Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel, or prequel?
This book is by far Darren Shan's best whether in the Vampire Series or the Demonata series. Honestly Idid not like the first book in theis series, because there was not enough action, he mostly concentrated on expressing Grubb's feelings.(which he doesn't do badly) Whereas in this book it is the opposite. The book is based around the fighting. He also includes the...
Published on 27 Mar 2006 by Ryan - H.M.H.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but pales next to Lord Loss
Although I thought that Lord Loss was amazing, Demon Thief was a little disappointing.

Kernel is a slightly more sympathetic protagonist than Grubbs Grady, and we do get a bit more of a feel for his life and family ties before disaster befalls him, however Demon Thief is much more of a standard tale of demon hunting that offered nothing especially original...
Published 8 months ago by Kim Dyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to stop reading when you start. Great use of language in the novel. It was action packed and never a dull moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reading my son could not put the books down.... buy them!!!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon Thief (The Demonata, Book 2) (Paperback)
My 14 year old son thought these were the best books he has ever read!
If you want to get your son interested in reading buy them!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lol, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the second book in darren shan was great to read and it was funnt o ssee the old charaters bakc in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 April 2013
By 
L. Simpson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon Thief (The Demonata, Book 2) (Paperback)
great i would recomend this product to a friend, as it was on time and as described. . . :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shan fan, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon Thief (The Demonata, Book 2) (Paperback)
Not as good as the vampire books but loved it all the same - very detailed apparently, although my son enjoys reading these they are not gripping him the same as the vampire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one in the Demonata series., 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good book, very descriptive and keeps you interested. I am an adult reader and although i think they are aimed at the teenage audience i am really enjoying them. Bought my daughter book 7 without realising that they were a series so were starting from the beginning and working our way through which is not taking very long as they are easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again Darren shan has blown my mind. Excellent writing would recommend to all. I wouldn't let very young children read these books but this is something i would have loved as a teen. Glad i have found him now. Lord Loss gets to you, he gets under your skin, Shan pulled the wool right over my eyes. I was shocked, caught out. You have just got to read this folks i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stuff from the shanster, 5 Dec 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Mr shan has unveiled an amazing piece of work, the premise of the book is that Kernel ( main character) has to enter the realm of the demonata to rescue his baby brother, who was stolen by a demon - seems like a typical rescue story right? Wrong, the plot in this book swiftly jumps off the rails into the world of the "demonata" where nothing is what it seems. Packed full of gore and a depth of story telling that left me able to picture every blood soaked wall, i'd reccommend this for anyone who could handle a bit of blood in their steak! The best part of this book is that if you have already read the first book of the new demonata series, then there will be some characters you will recognise from the first book, Lord Loss - although no Grubbs Grady as this book is set about 30 years before the events in Lord Loss. A great read - full of sharp turns ( and sharper claws ), this book will grab you like a demon and drag you down into it you'll only surface for breath to eat and drink! Another great read Mr shan! can't wait for Slaughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great!, 24 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon Thief (The Demonata, Book 2) (Paperback)
I loved the first of this series (Lord Loss), so really looked forward to Demon Thief. Honestly, I didn't think it was quite as good as Lord Loss, I didn't think it was quite as scary, and I didn't like the characters as much, but it is still a great book!

We see many new and interesting characters, the return of Dervish Grady (Grubbs' uncle), and of course, Lord Loss appears to wreak havoc!

I wasn't expecting Lord Loss to turn up in the other books, but it's great that he does, he's a brilliant demon lord! A great character, despite being the bad guy...

I don't think the story for this book is quite as addictive as the previous storyline was, but it is a great set-up for characters, who appear again and again throughout the series.

If you liked the first, read this, you'd be stupid to miss it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DONT LISTEN, 24 Oct 2006
This review is from: Demon Thief (The Demonata, Book 2) (Paperback)
DO NOTT LISTEN TO THE REVIEWS UNDERNEATH THIS ONE!!

this books is brilliant as are all of darren shans titles, yes it is gory and gruesome and i wouldnt recommend it to the younger children but these books arnt horror, they are fantasy that happen to have demons, the layers that are unfolding in this series are quite astounding.

The reason i imagine that the reviewer said that this was badly written is that all of Shans books are written in first person and for that they are very good, the dialogue is beleivable and you really feel for the characters.

a brilliant alternative or follow up series to that small unpopular one by JK Rowling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demon Thief (The Demonata, Book 2)
Demon Thief (The Demonata, Book 2) by Darren Shan (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews