Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten
This is a brilliant book. Up till now I used to describe my child as difficult and was trying to find quick solutions for problems. But this book helps you understand what goes in the little mind and what the reasons are for his behaviour. That made me look at him not as difficult but as a little being that needs help learning to express himself. I can tell you I haven't...
Published on 31 Jan. 2008 by J. Stogiewicz

versus
17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.......
I was very disappointed with this book. It's difficult to read, it is not a book you can dip in and out of if you need help with a particular area. There are too many sub sections and it is very difficult to follow (keeps referring back to previous chapters which you then have to re-read to refresh your memory!)
Although I agree with certain methods in attachment...
Published on 23 Feb. 2008 by Charley T.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten, 31 Jan. 2008
By 
J. Stogiewicz "JS" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. Up till now I used to describe my child as difficult and was trying to find quick solutions for problems. But this book helps you understand what goes in the little mind and what the reasons are for his behaviour. That made me look at him not as difficult but as a little being that needs help learning to express himself. I can tell you I haven't even finished the book yet but it already pays off in my son's behaviour. Some ideas like sleeping together are not for me but the general message of understanding and loving really does help with discipline. Highly recommended for every lost parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous nurturing book, 1 May 2006
By 
Dr. N. Wilson (Stroud, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful help for anyone who is trying to raise their child gently but firmly, in an attachment parenting way. I loved it, it made me reevaluate a whole host of things and also helped me to grieve my own upbringing. Can't recommend it more highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still reading, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
still reading this but so far so good, it doesn't give you exact tactics but it helps with understanding why behaviour as is. i guess every child is different so they cant say what to do exactly. but nice manual to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars especially good for beginners, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
a book that -in my humble opinion- every parent/ caretaker should read. Especially for "beginners" (because a beginners 'cup' is empty).

This book covers almost every stage in a child's growing up - in short. It is written with a few stories / examples from the writers own family, including a special needs kid.
They give their opinion how a parent/ caretaker should react to certain situations, like tantrums, biting, discovering sexuality, sharing (with siblings), etc. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of practical tips and useful insights, 29 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
Having found Sears' The Baby Book extremely useful in preparing for my first baby, I ordered the Good Behaviour Book hoping for more of his child-centred advice. I haven't put into practice any of the advice (still have 2 months of pregnancy to go!) but certainly what he writes is eye-opening and seems like it will be very useful in how to deal with a child, through their tantrums, their 'defiance' phase etc. He does emphasise how much effort and time parents need to put into parenting especially in the first couple of years of a kid's life so anybody looking for easy fixes won't find them here! Indeed, Sears continues with his promotion of attachment parenting and describes how it has been shown to be a very effective way of bringing about good behaviour. One final point, is that the book is written in a very down-to-earth way: there are no 'holier than thou' passages and Sears readily admits that he made similar mistakes to the ones he describes in bringing up his children with his wife. At this stage (preparing for a baby) I really value the book as a preparation for at least understanding how young children think and behave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sears. The masters... the only baby/child ..., 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
Sears. The masters...the only baby/child books to swear by. Yet to read it all but dipping in so far... All makes sense, as usual. Thanks Sears:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found this book to be very useful, especially the age appropriate advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed......., 23 Feb. 2008
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with this book. It's difficult to read, it is not a book you can dip in and out of if you need help with a particular area. There are too many sub sections and it is very difficult to follow (keeps referring back to previous chapters which you then have to re-read to refresh your memory!)
Although I agree with certain methods in attachment parenting (some I don't and that doesn't mean I don't love and understand my child for all you Sears fans out there), I found the book condesending. Parents know how deeply we love our children and that how we discipline them is hugely important, but do we really need the guilt trip?
All in all, sounds great but is it really practical? When you have a screaming toddler under your arm as you carry him out of the supermarket, I think not! Try Christopher Green instead, much better read and offers sound and practical advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Managing adhd behaviours, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
T. Bowden (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
I found this book in my local children's centre library and immediately turned to chapter 19 "discipline for special times and special children". My son has adhd, and I have found the advice on dealing with adhd associated behaviours to be invaluable and it has also given me a better understanding of adhd and what difficulties my son faces. I have read many articles on the internet and have other books about adhd, but the advice given in this book is by far the best I have read. For such an indepth book, it is a very good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best investment for a family!, 6 July 2011
This review is from: The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten (Paperback)
I can't recommend this book highly enough for anyone who wants to understand and engage with their child to achieve harmony in the home. I find (unlike a previous reviewer) it easy to dip into this book and any such moments are always time well spent. I go from feeling frazzled to feeling empowered to interact more positively during challenging moments with my child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Behaviour Book: How to Have a Better-Behaved Child from Birth to Age Ten
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews