then we get to see the brutal warlord who is the leader of the tribes who shows no mercy and who's brutality is renown.

This novel brings Genghis out of the Mongol steppes and leading his nation towards their ancient enemy the Chin. We'll see his reaction to the first site of the ancient walls of the Chin and how he felt about the first walled cities he has seen and how he will learn to conqueror and turn them to his own will. We also see his inner turmoil while trying to connect to his eldest son Jochi who may or may not be his child. As the conquest moves East and cities and countries fall at the Mongols feet the world trembles at the thought of were they will march next.

Brilliant historical fiction, Iggulden at his very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conn Iggulden does it again, 22 Oct 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Why cant Conn Iggulden write any faster? Have to say, another triumph. I love the way he writes, you feel like you are part of the whole journey. It's clever as well, because the heroes aren't heroes, there just as nasty as the bad guys, however they are your bad guys! Going to be depressed again now waiting ages for his next one :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bloody Empire, 22 Nov 2009
Extraordinary novel about the creation and rising of the Mongol Empire.

I wasn't so involved in a story since Shogun or Taipan, I was just unable to stop reading and bought all remaining 2 books while I was still in the mid of the Wolf of the plains.

Recommended, a delicious accurate historical fiction trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lords of the Bow: The Epic Story of the Great Conqueror (Conqueror 2)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews