Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another enjoyable insight into life of the three clans
This book concentrates on the younger generation of the 3 clans(Emma Harte's great grandchildren) although of course her children and grand children make an appearance too. Because the family is so large I feel that we are losing the depth of character that Ms Bradford Taylor does so well hence only 4 stars. However as always she makes big business fascinating and...
Published on 3 Mar 2006 by Mrs. A. Wright

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lukewarm conclusion
I loved the first two books from this series but the last one really spoiled the pleasure as the end of this saga is not what I expected.

It seems Ms Bradford tried too hard to finish all the loose ends she started in the previous two books featuring the new generation and therefore the book seemes rushed and unfinished. Linnets "struggle" to cope with Hartes...
Published on 25 April 2006 by Manon Stemmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lukewarm conclusion, 25 April 2006
This review is from: Just Rewards (Paperback)
I loved the first two books from this series but the last one really spoiled the pleasure as the end of this saga is not what I expected.

It seems Ms Bradford tried too hard to finish all the loose ends she started in the previous two books featuring the new generation and therefore the book seemes rushed and unfinished. Linnets "struggle" to cope with Hartes is nothing compared to Emmas experiences. Again Ms Bradford managed to get confused with facts from previous books, even Robin's relationship with Evan's grandmother is now different from the book, where Evan appeared for the first time (can't remember the title right now).

I am glad I bought the book for a discount and think I won't buy Ms Bradford books anymore.

The two stars are mostly for the way Edwina is portrait in the book, I love her character in the new books, one of the good things comming from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so, 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: Just Rewards (Paperback)
According to the blurb on the back, there would be great tragedy. I seemed to have missed it.
Just seemed like a few more months in the harte clans lives. more weddings and births and thats about it.
The front cover said it was the conclusion of the saga, seems a shame as I loved all the others (well the early ones, the later ones are all so-so).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Un-just rewards, 14 Aug 2007
This review is from: Just Rewards (Paperback)
This book is nothing more than an excuse to get more money out of a gullible public. A Woman of Substance was a great book. Unfortunately the story has been pushed too far by far too many sequels - the last three books in particular seem to have been written by a monkey with a typewriter. There is no suspense, no drama, and some very woolly and much too perfect characters; I'd very much like to poke some of them in the eye because they are just much too 'nice'!

It's a great shame that the author didn't leave well alone and turn her efforts to producing an entirely new great book, rather than duping her loyal fans with this rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Disappointing, 30 Jan 2010
This review is from: Just Rewards (Paperback)
I hate to speak badly of the Harte series. The first one is a book I could read over and over without getting bored but I'm afraid it's a sad slide down hill from that point.
I think the main point is that none of the new characters have the likeability of Emma or Blackie or Winston etc. Just Rewards is, in my opinion, the worst for several reasons. Firstly it's so inconsistent with the previous books, I mean if I hear Edwina described as an "absolute card" one more time I will scream she was a stuck up snob with an attitude problem, I refuse to believe she has changed that much. And since when were her and Robin such great friends? From what I remember she was estranged from the family for most of his formative years so I fail to see at what point she became his "closest sister" what happened to the his twin that he couldn't be parted from? Robin being the other character who has done far too much of a volte-face for my liking- suddenly Jonathan is "far too much like Valerie" wasn't he Robin's son through and through not that long ago? I guess nobody else could be paraded as the mystery father.
Paula - Oh yes well known for being stuck in her ways and unwilling to change with the time. I'm pretty sure she was so well suited to the world of retail because she had vision and could move with the fast paced world of retailing. But I suppose that was back in the days when David Amory and Jim Fairley were killed by an avalanche in Chamonix not in a plane crash as this book seems to believe they were.
Also the apparent obsession with 'blood relatives' is distasteful as far as I'm concerned. I mean hell who cares about the adoptees? Treat them like second class citizens and dismiss them at every turn and then we are supposed to feel sorry for you when they get pissed off by it?
Linnet, Evan and even India are really unlikeable in my opinion and I feel no connection with them at all. They act like spoilt brats all the time whining and generally being bitches, apparently they never got the benefits of doing things for themselves at Heron's Nest.

Not considering the storyline and looking purely at the writing style it appears rushed and without heart to me. Every character looks so young for their age, pages are wasted on what people are wearing, apparently young people use archaic sayings and phrases and whilst I understand a desire to make the book capable of standing alone the 'recaps' of what has happened previously is laborious and too obvious.

In conclusion if you've read the rest of the series you might as well read this one, it would be silly not to but if your just looking for a new read don't waste your time on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly lacking, 18 May 2006
By 
Lis "chic_lit_addict" (Rotterdan, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just Rewards (Paperback)
Like so many others I loved the first three books in this saga. Sadly though the last three books just havent lived up to the first three.

There is one main theme throughout the last three books, Emma Harte the matriach of the family was a wonderfully strong, wise, canny woman and Jonathan Ainsley is the dangerous black sheep of the family. Luckily for him though there are enough family weddings for him to plot against the Harte clan.

Sadly Taylor-Bradford has lost her sparkle with the new generation of the Hartes and has become preditable. It seems to be time to finally lay Emma and her family to rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another enjoyable insight into life of the three clans, 3 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Rewards (Paperback)
This book concentrates on the younger generation of the 3 clans(Emma Harte's great grandchildren) although of course her children and grand children make an appearance too. Because the family is so large I feel that we are losing the depth of character that Ms Bradford Taylor does so well hence only 4 stars. However as always she makes big business fascinating and the family interactions are still as exciting and I did find the book enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Left disappointed, 20 July 2005
This review is from: Just Rewards (Hardcover)
The book is good but I have to be a pedant.
This book, as with the last, follows the TV adaptions of Hold the Dream and To be The Best, rather than the books - my point, in this book, David Amory and Jim Fairly died in Jim's aircraft. This happened in the TV adaptation, not in the book. What happend to the skiinig in Chamonix? Are we playing to the USA again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING VOICE PERFORMANCES, 10 Jan 2006
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Just Rewards (Audio CD)
Platinum penned Barbara Taylor Bradford has written the last in her Harte family series, which began with A Woman of Substance in 1979. Terry Donnelly, who reads the Unabridged version, and Kate Burton, who reads the Abridged edition, should both be dubbed golden voices.
Well remembered for her vocal performances of Emma's Secret and Unexpected Blessings, Burton needs no introduction. Daughter of Richard Burton she has numerous stage performances to her credit and delivers Bradford's stories with cool, crisp diction in an enjoyable to hear voice.
Familiar to TV audiences through her appearances on Law and Order, The Irish and How They Got That Way, plus others, Terry Donnelly possesses a stage trained voice that is perfectly suited to Bradford's unconquerable women.
With Just Rewards we find Emma Harte's descendants, most notably her great-granddaughter, Linnet O'Neill, who despite some family opposition wants to bring the family business up to date.
Her hopes are entwined with her sister's attempts to begin life anew after divorce, one cousin is planning a posh wedding, and another introduces trouble.

Bradford fans will find the conclusion to this romantic saga irresistible, especially as delivered by Burton and Donnelly.
- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite finished the book yet but it matches with all the other books in the series about Emma Harte & her descendants. Thoroughly enjoyed all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Rewards
Just Rewards by Barbara Taylor Bradford (Hardcover - 4 July 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews