Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book is packet with knowledge. It covers crucial topics that everyone who is in the corporate world has to deal. From that perspective this is definitely a must read!

The most negative aspect of the book in my opinion is the way the message is written. It is written from the perspective of a business man with a long and successful career.

So, I think people who already are in a corporate world and already have experienced in the first person of all or even some of the topics that are discussed in the book will get tremendous value from this book.

But, for the people that are now starting a career and doesn't now the corporate world, this book is written in a very academic way, meaning that is written with a series of definitions that makes sense, but, if you haven't yet deal in the flesh with those problems, the message isn't passed in a way that can be easily understood and put into to action.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
When I studied Business at university, I read many academic books that advocate complicated theoretical models and theories but have limited practical applicability. This book is the opposite. It is hands-on advice from someone who used to be one of the best CEOs in the world. It is immediately applicable in everyday business life. The title is perhaps a bit cringe-worthy but that's easy to get over.

I thought his other book 'Straight from the gut' is even more impressive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
I think this is one of the best management books written. It is clear and pragmatic without a lot of buzzwords and theory. I use it in our internal management training. Of course it is based on the American management stile which has to be translated into your local conditions but there are still many good examples and recommendations.Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Jack Welch is a social master, and his book teaches concrete lessons for an employee or a business owner to rise up the ranks in their career.

The book is fabulously written, and Jack gives some great advice on dealing with people in a whole manner of different social situations that is not to be missed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2011
This is an excellent text, not for everyone, but one for big achievers, it talks about reality which not everyone would like to hear, Jack reminds of writing style of Sumantra Ghoshal, recommended read for individuals who want to make significant impact at work and in best ethical and logical way,
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Have read the book many times and given copies to fellow business people. This is more than a guide to business it's a help in everyday life. Bob Welch has opened up how to get the best from difficult situations in a very readable way. I would recommend this book to everyone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
This book is a great distillation of what Jack Welch thinks is needed to win in business. It's all of it, from how to act after a take over to getting on with the new CEO. It's well written, persuasive and motivating. If you have a boss and work in a company, buy it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This book covers off everything you need to know about how to run a great business. I've already implemented some changes in my own business after reading this book. They're working wonders and we're growing more swiftly than we ever have before.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
Complete book reviewing all aspects of the business of a company through Welch's experience at General Electric, and how to handle them the best way. A good book to consolidade general knowledge for any business managers (beginner or confirmed)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
jack welch reading its own book?!
no time to sit and read as much as you want?
I listen it while i'm driving or running and i can really understand the meanning of it by the voice expression of mister welch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Jack: Straight from the Gut
Jack: Straight from the Gut by Jack Welch (Paperback - 22 Dec. 2003)

The Real Life Mba
The Real Life Mba by Jack Welch (Paperback - 24 Sept. 2015)

Good To Great
Good To Great by Jim Collins (Hardcover - 4 Oct. 2001)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.