Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5th in the series
Definitely worth reading if you are already a fan of the series. Fans of Ms McDermid's Tony Hill series may not enjoy this as much because the Lindsay Gordon books manage to be more lighthearted even though it also deals with murder.

The characters are all witty and there are several 'laugh out aloud' moments in this book.

It's been a while since the...
Published on 21 July 2006 by RD

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual standard
A fairly interesting read but not up to McDermid's usual standard. Intricate, but not quite believeable, plot. Some interesting characters but not enough information about them or their relationships with each other. Having read other books by this author, and finding them superb reading, this book left me a little disappointed.
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by D. Jessop


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5th in the series, 21 July 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Definitely worth reading if you are already a fan of the series. Fans of Ms McDermid's Tony Hill series may not enjoy this as much because the Lindsay Gordon books manage to be more lighthearted even though it also deals with murder.

The characters are all witty and there are several 'laugh out aloud' moments in this book.

It's been a while since the mess Lindsay got into over the murder of Tom Jack in 'Union Jack' and she is now back in the States with Sophie.

Unfortunately a good friend from Frisco gets murdered while in London and her former lover (also a friend of Sophie and Lindsay's) is the prime suspect. Lindsay flies to England in the hopes of finding the 'real' killer but as usual gets caught up in a more deadly game than she expected.

The book is well written with lots of hair raising moments to compliment the more jovial ones. The dialog and descriptions are, as always, spot on.

This is a very enjoyable read and i sincerely hope Ms McDermid doesn't call it quits with the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual standard, 23 Jun 2010
By 
D. Jessop (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Paperback)
A fairly interesting read but not up to McDermid's usual standard. Intricate, but not quite believeable, plot. Some interesting characters but not enough information about them or their relationships with each other. Having read other books by this author, and finding them superb reading, this book left me a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lindsay, Meredith, Stella, Helen et all. Give me a man., 8 Sep 2010
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Paperback)
This was my first and last foray into Val McDermid. A friend told me her early books were very good but that the author seems to have given in to her lesbian obsession. Nothing wrong with that and I'm all for social issues playing their part in stories, it makes them more life-like, but let's have some variety and a few men in the plot. This did not stir me at all. I found it mediocre and tedious and I certainly did not chuckle at the funny bits. I didn't find anything in this book even slightly amusing. It could have been good - the plot was unusual but lost its way amongst all these annoying women who all seemed to have had relationships with each other in previous times. I found it exasperating to follow. For the most part the characters were like cardboard cut-out figures, lacking any grit or substance. Oh dear this feels harsh but that's how I found it. Totally forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Garry Iles "Gazza" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Kindle Edition)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I normally love Val McDermid, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Kindle Edition)
But this is not one of her best. It's a bit too jaunty and unengaging, and I found I wasn't particularly interested in finding out the denoument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pedestrian and predictable, 2 May 2013
By 
Avid reader "Janet" (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Paperback)
After reading the author's "The Mermaids Singing" (the first Tony Hill book) and enjoying it tremendously I had high expectations for this book. I was however disappointed by the flimsy writing style, and the lack of depth and credibility of the characters. After enjoying the incredible detail and complexity of the plot of The Mermaids Singing, this novel seemed trivial and lack-lustre. A great disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Val McDermid, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Paperback)
Another excellent read by Val. Have all of her current books now and none of them disappoint. Fantastic read by all murder mystery addicts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lindsay to the rescue again!, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Kay (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Paperback)
Booked for Murder The best, so far, of the Lindsay Gordon mysteries. Once again flying across the world in aid of a wrongly accused friend. Whilst solving that case, at serious cost to her own health, she even manages to save another friend from scheming business partners, well done Lindsay and well done Val.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Booked for Murder, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Paperback)
This now reads as being set in a primitive time, just because nobody has mobiles and tablets in every pocket and e-publishing isn't really on the table. It was only written in 1996.
I have read a more complex and better story by McDermid called The Distant Echo - set in freezing Scotland and beginning with four drunken students, following their family lives. I had hoped for more of the same but this one didn't match up.
However, for the many people interested in publishing this will provide insights and humour behind the scenes. A bestselling prolific author of a series somewhat like Harry Potter, and about to be made into a TV series, is killed. The trigger is obviously her foray into adult works. This occurs in England and for some reason nobody will do but an ex-journalist living in America, to investigate quietly.
There are many women in this book and I could only name two or three as distinct characters. They are almost all gay women and several come across as cardboard cutouts with no issues in their lives other than coming out of the closet. That was a shame, because I would have liked more insight into these people and a more rounded set of characters. Lindsay, the protagonist, is a bright but not that bright woman who is manipulated into investigating her friend's death and seems to have no pressing work commitments or indeed need to earn a living.
Overall a decent read, but she's written better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring & predictable, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booked for Murder (Kindle Edition)
I have read other Val Mc Dermid novels & enjoyed them but this one I found boring & rather badly written. Can not recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Booked for Murder
Booked for Murder by V. L. McDermid (Paperback - 3 Jan 2005)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews