Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading
Well if you've clicked on this link odds are that you already know about our friend the Goatboy. This book is an absolute must have for any Hick's fans out there, perhaps the most in depth account of Bill's life there's ever been. I also read and loved 'American Scream' but Agent of Evolution is packed with far more insights and shared memories from Bill's closest...
Published on 8 April 2005 by MATTHEW R CARTER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, if not particularly revealing
The problem with writing about a deceased legend like Bill Hicks is that the story is always going to be subjective. There's no right to reply, so you never know what you should believe.

Unlike a normal biography, this book looks at Hicks from all angles at all times in his life. School friends, girlfriends and colleagues (though crucially no family) roll back...
Published on 26 Oct. 2010 by A. Marczak


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This book gives you the Real Bill Hicks, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Agent of Evolution (Paperback)
Knowing how close Kevin Booth and Bill Hicks were, and the fact that they had watched each grow from childhood kids to enlightened young men (and shared all the stuff that went down in between) made it a must read for me. Kevin tells it like it really was, as do other close friends and girlfriends. Not all of it is pretty, and we see some different sides and aspects of Bill's character that i felt were airbrushed from the Cynthia True book, although that book was a decent read. If you're a Hicks fan, and you'd love to get to the nitty gritty of the guy, this book is as good as it gets! You come away from it feeling you know the whole bloke, not just the brilliant driven comic genius side of him. Fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DREADFUL, 26 April 2013
Guess I shouldn't be writing a review as I couldn't even finish this book it's so bad and that's saying something, usually I finish everything. I got about half way and gave up. There's no structure here, it's just friends rambling on. Extremely repetitive. You think "right, got that now lets move on" and then there's someone else describing the same thing for the next 5 pages. If there had been an objective biographers voice in between parts from friends that would have knitted the book up. Keeping track of which character I was reading was irritating too. Pity, I love Bill Hicks and it would be great to see a professional biography of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Bill's mates down the pub" take on Bill, 16 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
Like the rest of the reviewers this is a book that I've anticipated for many years. It's certainly big enough, there's certainly enough stories about Bill but at the end of it I felt no closer to Bill than at the start.
Perhaps it's because the stories are simply that - an endless series of generic "guy" stories his mates tell which could be about anybody. Bill is reduced to an endless series of pub stories rather than a human being. Here's the tale of Bill doing coke, here's the tale of Bill injecting himself with heroin. What would have been more interesting in is WHY Bill was injecting himself with heroin, WHY sacred mushrooms meant the world to him. WHY he'd rather take mushrooms than take the biggest break of his entire career. What's missing is the emotional depth and background that would make you interested in the guys life, the reason why Bill was always so human and touching while a million other comics who do similar material are just obnoxious.
We learn practically nothing about the origins of Bill's comedy. How he developed his riffs, how he worked on the material and honed it, his physical comedy, his voices. We hear an enormous amount about his mediocre attempts at music which usually have Kevin Booth to the fore.
After looking forward to this book for years I found myself half-heartedly picking it up and almost forcing myself to read it in order to get to the end to just say "There, I've read it". It's a book where everything is seen through Kevin Booth's eyes. And for all the fact that Kevin Booth was Bill's mate it's apparent that he has very little in common with Bill. Booth doesn't have a sense of humour, he hasn't known pain like Bill, he isn't as passionate or anywhere near as intelligent or humble as Bill. My take is that Booth understands Bill even less than an average fan would. In the end this reads more like the Kevin Booth story than the Bill Hicks story.
No magic, no humour, no empathy. A major disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 32 Years On Planet Earth: Definitive Bill Hicks Book!, 14 Jun. 2005
By 
Elmer Dinkly (London, England) - See all my reviews
At long last, the definitive biography of the late American comedian and political philosopher Bill Hicks has been published. Written by his lifelong friend Kevin Booth, Bill Hicks: Agent of Evolution is an inside look at the fast times and early death of a comedic genius. When I spoke with Kevin for the interview that appeared in Maybe Quarterly # 02 (Spring Equinox 2005), he told me that he wrote the book by dictating "Bill stories" into a microcassette recorder as he took his pet wolves for their daily afternoon walk. This was a long process of remembering earlier days that had become clouded by both the partying and legend that now surrounds Bill Hicks, and Kevin mentioned that the process of writing this book took approximately five years.
As for the book itself, Kevin, having admitted that he is not a writer, worked with Austin, Texas USA entertainment writer Michael Bertin, who co-authored the book. However, Kevin has done something that Cynthia True could not achieve with her tepid biography American Scream, and that is to take the reader far into the private and personal life of Bill Hicks. Kevin was, after all, his lifelong friend, co-writer, and business partner. Together, Kevin and Bill co-founded Sacred Cow Productions, which continues on to this very day in Bill's memory. Today, the Sacred Cow website is the premiere Internet comedy website, which features the comedy of Joe Rogan and Doug Stanhope, as well as the truth-telling of broadcaster-documentary filmmaker Alex Jones of Infowars.com and Prisonplanet.com. Sacred Cow also contains numerous early audio and video performances of Bill Hicks, and for this reason alone, the website should be investigated and bookmarked by all of Bill's fans.
Kevin has been a tireless promoter of the memory and legacy of Bill Hicks, and he was wise to save all of his great inside stories for his own book. This was one of the failings of American Scream, which seemed to me a rote, perfunctory biography, with little in terms of true revelations concerning the life of Bill Hicks. For example, there is the legendary true-story of Bill and Kevin's Harmonic Convergence experience of the summer of 1987. This was the UFO experience about which Bill often spoke in his stage act. While Cynthia True reported this episode through hearsay alone, in Agent of Evolution, Kevin takes us directly to the Booth family ranch for what he himself described as "the most important event of Bill's life." I won't ruin the books' many surprises, but suffice to say that Kevin brings this event into proper perspective, where he describes total telepathic communication between Bill and himself, while they were both aboard a UFO. One might even imagine that this event was itself precipitated by the five-gram heroic dose of psychedelic mushrooms they both had taken earlier that same afternoon.
And so it goes for nearly 450 pages of interesting and amusing anecdotes, legendary encounters with various geniuses of comedy, and the loving tribute by a man who desperately misses his lifelong friend and spiritual brother. The reader is taken on a trip in the metaphoric backseat of the Hicks rocket-ride to fame and infamy, and all of the humanity and romanticism of Bill Hicks the humanist is represented in a faithful and loving manner. Kevin also provides insight into the demons that haunted Bill Hicks, and the angels that guided his career and life.
The best part of the entire book is where Kevin refuses to limit Bill to a two-dimensional cardboard cutout, where his life and early death could have been represented as a tragedy. Kevin also refuses to amplify the David Letterman censored Bill Hicks canard, and just as he told me personally during our interview, the Letterman incident was a minor issue that was blown all out of proportion merely because of Hicks untimely death. As Kevin said, "if he were alive today, we'd be laughing about this minor incident."
Some of the more interesting sections of the book provided details about Bill and Kevin's comedic Dark Side of the Moon, the incendiary and brilliant Arizona Bay. For those readers who are unfamiliar with the concept, Arizona Bay will be the resultant West Coast, once California, but more specifically, Los Angeles, finally falls into the ocean. Arizona Bay represented the creative symbiosis between Bill and Kevin, comedy and music, and ultimately, truth and lies. Perhaps it is no coincidence that Hollywood propaganda originates from this very state of California? Listening to Arizona Bay, it is easy to imagine the contempt that Bill had for the illusory Hollywood star-making machinery, and this book fills in the aspects about which I had always wondered.
Anyone who treasures the memory of Bill Hicks should pick up a copy of this book, as it was prepared in the most loving and respectful manner possible. The reader and Bill Hicks fan will learn more about what made Bill tick as an artist, whether it was music or comedy, or both. While it is sad that Bill is no longer here with us, I personally take solace in the idea that he is still busy at work, albeit on the other side, as for Bill Hicks in death, just as it was in life, his spiritual work is never done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Hicks Agent of Evolution and Mirth, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book that gives the best and most personal insight into the life of the late, great Bill Hicks. Jointly written by his close friend Kevin Booth, who is now a documentary director. This book is a very good companion to the movie American The Bill Hicks Story. If your a fan of Bill then this is a must, but even a beginner to planet Bill would love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful book about a beautiful man, 5 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Agent of Evolution (Paperback)
Bill Hicks gone too soon and only truly appreciated after he had left this plane to spread the word in what we hope is another dimension for needy than our own.

Kevin Booth his life-long compadre writes this deeply moving biography through interviews and anecdotes by his loved ones. A wonderfully easy read about an uneasy man. You don't want to finish the book as you know how desperately sad it will end.

A highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hicks sticks! He's now part of our culture., 25 Nov. 2011
Hugely enjoyable intimate and insightful. Bound to be the definitive Hicks biography. Occasionally there'll be something in the news or on TV that makes you think-"I"d love to hear what Hicks would have to say about this".
That's why Bill's missed by so many and matters so much! He's every bit as influential and vital to American culture as Lennie Bruce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Hicks. Never forgotten., 24 April 2011
I am so pysched to have gotten this book. Since I live in the United States of Advertising the book was being sold for ridiculous prices and since Bill really got his attention in England, why not buy a copy from someone outside of the US. I'm really happy I did and really appreciate doing business with the seller. Great business. Peace. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warts and all from Kevin Booth et al., 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Hicks: Agent of Evolution (Paperback)
A fantastic warts & all look into the life of quite possibly the worlds best stand-up comedian.
Kevin Booth (and many friends & colleagues) tell their favourite 'Bill' stories and anecdotes.

A real must for true Hicks fans.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Hicks Agent of Evolution, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book well written and a very good account of Hick' s life and work. Better than "Love all the People" which is just transcripts of his routines and who wants to read them?

Essential reading for any Hicks fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bill Hicks: Agent of Evolution
Bill Hicks: Agent of Evolution by Michael Bertin (Paperback - 3 April 2006)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews