Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But only for Scrabble!
I hate this dictionary.

It has a very strange choice of words. For example it doesn't include the word 'zen', but it does include 'sarmies' (apparently that's a common abbreviation for sandwich, like 'sarnies').

It's full of oddities like that, but this is the lexicon any computerised Scrabble game uses. So if you want to play Scrabble on your DS or...
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by Rosey Lea

versus
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another embarrassingly poor Collins Scrabble book
On the face of it a handy Gem-size Scrabble dictionary with definitions sounds like a good idea, especially for travelling Scrabble players but, prompted by comments in another review, I took a careful look at the content. There appears to have been very little lexicographical editorial control. A few examples:
Included letter names: AR EF; Excldued letter names: EM...
Published on 2 Jan 2008 by A. J. Simmons


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another embarrassingly poor Collins Scrabble book, 2 Jan 2008
This review is from: Scrabble Dictionary (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
On the face of it a handy Gem-size Scrabble dictionary with definitions sounds like a good idea, especially for travelling Scrabble players but, prompted by comments in another review, I took a careful look at the content. There appears to have been very little lexicographical editorial control. A few examples:
Included letter names: AR EF; Excldued letter names: EM EN ES
Included Greek letters: ALPHA GAMMA CHI; Excluded Greek letters: BETA PHI
Included Interjections: AH HI OI UM - excluded interjections AW EH ER.
XI and XU are mentioned in an introduction but are not listed.. and so on.
The Chambers Family Dictionary is a much better book for family Scrabble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what the...?, 24 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrabble Dictionary (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This is a truly awful item.

It is certainly not a comprehensive list of allowed words and you get the impression that Collins GEM got the office junior to knock it out in the coffee break! Word entries are mixed together in some cases.

Would recommend you just buy a normal dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But only for Scrabble!, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hate this dictionary.

It has a very strange choice of words. For example it doesn't include the word 'zen', but it does include 'sarmies' (apparently that's a common abbreviation for sandwich, like 'sarnies').

It's full of oddities like that, but this is the lexicon any computerised Scrabble game uses. So if you want to play Scrabble on your DS or PC, this book is the list of acceptable words.

This book does help when you've only got a Q, X and P left, but my primary use for it is checking that the bizarre words my computerised opponent plays aren't just spelling errors in the program!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scrabble Dictionary (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This is far from being 'essential for all Scrabble players'. In fact, if you go to any Scrabble club or tournament armed with it, you'll get polite acknowledgement before being quietly taken aside and informed that despite being endorsed by Mattel, it's not used.

I realise that some only want a quick reference for playing Scrabble socially, but this is a very poor one to use and is best avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is truly the biggest waste of money ever, 30 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrabble Dictionary (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
What an appalling little book this is. I was somewhat sceptical that such a small dictionary could contain the permissible Scrabble words, but the Scrabble endorsement (and let's face it - they have called it the Scrabble Dictionary) and the Collins brand persuaded me that somehow they had managed it. If they left out the half hearted definitions (who cares what the word actually means when you have been challenged on a word) and just filled the book with words they might have pulled it off. But no. Even simple conversational words have been omitted. This is the book to buy if you wish to start a knife fight over a game of Scrabble. However if you prefer your games to be fun filled events, avoid this misleadingly named item like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. K. B. Tifla "super shopper" (england, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A Scrabble dictionary is what it is but the disappointment came when I discovered that it was a POCKET-SIZE dictionary! The description did not mention anything about this thus I am utterly disappointed & frustrated... Not a satisfactory buy at all. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate, 16 July 2009
By 
R. Marks (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This dictionary does not have all the words that are allowable in Scrabble. It does not have a separate 2 and 3 word listing which the Chambers book has, and which is very useful, but instead lists them at the beginning of each letter, which is not as handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 11 July 2009
By 
Mrs. G. Streeter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We were very disappointed with this little book, we bought it as described for taking on holiday or to the beach to go with our travel scrabble. I am not sure what it is supposed to represent. The words we have looked up have not been found in there but are in other regular offical scrabble word books and dictionaries, so we have found this book to be frustrating and a waste of time, you still have to take all your other reference books with you so it defeats the object. Very misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scrabble dictionary,a bible for scrabblers, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ever wanted that elusive word, words that rattle round in your head,forgotten how to splel,sorry i mean spell them,well here it is,all in one book,words that are familiar,and that are not,old words and new,and some you havent heard of,all are vital in winning that fantastic game called scrabble.
A must for scrabblers world wide.
i brought the 2009 version,small but very informative,great for poping in my handbag,or carrying in my pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SCRABBLE DICTIONARY, 12 Nov 2009
It is not as good as its equivalent dating 1996, although it has the words explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrabble Dictionary (Collins Gem)
Scrabble Dictionary (Collins Gem) (Paperback - 3 May 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews