Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
119
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2005
I am a fifteen year old girl who loves horror and everything in the genre.I've in fact read ALL of the vampire series by the same author so was expecting the same sort of style of writing and was quite surprised when reading this how GORY it was. If you've read the other books of Darren Shan you won't be surprised to know this book is still based around a boy and the creepy events in his life but this story is so different it can't really be compared! Another thing I founf was how some characters are very creepy even from small descriptions.Some scenes,well actually ONE in particular is NOT suitable for those who get scared easily,so this book is not recommended for children's bedtime reading unless nightmares are your thing! I really can't talk about the storyline itself as everything that could be said could spoil the story though it is a VERY good book and I'm very annoyed I finished it so soon as now I have to wait for the others in this set to be published!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2006
Like I said, best book he's ever written, if you've read The Darren Shan Saga, you'll know how good he is. He puts a lot of suspense into his books, really scary and at the start you have no idea what it's about and you think, "What the heck are the chess pieces on the front for!" A bit violent at the start, but that's Darren Shan for you!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2005
I started reading Lord Loss after finishing the saga of Darren Shan and I can tell you that they are totally different stories. This new adventure hits you in the very first chapter, when you get to encouter Grubs, the main character and his family, who are chess fanatics. The action begins with a demonic massacre. Luckily Grubs survives and moves in with his uncle to start a new life. A life of magic and demons. In my opinion this is a fantastic book about the supernatural. If you liked Darren Shan's Saga you will love Lord Loss but I warn you, this book will scare the hell out of you.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2006
do you like suspense, action, torment,chess(yes, chess), demons, weird dog things, and most importantly-the idea of covering your elder sibling with rat guts?

Lord loss is definitely for you

***WARNING***

by chapter 5, it gets soooooooo scary and disgusting you wuldn't believe it.

but it is an amazing book. The first of darren shans new demonata series. After reading this, I had to get the two books that succeeded it;demon theif and slawter, and am eagerly anticipating 'bec'.

Read it read it read it!!!!!!!

PS the saga of darren shan, his previous series, is also amazing. Read them too!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
A great read, coundn't put it down. Grubs and his uncle Dervish are terrific, and am pleased that they won the day.
It has started the series really well, although having read The Demon Thief, and finding Dervish in that as a youngster, it got me wondering if this should have been the first
in the series, and Lord Loss second.
Having now started and half way through Slawter, the third in the series, and finding Dervish again in that, and just trying to adjust to normal, after his battle with Lord Loss
in the first one, I am even more sure that Demon Thief should have been the first of the series.
Will find out more when I have completed Slawter.
Anyway for what it is worth, they are only my niggles, but must say without any doubt, that the storey lines are real brilliant, and keep you guessing, and away from the "goggle box".
Surprisingly these books are aimed at the younger reader, but must admit, that as a mature reader (will pass these books on to my Grandson for Xmas), I found
the Demon Thief quite frightening, yet extremely exciting, and the twist quite unexpected. Will not say who the thief is, read the book to find out, but I got it
wrong!!
Read and enjoy, once started, you can't put them down, they are that good (both Lord Loss and Demon Thief)
Will give another preview for the third one, Slawter, when I have finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2005
after reading all of Darren Shan's previous saga i was keen to start this one. just like the first it was a gripping read with a fantasic plot and an annoyingly suspended ending.i couldnt stop reading it and cannot wait until the next book is released. if you've read the first saga then i can asure you, you wont be dissapointed!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Arrived in fantastic condition the day after I ordered it. Perfect hardback book with an immaculate dust cover. Perfect read. A definite buy for any Darren Shan reader. Especially one who likes the Demonata series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2005
Ok it's hardto review this book without giving too much away as it hasn't yet been published, but I feel that having read the book I can safely encourage people that they ought to buy it. If you like horror and demons then this is the book for you.
I really feel that Darren Shan has made a brilliant transistion from his first saga to this one, and if you loved the Darren Shan saga, then you really will love this one - so order it - NOW! lol
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 10 June 2005
I made the mistake of telling my kids (fans of Shan) the plot of this novel on a long boring car journey and it freaked them out so much they had nightmares. This is defintely for teenagers, and ones with strong stomachs, because it's about a stroppy boy, Grubbs, who comes home unexpectedly and finds he has opened the door to Hell, where three horrific demons have killed his parents and big sister in a welter of blood and nastiness. Grubb escapes, and pf course when he gets to the police everyone believes he's insane, and that Lord Loss and his sidekicks Artery and Vein, are projections of his imagination. Only when his uncle Dervish visits him in the asylum and shows him a drawing of Lord Loss does Grubb begin to understand why his family were so obsessed with playing chess, and the curse which lies on them all - including his new friend and half-brother.
Like a first-rate slasher movie, this is a book you can't tear your eyes away from. It's got a cracking plot, and cinematic pace and a prose style that would be swarming with flies if it were a piece of meat. I was one of Shan's earliest fans, but this is even better than his vampire opera.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2006
Fantastic. There i am, annoyed at the end of the saga of darren shan( top set of books!!!) and what does Mr. Shan hit me with? A gory, fast paced, scary, unusual but fantastic story. If you haven't read i strongly suggest tha you do!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse