Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful new field guide to the flowering plants of Britain and Ireland
I confess to being a field guide addict, so when I this new Collins Flower Guide at the Birdfair, I knew I had to get it. The previous titles in this series - birds, butterflies and trees - are the definitive guides to their respective groups; indeed Collins Bird Guide, in my opinion, sets the standard as the best field guide to an avifauna anywhere in the world. So...
Published on 4 Nov. 2009 by Christopher J. Sharpe

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's illustrated egg
If you're seeking a simple field guide, this will be useful up to a point. It covers grasses and sedges too, which the better The Wild Flower Key (Revised Edition) - How to identify wild plants, trees and shrubs in Britain and Ireland does not. It also includes a variety of naturalised plants that might otherwise throw you on a field trip.

But the main problem...
Published on 16 Aug. 2010 by Bristly Badger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Britain and Ireland) (Paperback)
This is the only book I have found with both wild flowers and grasses with keys it's not best book but the has I said the oonly book with both wild flowers and grasses so only need to carry one book out with you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Botanists Bible, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. Colin A. Jacobs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Hardcover)
I received this book last week and have tried it out in the field, mainly on ferns and trees and some difficult genera. The book has mostly common plants but the serious plant hunter will need companion floras like Stace 3. and or Poland and Clement and Rose for the alien Verbascum's for example. The keys are excellent and user friendly.
The illustrations are very detailed highlighting the salient points as are the grasses, sedges and rushes.

A great book as are all Collin's guides and very, very reccommended for all botanists beginner or expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Field guide, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Hardcover)
Another excellent book from the Collins' range of field guides. The only slight fault, that may cause some readers a little consternation, is that the identification key is divided up by genus and spread throughout the book. There is no main key to these other keys. This means, that you will have to thumb through the book if you do not know the genus that the plant you are trying to identify belongs to. If however you do, you will still have to thumb or refer to the index as the genus keyes are not in alphabetical order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comprehensive book for reference use, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Britain and Ireland) (Paperback)
Excellent comprehensive book for reference use.
This is quite a thick heavy book so we usually leave this one at home for reference use rather than for field use.
Does not have a particularly user friendly key so not the best book for quickly finding the identify of a flower unless you have rough idea to start with. (We have a much older but now well worn version of the Collins guide that had an excellent key).
We now take smaller, lighter (but less comprehensive) guides out with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wow, 6 July 2013
By 
J. Tang (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Hardcover)
An impressive looking book in that its quite big and bulky and probably not the best book for field surveying but perfect for lab identification as it was a identification key for pinpointing the right species of some genuses (such as heathers or grasses) if they're looking a bit too similar. Ideal for a student, working to improve identification skills that already has a good knowledge of British wild flowers, it might be a bit too daunting for total beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Flower Guide ( Britain and Ireland ) - David Streeter, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Britain and Ireland) (Paperback)
Well , Collins have done it again . A truly excellent book on the subject . I have never seen such a comprehensive coverage of the natural fauna , to be found around the British Isles . The artwork is excellent . The text is concise and the more important information can be quickly gleaned therefrom .
I strongly recommend this book to any student studying botany and the like , and to anyone interested in wild flowers , grasses , ferns and so on .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide but not exactly a pocket guide, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Britain and Ireland) (Paperback)
The Collins Flower Gui has so far proved to be a very extensive, useful and accurate reference guide. It's not what I would call a field pocket guide, then again I assume it was never meant to be. The "wizards" that help to identify the various species and sub-species are very useful in making identity of species quick and accurate.

It would be good if additional information on edibility/usages/toxicity could be added for relevent plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars limited range, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Hardcover)
The book is extremely detailed on British plants, giving details of half a dozen minutely differing variations of many plants, but the claim in the title to represent European flora is not substantiated. If you want to know about the flora of any other part of Europe, go for a specialist book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up to date classification information and good identification keys. Illustrations good but lack the sparkle of Margery Blamey., 12 Jan. 2013
By 
A. Redgers (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Hardcover)
If you want an up to date clear identification guide with accurate keys this is very good the inclusion of grasses etc is a great addition. Illustrations are accurate but they are not joyful and vibrant like Margery Blamey's in the old edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Flower Guide (Britain and Ireland) (Paperback)
I use this every day as one of the best books for identification of plants. The keys are excellent. Probably worst feature is some of the colours in the illustrations are not of best quality but this is true of most other identification books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Flower Guide (Britain and Ireland)
Collins Flower Guide (Britain and Ireland) by David Streeter (Paperback - 29 April 2010)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews