Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guid work, loon!
This is the third book in the series, and MacBride is really getting into his stride now. Some of the things that irritated me about the previous two have gone - notably the poor descriptions of the city, and some of the wackier character traits have been toned down - and the things that have kept me reading this series - the taut plotting, realistic characterisation and...
Published on 10 Feb 2008 by Bee of Good Cheer

versus
49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars beware
please note this book, marketed as Bloodshot, is actually Broken Skin by another name. I have just purchased it having already bought and read Broken Skin( which was fine) am now returning my spare copy.Bloodshot (Logan McRae)
Published on 9 Oct 2008 by S. Harman


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guid work, loon!, 10 Feb 2008
By 
Bee of Good Cheer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Broken Skin (Paperback)
This is the third book in the series, and MacBride is really getting into his stride now. Some of the things that irritated me about the previous two have gone - notably the poor descriptions of the city, and some of the wackier character traits have been toned down - and the things that have kept me reading this series - the taut plotting, realistic characterisation and black humour - are even better than before.

This one is also an improvement on the others in that there is more social commentary - the power of celebrity and the glitter around footballers comes in for a bit of a satirical poke - even though these days, Aberdeen FC are no great shakes (losing 5-1 to Celtic today, at Pittodrie. Oh for the days of European Cup glory under Alex Ferguson ...)

I hope that the series continues to improve, as I'd like to see Aberdeen on the literary tourist trail!

PS Yes, it is as wet and cold in Aberdeen as it appears in the novel, it isn't literary licence for atmosphere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN EVER............................................., 20 April 2008
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Skin (Paperback)
MacBride can not get better than this.
I would strongly advise if you have not sampled the series that you start with the first and read on.
Herein we have the same old characters in all their glory. DI Steele excels better than ever before. DI Insch grumbles and chews his way through 600 pages.
There are numerous plots which twist and turn, but the humour is over the top. MacBride is Rebus and Terry Pratchett all in one. He takes serious topics and with outstanding, realistic characters and more than its fair share of laughter, makes a thoroughly readable book which is impossible to put down.
Seriously looking forward to number 4 in the series.
Keep them coming Mr MacBride before I start to go through withdrawal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raintown, 8 Jun 2007
By 
Ian Paterson "exiledscotsman" (Newcastle Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No doubt about it Stuart MacBride is here to stay. Broken Skin is the third in the series of DS Logan "Lazarus" McRae set in Aberdeen

Having read the first two novels Cold Granite and Dying Light I was looking forward to this and it doesn't disappoint. I do think though with so many characters and back stories from the previous books, that newcomers to MacBride would benefit enormously from reading the books in sequence.

Like other reviewers have mentioned the best character is the chain smoking DI Steel and after her being a minor role in the first book she is now front and centre with Logan and this book is better for that.

As usual their isn't just one case to solve, a serial rapist and a murder that looks like BDSM gone wrong or is it ? Easy to get sucked into this book after only a couple of chapters after 60 pages I couldn't believe how much had already happened. I think there's enough plot and twists that at no point did I feel the story slowed down.

No question in my mind that we will see Logan on our TV screens very soon mind you who ever decides to film it is going to have to buy a huge rain machine.

With Rebus due to retire next year MacBride has surely created his successor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far, 16 May 2008
By 
Jeff "roadrunner" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Broken Skin (Paperback)
Definitely the best of the three books so far but if you haven't read the first two yet, I recommend you do so as this one will feel better if you have. I had worried at the end of the last one that McBride was getting himself into a rut of writing some pretty horrific stuff which can be unpalatable to many [and I mean really horrific!] but this one doesn't have that in the same way. Brutal crimes, yes, but he's begun to handle things differently. Bit more about real people rather than decomposing bodies. Especially good on the mental effect of rape. Still some problems remain however. First, I wish he'd drop sex crimes involving children. Also, he needs to start widening the scope of his characters. This book is good in that he does develop Insch much more and Steel becomes a bit more likeable but he'll need more staple figures if this is to become a long series. I loved the ending!!!!!!!!! Absolutely no give-aways but it lends itself brilliantly to the next novel. Need to know what happens!!!
Not fair, I think, to say he's better than Rankin. Certainly not so far. Rankin's first three or four weren't too brilliant as I recall and nowhere near as good as what he's writing now. Also, don't forget it's Rebus that's retiring, not Rankin!! Anyway, thoroughly recommended. I'm looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three gets better, 5 Mar 2008
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broken Skin (Paperback)
This is the third book I have read by Stuart Macbride, (I have read them in sequence)and they just keep getting better. In this story Logan McRae is involved in several different cases, all of which are gritty and real. I am not sure that so much intense policing would go on at once, but who cares. This just adds to the excitement of the book. One word of caution, there is a lot of swearing, but this enhances rather than detracts from the storyline. I found myself immersed in the story and the lives of the characters and was rooting for the good guys every step of the way. This is an excellent book, with a tight storyline and characters which are believable. I would highly recommend this, and any other Stuart Macbride book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars beware, 9 Oct 2008
By 
S. Harman (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
please note this book, marketed as Bloodshot, is actually Broken Skin by another name. I have just purchased it having already bought and read Broken Skin( which was fine) am now returning my spare copy.Bloodshot (Logan McRae)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimp masks and little old ladies, 1 May 2007
By 
James Oswald "JamesO" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stuart MacBride's third novel featuring Detective Sergeant Logan McRae is another gripping tale from a writer fast establishing himself in the top ranks. This is dark and gritty, but as usual delivered with flair and an underlying black humour.

MacBride's great skill is in creating a detailed cast of supporting characters to help his beleaguered detective. This book sees a return of the old favourites - sweetie munching Insch, womanising Steel and Jackie 'Ballbreaker' Watson, living up to her name - plus a new one: PC John 'Spanky' Rickards, whose knowledge of the Aberdeen bondage scene proves invaluable.

If you liked Cold Granite and Dying Light, you don't need me to tell you to read this book. If you haven't read either of Stuart MacBride's previous titles, I suggest you go out and buy all three now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this was a take on !!!!, 3 Aug 2009
By 
this book had already been published under another title in the UK
you did not mention this when I purchased it. I already have this book and had no reason to waste money on purchase and postage for something I did not need. This is not the first time this has happened a Lee Child novel was up for sale under a new title a little while ago. Please warn customers when you are doing this. Its bad form to treat customers in this fashion. I would be interested to know what you are going to do about in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip roaring read, 19 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Broken Skin (Paperback)
This is the third book in the Logan MacRae series and I have read them in order. I agree with others who say that it's his best so far. It's fast paced, shocking, funny and very engaging. At no point does the plot slow up and we meet old favourites like Insch, Steele, Jackie, Rennie, Izzy and Miller ... and Logan is still the only sane one among them!

I think it's unfair to criticise the novel for it's (lack of) realism or to say that the characters are comic-book because this is pure fiction at its best. MacBride's skill is his ability to take realism and caricaturise it for our reading pleasure.

I was glad that the irritatingly hyperactive sweetie-popping and cigarette puffing references with regard to Insch and Steele were toned down a bit. Having said this, I wouldn't like to see them eliminated completely as I do enjoy the comedy of Insch venting his frustration by biting the heads of jelly babies.

Incidentally, one review here (which 12/16 others found helpful!) warns that Broken Skin is the same book as Dying Light and it is NOT! It's the same as Bloodshot which is its American title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the easily offended!, 23 May 2007
By 
C. Henley "CarlieCat" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not for the easily (or the not so easily) offended!

This is the latest in the Logan McRae series and is definitely better than the second which I found didn't quite live up to the promise of his debut.

A series of intertwining murders and rapes find DI's Insch and Steel at each others throats once again with poor Logan caught in the middle. Girlfriend Jackie becomes more unhinged, the postmortems are gruesome, the lawyers and journalists their usual slimy selves and the immersion in the bondage and porn scene is fairly full-on.

Well-written with several laughs and I agree a great new character in PC Spanky - just hope we'll see him again!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Skin
Broken Skin by Stuart MacBride (Paperback - 2 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews