Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the knots you'll ever need.
A top little book with clear instructions and colour photos of all the basic knots. The only trouble with the book is that as it's so small, it's very difficult to keep the pages open whilst you are trying to tie a new knot.
Published on 25 Oct 2001 by red_monkey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To few knots
This contains classic knots in a easy to follow format but there are so many more useful knots which could have been included. Also I think it needs more on what the knot is useful for.
Published on 30 May 2012 by Duncvr4


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the knots you'll ever need., 25 Oct 2001
By 
red_monkey - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Gem - Knots (Paperback)
A top little book with clear instructions and colour photos of all the basic knots. The only trouble with the book is that as it's so small, it's very difficult to keep the pages open whilst you are trying to tie a new knot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners, 11 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
The book literally fits into the palm of your hand. But you'd be surprised how clear the photos are. It's so easy to follow. Before I read this I knew how to tie 2 different knots, 5 hours later, I mastered an extra eight, only 24 left to go!
If I managed to learn this fast then it MUST be a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful little book!, 24 July 2010
By 
R. Moffatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I bought this book to entertain grandchildren on a long flight - it certainly did that! Do not forget to purchase a few pairs of bootlaces in different colours beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 2 July 2011
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This pocket sized book is a useful little extra, but I'm not sure who it's aimed at. Anyone who uses knots in the outdoors environment will learn all the knots they need before heading out, so they don't have to consult a book in an emergency situation. Having said that, there are some knots in here which are not covered in other books, but they are mostly decorative. For a much more useful 'tool', look at John Shaw's 'The Directory of Knots'. It covers a great many knots, with easy instructions, and (for those who are interested) a history of many of the knots he includes (etymology etc). If you require a pocket book, the Collins is good - otherwise the Directory of Knots will sit open on it's own while you practice at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Excellent book for anyone who wants to learn practical every day knots. Just an excellent size to carry in the backpack as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sheepshank Redemption, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Smashing Crockery (Walsall, West Mids) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Decent beginner's guide on how to tie some basic knots. It provides step-by-step photos/instructions and multiple knot variations in some cases, e.g. bowline, double bowline. It also briefly explains what the knot's used for.
There's a section on decorative knots at the end which I mostly didn't bother with, but learned all the rest so the instructions work.
It probably goes without syaing that no string/rope of any kind included with book so you may have to buy some too. Couldn't possibley advise what's best although I can tell you that I used a length of about 80cms of webtex para cord which is relatively cheap and worked fine, though ends start to become frayed after a while. It's so cheap though, you can just cut the ends off or cut another length without losing any sleep.
I found I needed to practise tying new knots about 5 times before I stood a chance of remembering how to do it.
The book's fun, a good travelling companion, and could actually be useful one day; of course definitely useful if you're due to go camping or on expedition somewhere.
I'd definitely recommend this book to children aged ~9 upwards, and of course adults with a leaning to this kind of thing(if they like Ray Mears, they'll probably like this!).
One of the more applicable/useful Collins gem books in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To few knots, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This contains classic knots in a easy to follow format but there are so many more useful knots which could have been included. Also I think it needs more on what the knot is useful for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knots review, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
i purchased this book and was quite impressed with it, it is however very small in size, approx 4inches by 3 inches. this ended up being an asset as you can easily fit it in your pocket. the book is easy to follow and has many different types of knots both practical and ornamental. you can not be robbed at this price and everyone should have the basics of tying good knots for a variety of different occasions. when the girlfriend wont let you watch the football for instance!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a Book, 22 Nov 2009
By 
William Yeomans (Loughborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Great handy sized reference for knots will fit easily in your pack if you wish. Very clear instructions, what more could you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic Knottery, 3 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knots (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
This is a well illustrated but small book; the instructions are clear which is the point! I doubt anyone will have difficulty following them, it is just remembering them afterwards that is the challenge, but you cannot blame that on the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knots (Collins Gem)
Knots (Collins Gem) by Trevor Bounford (Paperback - 7 Feb 2005)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews