Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most complex of the Lindsay Gordon's
There is a quantum leap between 'Common Murder' the second book and this one. I don't know what changed but something certainly did. This book has the glimmerings of the promise that would come to fruition in Mermaid's Singing. The plot is far more congruent and complex, with a very nice twist. I'd recommend it as probably the best of the 5.
Published on 3 July 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bored...stopped reading it
Bored...stopped reading it. FIrst few chapters did not engage me in the theme or the characters. Others beckoned that were much more engaging.
Published 21 months ago by Renaissanceali


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most complex of the Lindsay Gordon's, 3 July 2000
By A Customer
There is a quantum leap between 'Common Murder' the second book and this one. I don't know what changed but something certainly did. This book has the glimmerings of the promise that would come to fruition in Mermaid's Singing. The plot is far more congruent and complex, with a very nice twist. I'd recommend it as probably the best of the 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Third Lindsay Gordon mystery installment is a must read, 19 Mar 1997
By A Customer
Reporter Lindsay Gordon learns the hard way that you can never go home again. When she returns to Glasgow after staying away for awhile due to the political repercussions from her previous investigation (see COMMON MURDER, a very good novel), she quickly finds out that her lover Cordelia Brown has found someone else, Claire Ogilvie. Lindsay's former lover, journalist Alison Maxwell, is dead, allegedly killed by one of Claire's former mates, Jackie Mitchell, who has been convicted of the crime. This may sound like "who's on first", but it is more lucid in the novel.
.... .. Claire has chutzpa as she asks Lindsay to investigate Alison's death because she believes that Jackie is innocent and wants new information for the appeal. Lindsay decides to look into the case for her own personal reasons. As Lindsay digs deep into the life of Alison, she realizes two startling facts about her swinging lifestyle. Alison had numerous lovers and wannabe lovers, and the case is much deeper than a simple murder. It leads to blackmail, prostitution, and espionage involving stolen classified government documents. If Lindsay is not careful where Alison's threads take her to, she may find herself as the next victim.
.... .. DEADLINE FOR MURDER is an exhilarating mystery novel that has numerous interesting characters, not the least being Lindsay. The story line is like the beginning of a roller coaster as it starts slowly up the incline and suddenly takes off at warp speed. Though the ardent feminism may turn off some readers, it really should not stop most mystery fans from enjoying a good book. Val McDermid, author of the Kate Brannigan series, is clearly in her element with this fabulous feminist mystery.

......Harriet Klausner
-----
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Edition, 22 Feb 2009
By 
RH Strike "Fan of a Good Read" (Northampton England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Edition (Paperback)
I am a fan of Val McDermid and I am reading the Lindsay Gordon mysteries.
I have just reading "Final Edition" and so far I think to be the best of the Lindsay Gordon series. I am not used to reviewing books, but I really liked the story. I am really sure that Val McDermid must write more Lindsay Gordon/Kate Brannigan books as they are among her best.

Rachel Strike
47 Ardington Road
Northampton
NN1 5LP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but I preferred the Kate Brannigan books, 24 Jun 2000
By 
Mr. D. J. Carr "David Carr" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I recommend buying the five schoolgirl detective "Lindsay Gordon" books and the five Manchester private eye "Kate Brannigan" mysteries, then reading them chronologically. You will then benefit from the continuing storylines of the main characters as well as seeing how the modern thriller-writing skills of Ms McDermid developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brain teasing continues, 8 July 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Final Edition (Paperback)
This is the third Lindsay Gordon mystery and finds her returning from hiding in Italy after the drama in the second book.

She finds that life hasn't stopped while she was away and a lot has happened. Cordelia has moved on after giving up on her return, a former lover has been killed and a friend accused of the crime.

She is asked to help prove her friend is innocent which as always gets her caught in a lot of tight spots. It turns out a lot of people had reasons to kill her former lover including a few of her own friends.

Lots of twists and turns to keep you on your toes and once again Ms Mcdermid doesn't shy away from the personal lives of her characters and their emotions.

Lindsay finds love again but not before she finds out about the deep dark secrets her friends hide.

A good read in the series with a well written, good and realistic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bored...stopped reading it, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Final Edition (Kindle Edition)
Bored...stopped reading it. FIrst few chapters did not engage me in the theme or the characters. Others beckoned that were much more engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius as always, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Edition (Kindle Edition)
Great read never disappointed with Val !! Keeps you entered all the way to the end ,never a dull moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Edition (Kindle Edition)
It was ok - not one of her best. Lindsay tries so hard to please her lovers, until she becomes unfaithful, as she seems to do quite a lot. The plot was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Jun 2013
By 
John Leishman (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good read but not happy with condition as it was sold as "very good condition" and it was not. So disappointed in that respect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tepid thriller, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Edition (Kindle Edition)
Again lesbian characters which seems to be the recurring theme for McDermids early books, not always necessary. A few male characters that are not all vad would be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Edition
Final Edition by V. L. McDermid (Paperback - 6 Dec 2004)
£5.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews