Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Welch's approach and principles to business
Jack Welch was General Electric Chairman & CEO from 1981 to 2001 and is seen as one of the greatest business leaders of the 20st Century. Since his retirement in 2001 he has been travelling the world and spreaking to thousands of people during and following the promotional tour of his autobiography "Jack: Straight from the Gut" (2001). In this book he attempts to answer...
Published on 18 May 2005 by Gerard Kroese

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed towards middle managers
I would have liked to rate this book higher, but I felt that it was aimed specifically at middle managers. There were some shockingly truthful chapters, particularly about firing people, which I admired the author for including. However, I am not in that position in career at the moment, and hoped it would help and inspire me to grow for the immediate future. There...
Published 16 months ago by Steez


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The voice of experience, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I studied Business at university, I read many academic books that advocate complicated theoretical models and theories but have limited practical applicability. This book is the opposite. It is hands-on advice from someone who used to be one of the best CEOs in the world. It is immediately applicable in everyday business life. The title is perhaps a bit cringe-worthy but that's easy to get over.

I thought his other book 'Straight from the gut' is even more impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book (Paperback)
This book covers off everything you need to know about how to run a great business. I've already implemented some changes in my own business after reading this book. They're working wonders and we're growing more swiftly than we ever have before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this on a recommendation. It's a good motivation book, if you want to take over the world. but that's about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about true leadership read this book, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book (Paperback)
I have purchased a significant number of copies this book as it is 'set reading' I provide for most of my high end one:one clients. I came across the book shortly after it was originally released and was struck by the directness and 'edgy' style of the man who achieved so much for the giant GEC. Whilst there are areas which do not travel across the Atlantic too well, the way it challenges is brilliant.

As it is written by a practitioner, rather than an academic, it is right from the core of how to get results and ensure the economic security for a business. Ultimately securing employment for the people who work there, and other stakeholder in wider parts of the economy. There is much that seems tough, if you read the book completely though you realise that the objective of Welch was to provide the opportunity for people to succeed. And if they could not succeed in GEC to help them find their place elsewhere. Direct and truthful - and more copies will no doubt be purchased for future clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Business Advice Book, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book (Paperback)
Have read the book many times and given copies to fellow business people. This is more than a guide to business it's a help in everyday life. Bob Welch has opened up how to get the best from difficult situations in a very readable way. I would recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed towards middle managers, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book (Paperback)
I would have liked to rate this book higher, but I felt that it was aimed specifically at middle managers. There were some shockingly truthful chapters, particularly about firing people, which I admired the author for including. However, I am not in that position in career at the moment, and hoped it would help and inspire me to grow for the immediate future. There were some good points raised, and hopefully I will remember them in 20 years time, but a lot of it was slightly irrelevant to me.

All in all though, a good read. I will seek out more books by Jack Welch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars first audio book, excellent content, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning (Audio CD)
jack welch reading its own book?!
no time to sit and read as much as you want?
I listen it while i'm driving or running and i can really understand the meanning of it by the voice expression of mister welch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 Jan. 2013
Awesome, i really loved it.

Thanks !

You should buy this book. it's really helpful.

Thanks again, my best regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it!, 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book (Paperback)
This book is a great distillation of what Jack Welch thinks is needed to win in business. It's all of it, from how to act after a take over to getting on with the new CEO. It's well written, persuasive and motivating. If you have a boss and work in a company, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to read for any business managers, 23 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book (Paperback)
Complete book reviewing all aspects of the business of a company through Welch's experience at General Electric, and how to handle them the best way. A good book to consolidade general knowledge for any business managers (beginner or confirmed)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book
Winning: The Ultimate Business How-To Book by Suzy Welch (Paperback - 2 May 2006)
£11.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews