Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jewish Daily Prayer Book for the 21st century
This fourth edition of the famous Singer's Prayer Book will make the same impact on the Jewish world today as the first edition did in 1890. Not only do the new layout, size, Hebrew font, instructions, rubrics and readability make it 'user friendly', but the new translations and insightful commentaries by the Chief Rabbi, Sir Jonathan Sacks, are surely going to become...
Published on 26 Nov 2006 by Betzalel

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Kindle Version is Poor
This relates only to the Kindle version, which I just tried now. The other versions of this book are very good and I have no complaint with them.

The Kindle version messes up the page layout, repeating pages of the hebrew and with the english section following the hebrew part en-masse, rather than page-by-page as in the hard copy version. This is particularly...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jewish Daily Prayer Book for the 21st century, 26 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Hebrew Daily Prayer Book (Imitation Leather)
This fourth edition of the famous Singer's Prayer Book will make the same impact on the Jewish world today as the first edition did in 1890. Not only do the new layout, size, Hebrew font, instructions, rubrics and readability make it 'user friendly', but the new translations and insightful commentaries by the Chief Rabbi, Sir Jonathan Sacks, are surely going to become the benchmark by which all other Hebrew/English Jewish daily prayer books are judged.

The Hebrew font has been designed to help those who want to read in the modern Hebrew pronunciation and the clarity of print in both Hebrew and English are excellent. The new elements of prayer will also be of great help to today's reader, whether at home, in the synagogue or when travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing new edition of the old reliable Singers Siddur, 1 May 2007
This review is from: Hebrew Daily Prayer Book (Imitation Leather)
This is a major re-working of the "Singers Siddur", the standard prayer book of the United Hebrew Congregations of the UK and Commonwealth.

The font has been changed to be more like the the popular Art Scroll. Some people think this is an improvement while others feel it is a retrograde step. I think it is a matter of taste.

Big improvements are:

(1) The addition of new prayers that are in Art Scroll and were not in the old Singers such as "ana b'koach" and "Yedid nephesh" in place with no page-flipping on Fri evening, and some new prayers for life events.

(2) Guide-markings to pronunciation (when to pronounce kamatz as "o" in sephardi pronounciation and when to articulate the "sheva") are most welcome.

(3) A wonderful complete retranslation has been done by the Chief Rabbi, Sir Jonathan Sacks. He has both a fine command of the English language and a deep knowledge of the Hebrew prayers so is well placed to do this.

(4) The new introduction to the prayer book by Chief Rabbi, Sir Jonathan Sacks has been highly praised as reason enough to buy this book.

(5) More guidance on what to do (actions for prayers etc) has been added and there are new footnotes by the Chief Rabbi that are worth reading.

(6) Efforts have been made to put home prayers like kiddush and havdallah on one page rather than page-flipping in the middle (as in the previous edition) but this has only partially been achieved.

You get a silk place marker which is a nice touch - the larger editions have 2 markers. Actually, I find I need more than that in practice. The binding and cover seem durable so far.

The fine comentaries from the centenary edition by the former Chief Rabbi Lord Jakobovitz have all been dropped so don't throw away your old "Centenary Edition" siddur which is still of great value.

This is new, fresh, more usable and I highly recommend it. I welcome the competition to the Art Scroll which is American, too literal minded and too prescriptive. Here is a new home-grown British Hebrew prayer book for the 21st century - A truly remarkable achievement for such a small Jewish community.

The new translations are a lot of fun to meet. Shema Yisrael is "Listen Israel". The head-tefillin are to be for "emblems between your eyes" rather that for "frontlets between your eyes" as in the older editions. Personally, I would have translated the passage in the shema "when you lie down and when you get up" rather than "when you lie down and when you rise" as the latter seems to me to lack verbal symmetry, but this is a tiny quibble. In the new Sacks edition, we give thanks and bless in the morning for the "mind"'s rather than the "cockerel"'s intelligence to distinguish night from day. Both translations are valid and it is nice to get the alternative, just for a change.

My only reason for giving 4 and not 5 stars to this "pocket edition" is that the one I purchased had a few pages on which the print was blurred (perhaps that was just a fault with the printing of my copy) and the tiny print of the pocket edition is hard to read unless your eyes are pretty good - on the other hand it is really handy to carry about and use.

Some intial print mistakes in the first printing have been corrected in the second printing (the joys of digital print layout).

Amazon seem to offer the best prices I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful little prayerbook, 19 Sep 2007
By 
J. Scott "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrew Daily Prayer Book (Imitation Leather)
While I'm very happy with this item, I felt I had to deduct a star for a couple of reasons. First, the print is *very* small. This is unavoidable when you have to put so much text into such a small volume (and it *is* nice that the book is easily pocket-sized.) But if you have less-than-perfect vision, you may have problems with this edition.

My second quibble is that Amazon describe this book as 'Leather bound'. This led me to expect that it would have the nice leather finish that you get on some Artscroll products. In fact, the cover on this book isn't leather at all, but quite nasty paper-thin vinyl. The book is still most certainly worth buying, but if you're expecting a nice leather finish, you'll be sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Presentation Edition is Superb !, 14 Mar 2008
By 
Mrs. J. Shaw "Booba" (Charente, France.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most reviews are about the 'pocket edition', which I find misleading. This full size hardback presentation edition is one of the most remarkable religeous books of this age. Elderly people will have no trouble reading it and this is my main reason for changing from the small version. It does not take long to get used to the modernisations of the familiar texts and I believe that anyone who accepts changes to our longstanding traditions will benefit from this book. In passing, I would suggest also that the book will become a family heirloom due to its beautiful presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Siddur available in the English Speaking World, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Stan Tarne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Living in Denmark, the only Siddurim available are either Swiss or German. The British Chief Rabbi Jonathan Sacks has really captured the Spirit of the United Congregation Service and Ritual in his Siddur and it's translation. The Service is perfectly shown with all of the intricasies of the Ashkenazi service on the different days of the week, Sabbath and also the High Festivals. A beautiful Siddur with great print and exactly as needed to follow the service in the Synagogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hebrew daily prayer book., 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrew Daily Prayer Book (Imitation Leather)
Searched all the London book shops for this prayer book, on line of course, and lo and behold Amazon sells it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great travel size siddur, 24 Nov 2013
By 
B. A. Howard "bradbox" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrew Daily Prayer Book (Imitation Leather)
The Amazon description of this siddur doesn't clearly state that it's a travel size. The actual size of the front cover is 9cm by 12.5cm.
The font size is quite small, so if you usually have problems reading small text, consider buying the larger copy of this siddur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent prayer book for clarity and guidance. The larger print is expecially helpful as is the clarification of the correct pronunciation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic translation with a modern makeover, 19 July 2008
By 
R. Muswell "-->Richard" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hebrew Daily Prayer Book (Imitation Leather)
On opening this siddur, you realise that it has been created with the reader in mind.
The type face is so easy to read, that even in this smaller edition, I found it as easy to read as the normal size artscroll.

With the addition and moving on certain prayers to the right place, this is a great companion when travelling (due to its size) or at home.

Amazon do have the best price around, and it is a great siddur to have with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Kindle Version is Poor, 8 Feb 2012
This relates only to the Kindle version, which I just tried now. The other versions of this book are very good and I have no complaint with them.

The Kindle version messes up the page layout, repeating pages of the hebrew and with the english section following the hebrew part en-masse, rather than page-by-page as in the hard copy version. This is particularly annoying when it comes to reading the commentary.

I understand why it's been done that way, to avoid interrupting the flow of the prayers, but it doesn't work. Between sections you then have to wade through a block of English text to get to the next bit, so in the end it doesn't achieve what I assume they're trying to do.

The chapter divisions also aren't very useful as it ignores their subdivisions.

It would be far better either to ditch the English sections completely, or change the layout so that English and Hebrew parts are on the same virtual page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hebrew Daily Prayer Book
Hebrew Daily Prayer Book by The United Synagogue (Imitation Leather - 4 Dec 2006)
8.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews